Customer Reviews for

Take a Chance on Me

Average Rating 4
( 217 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(104)

4 Star

(74)

3 Star

(29)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

cute

Enjoyed it- a lot and will read more from this talented writer.

posted by laura24 on January 5, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Very cute, will read more by this author.

3 1/2 stars.

This was my first book by Jill Mansell and I must say I enjoyed it. It's not what I would call a "Romance Novel", it's more Chick Lit but it's British. Would that be Brit Lit? Is that a term?

Moving on.... This book was cute. Cleo is a young single wo...
3 1/2 stars.

This was my first book by Jill Mansell and I must say I enjoyed it. It's not what I would call a "Romance Novel", it's more Chick Lit but it's British. Would that be Brit Lit? Is that a term?

Moving on.... This book was cute. Cleo is a young single woman who thinks she's found the perfect man, until she finds out he's not. That's okay, right? She's got a fun job, a wonderful best friend and a place of her own. Then HE comes back into town - Johnny LaVenure, her childhood nemesis. He's rich and famous and makes her feel like she's back in school again. But he's here to stay, and she keeps running into him...and really, he's so nice now....

I really enjoyed Cleo and Johnny's story. I rooted for them throughout the book. Not from the beginning of course, I thought he was such a smarmy guy, but, just like he did with Cleo, he won me over :)

Meanwhile, Cleo's sister Abbie is having her own crisis, and her best friend Ash is trying to sort out his love life, with the ex-wife of Cleo's ex-boyfriend! Tie that in with Abbie's husband's secret (it's not what you think!) and there's a whole lot going on... There were a lot of POVs in this book, which threw me a bit .

I haven't read many books by British authors, this was a bit different for me and I liked the bits of British slang and overall "feel" of the writing. I laughed a lot, Cleo is a spunky leading lady, sometimes even if she doesn't want to be. The tension between Cleo and Johnny was good. I didn't like the storyline about her sister so much, but it did tie in nicely with Cleo's story. Now I want to go visit the UK. In lieu of that, I will definitely be checking out Ms. Mansell's backlist.

posted by BookAddictPatti on March 20, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 104 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted January 5, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    cute

    Enjoyed it- a lot and will read more from this talented writer.

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 28, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A Light-Hearted Love At Romance

    Love doesn't run smoothly in Channing Hill, and there's no more entertaining narrator than Jill Mansell to document it's rocky course. There is Cleo, local limo driver, who has finally settled down into a job she likes and a man she adores, Will. Unfortunately, she runs into Will and his wife, Fia one day while out on a trip and realises that once again she has fallen for someone totally unsuitable.

    Fia, who didn't know about Cleo but did know about Will's propensity to lie and cheat, ends their marriage and ends up as the new chef at the pub in Channing Hill. Cleo's neighbor and best friend, Ash, falls in love with Fia the moment he sees her, but doesn't stand a chance. Fia has fallen in love with the local gentry, Johnny LaVenture, a world-class sculptor. Cleo who grew up with Johnny isn't thrilled to have him back in town as he made her adolescent days a nightmare with his constant teasing.

    Does no one have it right when it comes to love? Cleo's sister Abbie and her husband Tom, seem to have the right recipe. But their world comes tumbling down when two things occur. Abbie's boss falls in love with her and Tom discovers he has a teenage daughter he knew nothing about. She turns up on their doorstep and has soon moved in, while Abbie has moved out and in with Cleo.

    Mansell has written another hilarious, engaging romance with characters the reader would love to meet and a plot that twists and turns and somehow manages to resolve all these romantic entanglements neatly and successfully by the end of the book. The reader is treated to a cozy yarn that never fails to entertain. This book is recommended for readers looking for a lighter book that will make them realise that love exists for us all, no matter how long and difficult the journey.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2012

    The cute whimsical covers are what caught my eye on this authors

    The cute whimsical covers are what caught my eye on this authors books and I'm glad I decided to read. Think "Love actually"or "Holiday". It also reminded me if a Maeve Binchy novel with all the great characters except in a British story. Will be reading more by Jill Mansell.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    Love this author

    I just love these reads! Jill Mansell takes you into the lives of her characters, makes you feel like you are right there in England watching the dramas unfold:)

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2012

    Amazing!!! Definately read it!!

    An amazing book!! One of my favorites by this author. It really gets you going till the last pages, then your like wow this author is amazing with literature!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2012

    love this author

    I've now read 2 of her books and am ready for more! Characters come to life, even those with smaller roles. Types of people you'd love to have in your world. Stories are light overall, but characters face some difficult challenges, with interesting twists and turns. Wasn't ready for the book to end. Time to get another of jill's books!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2012

    Loved it

    I love escaping real life by reading Jill Mansell stories!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2012

    Loved It!!!

    Loved this book from beginning to end...wonderful read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2012

    Taking Chances

    Wow, this was my second Jill Mansell book I read and it was just as good as the first one! Take a chance on me was one of those books that I was screaming please let it turn out the way I want in the end! I'd love to read a sequal to this one, and if there is one out there LET ME KNOW!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2012

    Thoroughly entertaining

    Sorry for the book to end, an interesting cast of characters with never a dull moment.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2012

    Love Jill Mansell!

    Great characters! Quirky & fun.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2012

    Great chick book

    Mansell has once agin written another great chick book. If you want a change from formulaic romance novels then this is the book for you. The leading lady is very realistic and has a life in this book that is as complicated as real life is. You won't be able to put this book down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2014

    J iuu nmiu

    Ujnj hh.j. jhmn ujn nunm njm h.n mh.u niuju. Jnunj ujhumuu

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2013

    LOVE LOVE LOVE HER BOOKS!

    I can be a hard to please reader but her books are so good and so cute! You will fall in love with the characters and be sad when it is over. The plot twists will also keep you interested. One of the best authors out there!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 1, 2013

    oh i liked this one!!!...the main character was believable...i c

    oh i liked this one!!!...the main character was believable...i could easily visualize the storyline...this would make a great movie....really well done..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2012

    Great book

    Loved the drama and story!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2012

    Fun and Easy Read!

    Very cute book. This is an easy read. My first Jill Mansell book and I just bought more!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    Another great one!

    I love all her books and this was another great one! Each book I've read has amazing characters and their stories are so interestingly intertwined.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    Wonderful

    I cried & laughed.Amazing story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2011

    Another great one by Mansell!!

    Jill Mansell has the gift of being able to treat serious topics with poignancy and humor. This one had a couple different story lines, one more serious than the other, but very balanced overall. As a reader you laugh, cry, get angry and laugh again. It's got it all.

    I think this might be the fifth or sixth book of hers I've read and I've loved them all. And I always have a hard time putting her books down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 104 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6