Customer Reviews for

Takedown (Scot Harvath Series #5)

Average Rating 4
( 172 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(75)

4 Star

(58)

3 Star

(29)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

One of My Favorite Brad Thor Books

This was one fun read! A great way to spend a rainy day, and you'll probably be able to finish this in one weekend. In fact, that's my only complaint. It's a bit short. The story is engrossing, and I didn't mind the cliffhanger ending, because I couldn't wait to start t...
This was one fun read! A great way to spend a rainy day, and you'll probably be able to finish this in one weekend. In fact, that's my only complaint. It's a bit short. The story is engrossing, and I didn't mind the cliffhanger ending, because I couldn't wait to start the next book in the series, "The FIrst Commandment".

While it isn't necessary to read this series in chronological order, I recommend that you do, simply because if you enjoy this one you'll probably enjoy the other books.

posted by ravelg on August 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Highly Recommend - Depending on you rtaste

I recently became a fan of Brad Thor and have read several of his books. Overall, his work is very similar to that of Vince Flynn but with perhaps a bit more humor. He's also a little less apologetic for his main character being an patriotic ass kicker! Obviously his wo...
I recently became a fan of Brad Thor and have read several of his books. Overall, his work is very similar to that of Vince Flynn but with perhaps a bit more humor. He's also a little less apologetic for his main character being an patriotic ass kicker! Obviously his work might not be like that of Hemingway but it makes for very entertaining reading in between more heavy duty books. "Takedown" itself is among better ones I've read so far. I like that his plots, while always fairly complex, always get resolved in a believable manner. If you like the hard boiled, ass kicking, counter intelligence operative type book then you will like this and Thor's other books.

posted by Footwedge on September 5, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 173 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9
  • Posted August 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    One of My Favorite Brad Thor Books

    This was one fun read! A great way to spend a rainy day, and you'll probably be able to finish this in one weekend. In fact, that's my only complaint. It's a bit short. The story is engrossing, and I didn't mind the cliffhanger ending, because I couldn't wait to start the next book in the series, "The FIrst Commandment".

    While it isn't necessary to read this series in chronological order, I recommend that you do, simply because if you enjoy this one you'll probably enjoy the other books.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    Highly recommended if you want a fast moving book

    Love Thor's style. Gets you hook early and then it is hard to stop reading. I like reading book in a series in order. Only problem is that he as well as may authors waste my reading time rehashing the past books so those that haven't read the earlier ones can catch up

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2012

    Highly Recommend - Depending on you rtaste

    I recently became a fan of Brad Thor and have read several of his books. Overall, his work is very similar to that of Vince Flynn but with perhaps a bit more humor. He's also a little less apologetic for his main character being an patriotic ass kicker! Obviously his work might not be like that of Hemingway but it makes for very entertaining reading in between more heavy duty books. "Takedown" itself is among better ones I've read so far. I like that his plots, while always fairly complex, always get resolved in a believable manner. If you like the hard boiled, ass kicking, counter intelligence operative type book then you will like this and Thor's other books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2012

    it was ok

    i probably won't read it again.

    wish i would of bought it used in paperback.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2008

    Vince Flynn's 'brother'

    I love this style of book. Other than Ms. JK Rowling, I've read only Daniel Silva, Steve Berry, Vince Flynn, and Brad Thor this year. A friend gave me Brad's latest, The First Commandment, to read, but as I read a few chapters, I knew I was missing the 'backstory'. So I came to B&N and bought every book Brad had written. I've hardly spent my money more wisely. Every book is exceptional. Takedown, in all it did, took ME down as well, right at the very last paragraph of the book. I had tears of a profound sadness in my heart. What a heart wrenching moment. The next book is going to be a heck of a ride. It'll have to top this one, because this is my favorite Brad Thor novel to date. He gets better and better. I was happy to see in his list of acknowledgements that he had Vince Flynn among them. Excellent!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2014

    Very good, all his books are

    Very good, thrilling to the very end. Surprises along the way. All his books are good. I discovered Brad Thor recently and have been enjoying reading his books in order.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2013

    Good book

    Fast moving.. I enjoyed the read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Interesting

    This is the 5th in the Scot Harvath Series by Brad Thor and not as well done as some of the others I have read previously. Manhattan, NY is under siege by a terrorists group that has destroyed all bridge and waterway entries or exits from the rest of New York. Harvath and a loose band of physically handicapped x-military soldiers, along with Harvath’s close friend, attempt to find and shut down the primary threatening operation. This operation, designed by the terrorist, has the ultimate purpose to free a high value prisoner being interrogated in Manhattan, NY. Harvath and his band of misfits scour Manhattan looking for the captive prisoner and the men who are trying to free this hostage. In Washington the heads of the intelligence agencies are reluctant to share any information, making life miserable for those people responsible to accomplish their mission. I believe the hesitation to share intelligence between government departments rang true for me; personal egos, position, power and lack of trust all played a realistic part in this novel. In summary I would say it is a fair read, but not much more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2012

    Great Mystery Suspense!

    This is an excellent book. Brad Thor is an excellent writer, and the suspense keeps drawing you to complete the book and order more. Great Series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 29, 2012

    Action packed

    Awesome as ever.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2011

    Fast reading

    Couldn't put it down

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2011

    A Book Worth Reading

    Terrorists have made 9/11 look like choir practice after destroying every bridge and tunnel in and out of Manhattan. This time, it's July 4th weekend when thousands of tourists come to the New York area to celebrate America's freedom. Then, there are more attacks, unnoticed by many, on secret places where the U.S. stores intelligence information around New York and Manhattan. In Takedown, the fifth novel of Brad Thor's series about the infamous Scot Harvath, he and the rest of his team must track down the attackers before they get their hands on what they're truly looking for.
    A continuation of the adrenaline pumping action in each page, I thought this was another great book for The Ultimate Reading Adventure. The only part I didn't like the was the cliff-hanger ending and another loss for Harvath after he had just went through the loss of one of his team. This book takes the reader from the U.S. to Canada and Africa. Like the rest of Thor's books, this one has everything the reader could want: humor, action / adventure, romance, suspense, and emotion. The message brought out in this novel through Harvath's realization that he must continue fighting for his country and for the men and women he serves with.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Intense Thriller!

    review by Patti Phillips New York Times bestselling author, Brad Thor, delivers thrillers that keep the action moving. "Takedown," first published in 2006, is just as topical as Thor's other recent books and deals with post September 11th terrorism action in NYC. In a horrifying glimpse of the future, bridges as well as tunnels are blown up at the beginning of the book and the resulting action places the President's daughter in danger. But, are the explosions and destruction a smokescreen for something else? Something even more devastating to our nation's security than what has already occurred? Yes, indeed. And, unfortunately, quite believable. The plot is scary enough to give the reader chills and instill a sincere wish that none of this nightmarish scenario ever comes to pass in the USA. The lead character, counter-terrorist Scot Harvath, is well written, with some depth and a sense of humanity despite the gravity of his tasks. We experience moments of his deep commitment and never question his patriotism as the drama unfolds. There are multiple bad guys - believable in that they are multi-dimensional - the worst one (a really nasty sort) has dogs that he loves and treats tenderly. As in many thrillers, there is a suspension of disbelief while the reader goes along for the ride, but the practicality of one of the action sequences seemed off to my New York City pals. Secret Service agents must get the dying daughter to a hospital. In actual fact, driving a car along the sidewalks of Manhattan to avoid grid-lock traffic doesn't really work. During the day on most streets, the sidewalks are blocked with potted trees and restaurant awnings and litter baskets and fruit stands and flower stands, etc. and are just too narrow for a car to make any headway. And, if mass transit shuts down, the people spill onto those very sidewalks while they try to get home. "Never gonna happen," was one comment. Aside from that, Thor gets the feel of the city right, with its complex maze of office buildings, side streets, subway stairwells, alleys, parks, garages, et al as the background for Harvath's chase. Be prepared to re-examine the anger of the post 9/11 world in this intense novel. Rated R for torture scenes

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Loved It!

    This was the first time I'd ever read anything by Brad Thor. I'm so glad I did because I thoroughly enjoyed this book. It kept me on edge from the very beginning. Was disappointed when there was a cliffhanger at the end, but happy to know there was a sequel which I had in my house already to read.

    The sequel to Takedown is The First Commandment. I highly recommend both books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2007

    A reviewer

    As an ex-combat vet I truly appreciate the scenarios Mr. Thor sets up in his novels. I think he's right on target, but alas, far too many of those in political power have their heads in the sand!!! His writing reminds me a bit of the early Clancy, before Clancy started turning out junk books. Bring on Thor's next effort!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2007

    cant wait for the next book

    havent read all of it but a friend at school found a few chapters on a website and what i read only made me want to read it more. one of the best current authors around his books are just too good to read only once

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2006

    A Well Executed and Timely Tale

    I had not read any of Mr. Thor's works prior to this one - I'll definitely be checking out his other novels.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2006

    Can't wait for the next one

    One of Brad's best and as current as you can get. Plenty of twists and great character development. The only problem with Brad Thor is he doesn't publish fast enough.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Fantastic thriller

    Bypassing government channels and working with Canadian Black Op Agents who want Al-Qaeda terrorist Sayed Jamal in American hands, counterterrorist agent Scott Horvath sneaks the killer across the border and gives him to a waiting team. At the same time Al-Qaeda weapon¿s expert Mohammed bin Mohammed who vanished two days before 9/11 is kidnapped from his Somalian residence.-------------- Mohamed is preparing to buy nuclear material that a contact will only sell to him the Americans want the material and those involved. The Al-Qaeda leadership seeks Mohammed because he is there only member who can put the nukes together. A daring plan is implemented when the terrorists learn where the Americans are holding Mohammed. They blow up the tunnels and bridge effectively closing Manhattan to all traffic, disable the subway system and use missiles to keep boats and helicopters from leaving or entering. They search the city for Mohamed while Scott who was in town visiting a pal, chases after the terrorists with a group of ex-agents to help him.------------- What makes TAKEDOWN an exciting yet frightening thriller is that the tale seems plausible after the events of 9/11. Readers will picture what Brad Thor describes happens in Manhattan and then see a city quickly dissolve into chaos, death, and destruction. The protagonist is a patriotic warrior risking his life to stop his country¿s enemies. Mr. Thor is a terrific thriller writer and fans of Dan Brown and Thomas Harris will want to read his latest masterpiece.---------- Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 173 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9