Customer Reviews for

Take a Thief (Heralds of Valdemar Series #5)

Average Rating 4.5
( 87 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(57)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

A Welcome Addition to the Valdemar series

This is a replacement for the hardback I lost when I moved. I now have every book in Lackey's Valdemar series, and I re-read the books often - a great escape from the real world.

posted by moonsib on February 26, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

An Entertaining Read

Although I do love Lackey's Valdemar, I don't think this is among the strongest books in that series, and if you're new to it I'd recommend starting instead with Arrows of the Queen, the first published book within the series, even if chronologically later. Skif is a ch...
Although I do love Lackey's Valdemar, I don't think this is among the strongest books in that series, and if you're new to it I'd recommend starting instead with Arrows of the Queen, the first published book within the series, even if chronologically later. Skif is a character in that book and it was interesting reading a book centered on him that gives his backstory. In that regard it's a very often seen plot in Lackey and elsewhere: impoverish, abused boy comes into his own and finds his destiny. I will say though that Lackey is very good in this novel at creating a plausible picture of what it would be like for the poorest of the poor in a medieval setting, and you pull for Skif.

posted by Lisa_RR_H on April 24, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 57 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2009

    A Welcome Addition to the Valdemar series

    This is a replacement for the hardback I lost when I moved. I now have every book in Lackey's Valdemar series, and I re-read the books often - a great escape from the real world.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2012

    Another Winner by Mercedes Lackey

    This tells the story of Skif. He grows up a thief, but just to survive and help those who took him in. When he is chosen he thinks the companion made a mistake, and insists that heralds are all good and why would they want a thief. His companion sees the good in him, and says who can say that the queen might not need his special talents at some point. Skif shows up in several of the Heralds of Valdemar books, so it was nice to finally be able to read his back story. How his companion chooses him was so funny I couldn't stop laughing. This is a stand-alone book, even though a lot of her Valdemar books are trilogies. Enjoy!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2013

    Great!

    Sad but amazing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2012

    Havent read yet

    Im looking for book 4 in her valemer series. Im a huge fan of hers and i plan on owning and enjoying all her books. Especiallyvthe valedmer series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2007

    Love it

    This was the first Mercedes Lackey book I ever read, and it's still one of my favorites. I also recently saw a production of Oliver!, and I just realized how much of a resemblance this tale bears to the one of Oliver Twist. Anyway, this is a great read for any fantasy buffs out there. Even my fantasy hating friend, who only likes Harry Potter, said this was an interesting read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2007

    Phenomenal

    This is one of my favorite books of all time!!! Even though it is about my 5th time reading it, this book gets better and better. This book combines daring Skif to many other characters you will later meet in Arrow¡¦s of the queen. My only regret are that there are no more books about him. This book combines Skif¡¦s earlier life before arriving at the Collegium. He has to use all his wits to survive his wicked uncle Londer, escaping form being caught as a thief, and more. After his cousin is accused of raping a girl younger than 16, Skif makes a break for it and joins a gang of thieves. Bazie, who is an old man who lost both his legs in a war, directs them. Due to Bazie¡¦s understanding and patience, Skif learns to be a successful thief. But when the building they live in is burned as a cover up, and Skif is the only survivor, he only thinks of revenge against the one who burned his loved ones. But his plans are foiled when he is kidnapped by a Companion. There, he arrives at the Collegium and finds a life he truly loves, and exposes the evil man who caused him so much pain.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2006

    I love Skif!

    He is my all time favorite character! He's the perfect guy! Wish there was a sequel or at least something that says what happened to him. I LOVE THIS BOOK!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2005

    excellent!!

    This is a great book. It tells the story of the early life of Skif (from the arrows of the queen trilogy) and how he becomes a herald.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2004

    MORE MORE MORE!!!

    A great book. I really do love Skif. He has a lot of character. I only wish that there was more of him.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2004

    Take a Thief

    Well, I usually don't read Mercedes Lackey's books because I thought them a little too adult for me, but this book was perfect! A orphan child cleaving a path for himself in a city that refuses to accept 'his kind'. It's a really good book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2003

    Excellent

    I really enjoyed this book and am glad I picked it up. The story line flows well and I can't think of a single place that it dragged or got boring. It was the first Mercedes Lackey book I've read but basing her work on this book I'll definitely go back for more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2003

    First Misty Lackey book

    This was the first Lackey book I ever read, and I fell in love with her work! This is an amazing book, as all her books are. My collection of books has grown to include the Heralds of Valdemar series since this book, and all are amazing! This is a great book, but I speak from experience start with The Black Gryphon-the beginning of the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2003

    Wow!

    Mercedes Lackey did it again! I accidentally read the Mage Winds before The Heralds of Valdemar; I was extremely pleased with the book, and I extremely enjoyed learning about Skif's early childhood. It was a wonderful book, and I would not hesitate to recomend it to my friends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2002

    Another brilliant adventure in Beloved Valdemar

    I believe that yet again M. Lackey has conjured a magical life into being. Her tale of the outrageous Skif is filled with intrigue and adventure, but shows not only the flair of the dangerous but the rank emotion of the orphan. Her wording is heart felt and riviting. Her byplay and description are touching. I have to say that Skif has come to life for me. Well done Mercedes Lackey. I look forward to your next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2002

    THE BEST BOOK

    This was the first book by Mercedes Lackey,that I read..... It was the best book that I have read in years

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2002

    Heraldic Thief Delivers

    Take a Thief focuses on the early life of Herald Skif, the only thief to be chosen by a companion. Orphaned at an early age, forced to work for an abusive uncle and cousin in a disreputable tavern, Skif was forced to steal just to feed himself. While hiding out in the attic of a highborn¿s mansion, another thief stumbles upon Skif. Deek takes the boy to his manager Bazie and Skif becomes a part of an adopted family of thieves the only family he¿s ever known. While Skif¿s out on a job, the owner of their building has the place torched and his family perishes. Skif vows vengeance and locates the arsonist but before he can discover who hired him, the man is murdered and Skif is whisked off to the Collegium. <P> Lackey is an adept-class storyteller. Take a Thief examines the brutal reality of the stark separation between the poor and the highborn. Skif is a wonderful character and exploring his life is well worth the time. My advice is to invest it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2002

    Not up to her Usual standards?

    This was the first Valdemar book I read... and wow! If this isn't up to her usual standards, I think I'd better read the rest. If what they say is true, I'm in for a real treat! I love the characters and I especially like that there are many more of these stories.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2001

    Take a Theif - Skif's Tale

    This is another magnificent book by Misty. It takes you through Skif's childhood, and shows you just how he was raised. The writing is amazing, you feel like you're really there.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent Valdemar tale

    On Valdemar during the reign of Queen Selenay, his cold Uncle Londer Galko raises orphaned Skif as if the lad is a criminal. Though Skif laboriously works long hours at his uncle¿s Hollybush Tavern, his guardian sees the lad as a grudge earning his supper or dying. <P> Required to attend school due to the royal edict, Skif eats breakfast there and becomes efficient at hiding food to dine on later. His ability leads him to meet Deek, a pickpocket, and from that encounter, Bazie, an adult who cares what happens to his charges. Skif joins Bazie¿s family of young thieves and becomes one of the best at robbing from the wealthy as he could sneak in and out of a home like a ghost can walk through a wall. When Skif steals a horse left unattended, the ¿magical¿ steed abducts him instead. Now his adventures take a new spin especially when someone murders his beloved mentor and Skif must work with the Heralds and Alberich if he is to see justice is served. <P> For long time fans of Mercedes Lackey¿s Valdemar series, TAKE A THIEF is quite a treat as Skif first appears in the mid 1980s Heralds of Valdemar trilogy. The story line is well written and fits quite nicely in the Valdemar Universe circa 1376 AF. Skif may be young, but is a survivor who given the opportunity heroically thrives. The support cast provides depth to the plot while insuring continuity to the main tales. Ms. Lackey¿s latest fantasy epic lacks nothing except many sub-genre fans will scramble for other books describing life during the reign of Queen Selenay. <P>Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 57 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3