Customer Reviews for

Take the Monkeys and Run: A Barbara Marr Murder Mystery

Average Rating 4
( 94 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(38)

4 Star

(30)

3 Star

(17)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

A great, zany ride

I read this book a few months ago and liked it so well I immediately sent fan mail. :>)

It's a fun, fast-paced cozy mystery with a little side of romance--the old-fashioned kind. Okay, so not *every* one of the wild action scenes was...entirely plausible, but who...
I read this book a few months ago and liked it so well I immediately sent fan mail. :>)

It's a fun, fast-paced cozy mystery with a little side of romance--the old-fashioned kind. Okay, so not *every* one of the wild action scenes was...entirely plausible, but who cares? It's zany, funny and well-written. The characters jump off the page; they are lovable, a little crazy and a lot of fun.

posted by BearMountainBooks-Maria on October 25, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

I do not recommend this book.

This book was poorly written and just plain silly.

posted by 5435142 on January 5, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 25, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A great, zany ride

    I read this book a few months ago and liked it so well I immediately sent fan mail. :>)

    It's a fun, fast-paced cozy mystery with a little side of romance--the old-fashioned kind. Okay, so not *every* one of the wild action scenes was...entirely plausible, but who cares? It's zany, funny and well-written. The characters jump off the page; they are lovable, a little crazy and a lot of fun.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2012

    Hilarious romp in the burbs

    Karen Cantwell's "Take the Monkeys and Run" is a fast paced mystery with trigger happy dialogue that has a little to do with monkeys and a lot to do with the laugh-out-loud antics of one suburbanite soccer mom/obsessed movie buff, who finds her imagination running wild when monkeys and a human head are discovered at the house next door. With the help of some neighborhood friends and an old flame from college, she unravels layers of hilarity and insanity, as well as secrets her husband has been keeping for their entire marriage. If you're in the dumps, this book will certainly brighten your day!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2010

    Fun Book!

    Suburban housewife Barbara Marr is not having a good day. In fact, it's something straight out of the movies she so loves to watch. Her husband suddenly walks out on her and their three daughters, she's turning 45 and now there are monkeys running wild around her backyard.

    After hearing strange noises coming from the vacant house next to hers, Barbara does some snooping and finds a rotting dead head. She wonders just what is going on in the small town of Rustic Woods, Virginia. With the help of her friends, Barbara starts to do some investigating. She's determined to get an explanation for the monkeys and the dead head, but when her neighbors decide not to talk, she knows something very big and very bad is going on in Rustic Woods. When she starts to receive death threats, Barbara fights back and refuses to back down until she gets some answers.

    This is a rip-roaring, laugh out loud, cozy mystery. I couldn't put my ereader down. The characters are off beat with a wide range of different personalities - loveable ones to not quite so loveable. From bumbling mobsters to a cop who bares a striking resemblance to Brad Pitt.

    The story is fast-paced, fun and with quite a few twists all rolled into one cute adventure. There was one scene in the book that scared this animal lover, but I kept reading and I'm glad I did. I do hope there will be more Barbara Marr stories in the future. I already miss Barbara and her wacky friends and family.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2012

    Loved it!

    Loved the book. I find Karen Cantwell's sense of humor tickles my funny bone.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2011

    HOW FUN WAS THAT ? AUG 1 2011 WOW THAT WAS A FUN READ

    T. J. IN KY MY LIFE IN THE BURBS SHOULD BE SO FULL OF CRAZY EXCITEMENT. IT REMINDS ME OF SOMETHING LIKE LUCY AND ETHEL GONE WILD. REALLY WAS ALOT OF FUN!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2011

    Goddess of the Absurd

    This review is from: Take the Monkeys and Run
    (A Barbara Marr Murder Mystery)

    Who hasn't had monkeys in their backyard? Or FBI agents under foot? But it's the way Barbara Marr takes it all in stride, slinging side splitting one-liners that makes me proud to be a "Barbara." It's easy to see why this novel was a semi-finalist in the 2009 Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award Contest. Karen Cantwell's writing is an acquired taste... as soon as you acquire one Barbara Marr mystery, you'll want them all. I can't wait for Citizen Insane.

    I read for pleasure - Take the Monkeys and Run is pure pleasure.
    Barbara Silkstone
    The Secret Diary of Alice in Wonderland, Age 42 and Three-Quarters

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 8, 2010

    Madcap Marr Meets Monkeys

    Heroine Barbara Marr is an amateur sleuth with a family, a bossy mother, and an ex boyfriend who would like to get back into her life now that Barbara's husband is suddenly sending mixed signals. It isn't as if Barbara deliberately sets out to delve into her neighborhood's mysterious past, but who can blame her for getting a little involved--okay, a lot involved--when the trees near her house are suddenly filled with monkeys.

    Funny situations, quirky characters, and a lot of twists and turns make for a very amusing story. Take the Monkeys and Run is an over-the-top suburban adventure that made me laugh out loud in places. My favorite scene was the one where Barbara was driving her daughters and her mom home from a trip to Washington, D.C. and she was stopped for speeding. To say more, would be a spoiler. Let me just say, as a mom, I can certainly relate and it was pretty funny

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2014

    Fallenangel and co.

    Fallenangel and Prismshield step up. (Both were temporarily in AshClan then I quit rping them like the next day.) Fallenangel, one of Myntlight's sons, spoke first. "With this life I give you faith to lead the Clan through hard times and to make the right decisions, even if it's hard." He stepped back as Prismshield stepped to him next. She smiled faintly, her memory fuzzy, though she does remember Dragon a little. "With this last life I grant you patience. Don't make a hasty decision, think it through and lead well." (Amazing how many rps I actually have and just hate ro rp...-_-)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2014

    Silverstripe

    (Lol, you obviously know me)smiled happily. "With this life i give you courage;led your clan well through the good and bad times."he touched his nose to dragonspikes head and stepped back

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2014

    Dragonstar

    Ok)) he bowed his head as the last three lives rippled through him. He watched, amazed, as starclan cheered. He then woke up with a jolt, finding himself outside of the moonpool. He got up slowly, and started his jorney home

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2014

    Icynight and Skypelt

    Icynight steps forward. "With this life, i give you loyalty. Never forget the warrior code, and always stay loyal to your clan." As she says this, her eyes fill with greif. Skypelt steps up next. "With this life, i give you caution. Never jump into things without first thinking."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2014

    Lilywolf

    Testing...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2014

    Steelkit and Emeraldkit

    They watch Dragon recieve his last lives. "Dragonstar! Dragonstar!" They cheer. (Dragon, I need to speak with you. Asher result 3?)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2014

    Flightpaw

    He awoke with a start. He got up and thanked StarClan. He slowly padded out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2014

    The Moonpool
    ┬┐On the edge of the clan territories is a c

    The Moonpool <br />

    ¿On the edge of the clan territories is a cave whose entrance gapes open impressively. A winding tunnel leads cats down to a spacious chamber lit by a crevasse high above from which moonlight pours through. At the chambers center is a calm pool alight with the glimmer of stars. Here, Starclan has a strong connection and medicine cats, leaders, or other clan cats may come to seek their wisdom. However, they may not always receive the answers to their questions. But this sacred cave holds many secrets and Starclan may reveal some of the path among these stone walls. ~ The Moonpool, Lilywolf ♥ <br />

    ¿<br />

    ¿And now I will list the reminders for The Moonpool. <br />

    ¿1. The next medicine cat meeting will be on July 6th.  Make sure to rp your Starclan cats as well and preferably have them speak with their own clan's medicine cat! It's an all day event! Have fun! <br />

    ¿2. Only pact clan cats are allowed to use this place. Please be respectful and do not ruin it for others. We will ignore anyone outside the pact clans or those who are unrealistic. <br />

    ¿3. No kits at The Moonpool please. <br />

    ¿4. Remember at a max a clan could have three medicine cats. Feel free to have interesting a mysterious dreams, visions, or visits. But we do not need a ton of prophecies made by cats who simply want attention. If you want to make prophecies for others than I encourage that. But remember prophecies are very rare and special. Don't just hand them out like free candy. <br />

    ¿Thanks for reading!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2013

    This series is so much fun waiting for the next one! Hurry Pleas

    This series is so much fun waiting for the next one! Hurry Please :D

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2013

    Enjoyable read

    Couldn't put it down, I really liked main character Barb, very humorous reading

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2013

    Amazing read

    This book definately kept me on my toes and I couldnt put it down. Took me two days to read. Loved it. I will def be reading more from this author!!!! The outcome was not what I expected

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2012

    R

    A very fun and entertaining read. My new favorite author. If you like Carl Hiaaen you will enjoy the books from Karen Cantwell.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A Lilac Wolf and Stuff Review

    I loved this book...the cover is colorful and quirky, the title definitely catches your attention. It really sets you up for a silly mystery.

    It starts out with Barb, the main character bemoaning her lack of talents. She thinks she's a good mom and thought she was a good wife, but her husband just left. She is miserable, she really thought her marriage was fine and then he up and walked out on her and the girls. She also loves watching movies and does comparisons throughout the story. The first one is that she is determined to be more like Sigourney Weaver in Aliens. She wants to be tough and not weepy.

    Late one night she hears a truck pull up to the House of Bones, the house next door that has been abandoned for nearly 30 years. She is curious...the next morning her yard is overrun with monkeys...yes monkeys...she is beyond curious. She pulls her friends in and finds a head in the house next door. It's officially a murder mystery.

    To top it off her husband keeps showing up. This is frustrating to say the least and I think in part is drives her detective work because it is the only thing she can control.

    That is all I can say now. There are LOTS of surprises and the characters are all colorful and enjoyable. I especially love Barbs mother, a bigger than life woman who owns every room she is in. There are also a few guys vying for Barb's attention, but is her marriage really over? Pick up a copy and read for yourself! Barb Marr is my new favorite heroine.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2