Customer Reviews for

Take a Chance on Me

Average Rating 4
( 218 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(104)

4 Star

(75)

3 Star

(29)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

cute

Enjoyed it- a lot and will read more from this talented writer.

posted by laura24 on January 5, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Very cute, will read more by this author.

3 1/2 stars.

This was my first book by Jill Mansell and I must say I enjoyed it. It's not what I would call a "Romance Novel", it's more Chick Lit but it's British. Would that be Brit Lit? Is that a term?

Moving on.... This book was cute. Cleo is a young single wo...
3 1/2 stars.

This was my first book by Jill Mansell and I must say I enjoyed it. It's not what I would call a "Romance Novel", it's more Chick Lit but it's British. Would that be Brit Lit? Is that a term?

Moving on.... This book was cute. Cleo is a young single woman who thinks she's found the perfect man, until she finds out he's not. That's okay, right? She's got a fun job, a wonderful best friend and a place of her own. Then HE comes back into town - Johnny LaVenure, her childhood nemesis. He's rich and famous and makes her feel like she's back in school again. But he's here to stay, and she keeps running into him...and really, he's so nice now....

I really enjoyed Cleo and Johnny's story. I rooted for them throughout the book. Not from the beginning of course, I thought he was such a smarmy guy, but, just like he did with Cleo, he won me over :)

Meanwhile, Cleo's sister Abbie is having her own crisis, and her best friend Ash is trying to sort out his love life, with the ex-wife of Cleo's ex-boyfriend! Tie that in with Abbie's husband's secret (it's not what you think!) and there's a whole lot going on... There were a lot of POVs in this book, which threw me a bit .

I haven't read many books by British authors, this was a bit different for me and I liked the bits of British slang and overall "feel" of the writing. I laughed a lot, Cleo is a spunky leading lady, sometimes even if she doesn't want to be. The tension between Cleo and Johnny was good. I didn't like the storyline about her sister so much, but it did tie in nicely with Cleo's story. Now I want to go visit the UK. In lieu of that, I will definitely be checking out Ms. Mansell's backlist.

posted by BookAddictPatti on March 20, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 75 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted January 25, 2012

    Highly recommended

    I would recommend this book to anyone wanting to "get away from it all" for a bit. Mansell's writing causes you to feel like you are a part of it all and like you really know the characters. The book includes humor and a very good story. I couldn't put it down! I will be reading all of Jill Mansell's books!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2012

    Great read!

    This was the first book by Jill Mansell, I had the pleasure of reading. It was a funny, romantic, and bittersweet read. Jill Mansell has a wimsical way of making her characters come to life. I highly recommend this book and am looking forward to reading her other books.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2012

    Kept me on my Toes

    I liked this book because when you least expect it the story line changes. I tried to guess what would happen, boy was I wrong, a few times.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2012

    cute read

    this book was a cute read, would recommend for a snowy day. liked the characters and the story line. will probably check out more books by jill mansell.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2012

    Highly Recommend

    I enjoyed this lighthearted novel.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2012

    Cute!

    Such a cute read! I loved it and it made me read more by the author!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2014

    Fun read

    Just a relaxing couple of days read! Will not disappoint!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 1, 2013

    Light, easy read!

    This was my first Jill Mansell book. I found it light, enjoyable, and an easy read. Characters were developed enough to be interesting without heavy drama, and there were enough different characters and situations to keep things moving. This is not what I would call a deep romantic piece, but if you are in the mood for some light reading, that is upbeat, then you will enjoy. I "took a chance" with this book / author, and was pleased with what I read! I would probably order one of her other books, when I'm in a mood for the same.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2013

    Fun read

    I really enjoyed this book. It was fast, fun,with characters you like.Intelligent writing and a quick wit make Jill Mansell a must read for fans of chicklit.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2013

    Cute read

    Love the author!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2012

    Cute story

    She's no Jane Austen, but it's an easy and delightful read. The charactersvall come together very well and its easy to feel what they feel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    Sweet, funny, and predictable

    Great Brit chick lit!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    You kinda know who ends up with who

    I love Jill Mansell books, one thing i cant stand is how each character just ends up falling in love out of the blue. This story is a hate love relationship with the characters. You wouldnt think they had feelings for on another because how they treat eachother but in the end all that hate and distrust ends up with them actually loving eachother...if you like this type of book, you will really like this one

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Another fun escape!

    In Take a Chance on Me, Jill Mansell delivers another fun chicklit escape. She gives us heroines that we can't help but like - they're funny, a bit lost, kind - and secondary characters that make us laugh. Cleo, the romantic lead, her married sister Abbie and even Cleo's rival Fia are so likable that you wish you knew them in real life. Then there's Ash, the hilarious and witty DJ who is actually quite shy around women that he fancies.

    Mansell combines complex and interesting characters with all sorts of funny situations and coincidences to give us a treat of a novel in Take a Chance on Me.

    ISBN-10: 1402237510 - Paperback
    Publisher: Sourcebooks Landmark (October 1, 2010), 432 pages.
    Review copy provided by the publisher.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Another wonderful read from this Brit chick lit queen

    The problem - a cold wet rainy day and no urge to do chores...

    The solution - a pot of tea, a warm quilt, a comfy couch and....the latest North American release by Jill Mansell - Take a Chance on Me!

    Cleo has lived in the small town of Channings Hill her entire life. She works as a chauffeur for a local limo company, spends her spare time with her friends and family and hangs out in her local - The Hollybush Inn. She hopes she's found the love of her life in Will - he just seems to be everything she has ever wished for.

    Or is he? And what about Johnny - a now well known sculptor who teased Cleo mercilessly when they were youngsters in school. He's back in town and has charm galore and every woman in town seems to be drawn towards it, except Cleo - or is she?

    Yet again, Jill Mansell has created a fantastic fictional world populated with lovable, quirky characters. Cleo is incredibly good hearted and fun, but has no confidence that true love will come her way. The supporting cast is just as fun - her neighbour Ash is incredibly suave when he's doing his radio programme, but tongue tied when in the same room with Fia - the woman of his dreams, but Cleo's nightmare. The subplot involving Cleo's sister Abbie, her husband Tom and their past intruding on their present goes a little deeper. I'm sure it's a situation that has played out in many marriages and Mansell handles it with both pathos and humour.

    Why do I enjoy Mansell's books so much? Well, I love chick lit - especially Brit chick lit and Jill is one of the best! I always feel like I come to know her characters so well. They're people you'd like to have in your circle (okay - except for Will) and I could see myself happily sitting in the pub on karaoke night eating a hot pot. The plots are fun, lots of wrong turns and miscommunications. Her writing style is clever, humourous, breezy and addictive.

    You're not taking a chance if you pick up Jill Mansell's latest. You're guaranteed a warm, witty good time read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 75 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4