Customer Reviews for

Taken (Deception #1)

Average Rating 4
( 245 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(116)

4 Star

(70)

3 Star

(29)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(16)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

excellent

As a fan, I've read all of Barbara Freethy's books and loved each one. Taken was no exception.

posted by bookholiday on October 23, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Didn't live up to expectations...

This is the first Barbara Freethy book I've read. Unfortunately, it didn't live up to the expectations I had based on other reviews. The book started out well with a great premise of stolen identity. But then it went straight downhill from there. I had to ignore log...
This is the first Barbara Freethy book I've read. Unfortunately, it didn't live up to the expectations I had based on other reviews. The book started out well with a great premise of stolen identity. But then it went straight downhill from there. I had to ignore logic throughout the book and try to imagine scenarios that just really didn't ring true to me. For example, would a smart woman who married a man after only knowing him for 3 weeks, whose husband disappeared on their wedding night, really fall into an intense physical relationship with a different man a mere two weeks later? Not too believable for me. The lead male character had potential to be interesting, but became predictably stumbling and bumbling throughout the book. Neither lead character seemed too bright. The police/FBI also seemed dumbed down. The ending was lame at best. Really? Could the police be so stupid? I doubt I'll buy any other Barbara Freethy books. Darn. I was hoping I'd found another author to enjoy.

posted by aColoradoMom on April 24, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 116 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted October 23, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    excellent

    As a fan, I've read all of Barbara Freethy's books and loved each one. Taken was no exception.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    loved it

    Read it in one night and it was hard to put down! Great characters and great plot.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2008

    the one that will get you hooked...

    I stumbled upon this book when it had been left at the place I was staying on the beach, and was oddly compelled to read it. This was the first Freethy book I had ever read, but I finished it in one short weekend vacation. I couldn't resist the story... or the author! I went out and started a collection of Ms. Freethy's books, immediately reading them all and lending them to my best friend so we'd be able to discuss them. I now have eight of the books and am still collecting!

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2006

    Awesome!!!!!!!!!!!

    I was pleasantly suprised by this book. I was expecting a quick read and I got an awesome, well writen book. The chemistry between the two is terrific. I picked this up at the store and came home and started it. Before I knew it, it wsa 3am and I was finishing the book. I could not put it down. She is quickly becoming one of my favorite authors. It's very easy to add her to the writing likes of Linda Howard and Sandra Brown. Way to go, Ms. Freethy. I can't wait for the next book in this series. Thanks for keeping it going!!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    exhilarating romantic suspense

    Kayla Sheridan marries, but instead of spending an evening of bliss, her groom Nick Granville vanishes. The stunned bride visits her spouse¿s home to confront him, but the man who greets her is not her husband though he claims and proves that he is Nick Granville. Both are taken aback as Nick, who has been overseas for months on a bridge construction project realizes someone has taken identity theft to a new level. The thief lived in Nick¿s home, spent his money, and married in his name. --- Already suspicious as to the identity of the conman, Kayla¿s description affirms Nick¿s believe that his college days' enemy Evan Chadwick pulled a stunt. He can understand why him, but neither Nick nor Kayla can figure out why her. As both know he still stalks them, the duo agree they need to comprehend why Evan picked her because he would not have used her if she did not fit into the equation. --- This is an exhilarating romantic suspense with the emphasis on the amateur sleuth investigation conducted by the two targets. Barbara Freethy leaves clues to what is going on especially the real link between Evan and Kayla, yet the fascination is trying to separate out those that provide information from the red herrings. The lead couple is a delightful teaming while the villain serves as a matchmaking cat toying with the two mice he brought together. Fans will enjoy this tense thriller. --- Harriet Klausner

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 15, 2011

    Great book

    This is a wonderful book, would recommended it to everyone

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2013

    awesome

    i really liked it. i do believe only a person age 15 or older should read it though.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 29, 2011

    Highly recommended - A real mystery

    I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book. It held my attention throughout and, with that cliffhanger ending, I will be getting her next book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2011

    Age?

    What age would you suggest appropriate for this story? I want to read but am unsure if what I would find would be appropriate for a younger mind. (Hey, that rhymes!)

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2014

    A must read. Check it out!!

    Great characters. Thrilling plot. I love Freethy's writing style. It's a book that's hard to put down until the final ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2014

    I Meet Jack Frost (part 3)

    Racheal opened her eyes. She mustve fallen asleep and she sat up. Pitch still had her in a cage. <p> But jack would find her. And rescue her. <p>What did pitch mean? Why was she valuble? Thoughts swarmed her head and Racheal sighed. It was cold and dark. Racheal didnt like it here at all. She was about to scream to see if they could here her when a cold hand fell on her shoulder. Racheal turned around to see jack gazeing at her with frosty blue eyes (Go figure). Jack touched the bars and the bars froze. Jack punched them and they broke instently. Without speaking, jack picked her up like a small child and flew her out. <p> it was snowing. Racheal shivered and closed her eyes. She felt jack grip tighten as he landed. Suddenly evreything felt warm and soft voices filled the air (or room.) Racheal kept her eyes shut and hoped they thought she was asleep. She felt jack set her down on something soft and a blanket cover her. She relaxed and listened. Jack and someone else were speaking. "This isnt good jack. We have no idea what power she can posses! If pitch had put some thought in her mind then—" "listen Bunny, we need to keep her safe. The only way to do that is keep her here. Just untill christmas." "But thats in 8 days! A week and 24 hours is to much! You know that she.....i smell something." Racheal knew her cover was blown so she yawned and sat up. She rubbed her eyes then stared at jack and bunny. Bunny twitched his nose. "How much did you hear mate?" Racheal yawned again. "All of it."<p> Jack sat beside her and put a cold hand on her shoulder. "Lets explain evreything before you ask anything. Ok?" <p> to be continued at next result.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2014

    fttgttsffgccrgteergerbg

    Erysqq w tergggt

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2014

    to megan

    This is such a great book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2014

    Kenzie mccoy

    Most guy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2014

    Plz roleplay

    Comment to kelbie

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2014

    Emi.y

    Hello

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2014

    allie

    Hey anyone wanna chat

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2014

    .

    ............@#$%&*-+(),/;:'"!1234567891011121314151617181920

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2013

    Andrew

    Hi

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2013

    To Bella Well you seem playful tonight. How abought a kiss?

    To Bella

    Well you seem playful tonight. How abought a kiss?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 116 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6