Customer Reviews for

Takedown (Scot Harvath Series #5)

Average Rating 4
( 172 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(75)

4 Star

(58)

3 Star

(29)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

One of My Favorite Brad Thor Books

This was one fun read! A great way to spend a rainy day, and you'll probably be able to finish this in one weekend. In fact, that's my only complaint. It's a bit short. The story is engrossing, and I didn't mind the cliffhanger ending, because I couldn't wait to start t...
This was one fun read! A great way to spend a rainy day, and you'll probably be able to finish this in one weekend. In fact, that's my only complaint. It's a bit short. The story is engrossing, and I didn't mind the cliffhanger ending, because I couldn't wait to start the next book in the series, "The FIrst Commandment".

While it isn't necessary to read this series in chronological order, I recommend that you do, simply because if you enjoy this one you'll probably enjoy the other books.

posted by ravelg on August 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

it was ok

i probably won't read it again. wish i would of bought it used in paperback.

posted by mtownsend on February 20, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 75 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2008

    Vince Flynn's 'brother'

    I love this style of book. Other than Ms. JK Rowling, I've read only Daniel Silva, Steve Berry, Vince Flynn, and Brad Thor this year. A friend gave me Brad's latest, The First Commandment, to read, but as I read a few chapters, I knew I was missing the 'backstory'. So I came to B&N and bought every book Brad had written. I've hardly spent my money more wisely. Every book is exceptional. Takedown, in all it did, took ME down as well, right at the very last paragraph of the book. I had tears of a profound sadness in my heart. What a heart wrenching moment. The next book is going to be a heck of a ride. It'll have to top this one, because this is my favorite Brad Thor novel to date. He gets better and better. I was happy to see in his list of acknowledgements that he had Vince Flynn among them. Excellent!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2014

    Very good, all his books are

    Very good, thrilling to the very end. Surprises along the way. All his books are good. I discovered Brad Thor recently and have been enjoying reading his books in order.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2012

    Great Mystery Suspense!

    This is an excellent book. Brad Thor is an excellent writer, and the suspense keeps drawing you to complete the book and order more. Great Series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 29, 2012

    Action packed

    Awesome as ever.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2011

    Fast reading

    Couldn't put it down

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2011

    A Book Worth Reading

    Terrorists have made 9/11 look like choir practice after destroying every bridge and tunnel in and out of Manhattan. This time, it's July 4th weekend when thousands of tourists come to the New York area to celebrate America's freedom. Then, there are more attacks, unnoticed by many, on secret places where the U.S. stores intelligence information around New York and Manhattan. In Takedown, the fifth novel of Brad Thor's series about the infamous Scot Harvath, he and the rest of his team must track down the attackers before they get their hands on what they're truly looking for.
    A continuation of the adrenaline pumping action in each page, I thought this was another great book for The Ultimate Reading Adventure. The only part I didn't like the was the cliff-hanger ending and another loss for Harvath after he had just went through the loss of one of his team. This book takes the reader from the U.S. to Canada and Africa. Like the rest of Thor's books, this one has everything the reader could want: humor, action / adventure, romance, suspense, and emotion. The message brought out in this novel through Harvath's realization that he must continue fighting for his country and for the men and women he serves with.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Loved It!

    This was the first time I'd ever read anything by Brad Thor. I'm so glad I did because I thoroughly enjoyed this book. It kept me on edge from the very beginning. Was disappointed when there was a cliffhanger at the end, but happy to know there was a sequel which I had in my house already to read.

    The sequel to Takedown is The First Commandment. I highly recommend both books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2007

    A reviewer

    As an ex-combat vet I truly appreciate the scenarios Mr. Thor sets up in his novels. I think he's right on target, but alas, far too many of those in political power have their heads in the sand!!! His writing reminds me a bit of the early Clancy, before Clancy started turning out junk books. Bring on Thor's next effort!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2007

    cant wait for the next book

    havent read all of it but a friend at school found a few chapters on a website and what i read only made me want to read it more. one of the best current authors around his books are just too good to read only once

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2006

    Can't wait for the next one

    One of Brad's best and as current as you can get. Plenty of twists and great character development. The only problem with Brad Thor is he doesn't publish fast enough.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Fantastic thriller

    Bypassing government channels and working with Canadian Black Op Agents who want Al-Qaeda terrorist Sayed Jamal in American hands, counterterrorist agent Scott Horvath sneaks the killer across the border and gives him to a waiting team. At the same time Al-Qaeda weapon¿s expert Mohammed bin Mohammed who vanished two days before 9/11 is kidnapped from his Somalian residence.-------------- Mohamed is preparing to buy nuclear material that a contact will only sell to him the Americans want the material and those involved. The Al-Qaeda leadership seeks Mohammed because he is there only member who can put the nukes together. A daring plan is implemented when the terrorists learn where the Americans are holding Mohammed. They blow up the tunnels and bridge effectively closing Manhattan to all traffic, disable the subway system and use missiles to keep boats and helicopters from leaving or entering. They search the city for Mohamed while Scott who was in town visiting a pal, chases after the terrorists with a group of ex-agents to help him.------------- What makes TAKEDOWN an exciting yet frightening thriller is that the tale seems plausible after the events of 9/11. Readers will picture what Brad Thor describes happens in Manhattan and then see a city quickly dissolve into chaos, death, and destruction. The protagonist is a patriotic warrior risking his life to stop his country¿s enemies. Mr. Thor is a terrific thriller writer and fans of Dan Brown and Thomas Harris will want to read his latest masterpiece.---------- Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 75 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4