Customer Reviews for

Taken

Average Rating 3
( 242 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(60)

4 Star

(53)

3 Star

(45)

2 Star

(29)

1 Star

(55)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

20 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

The author is a close personal friend of mine. I love her to de

The author is a close personal friend of mine. I love her to death. I
had a VERY difficult time with the 2nd person vantage point--AT FIRST.
I have read much of her writing previously to this, and could not
understand why she would write with the impersonal you. But ...
The author is a close personal friend of mine. I love her to death. I
had a VERY difficult time with the 2nd person vantage point--AT FIRST.
I have read much of her writing previously to this, and could not
understand why she would write with the impersonal you. But then, I
kept reading, because let's be realistic, to really get hooked on a book
and actually "get it," the reader must read past chapter
four!!! I liked the book. I ended up digging the writing style. Just
because something is DIFFERENT than what one is used to, does not make
it bad. People are too critical. Books are supposed to take people
away from their humdrum lives and trasport them to places of fantasy and
mystery. Turtle Tear is pretty mystical to me. I say, "Wonderful
Job J...KELLI!" I am proud of you and your book. Ps. People, it
is very difficult to get "titilated" by a book your friend
wrote, and yet I did. So, enjoy your reading... Ha!

posted by Cae1616 on August 22, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

26 out of 43 people found this review helpful.

TERRIBLE!!

Whoever said this book was similar to Fifty Shades definitely exaggerated. This book was one of the worst books I have ever read. I can't even remember the lead character name because she refer to him as "you" thoughout the whole book. The reviews that indicated this...
Whoever said this book was similar to Fifty Shades definitely exaggerated. This book was one of the worst books I have ever read. I can't even remember the lead character name because she refer to him as "you" thoughout the whole book. The reviews that indicated this book was good obviously want you to waste your money like they did. Fifty shade Christian at least had a personality this "you" character was just plain nuts! Christian didn't need to kidnap anyone. Need I say more. Don't waste your money ! Read Fifty again! One star for the author effort.

posted by 9353494 on August 22, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 242 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 13
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2012

    TERRIBLE!!

    Whoever said this book was similar to Fifty Shades definitely exaggerated. This book was one of the worst books I have ever read. I can't even remember the lead character name because she refer to him as "you" thoughout the whole book. The reviews that indicated this book was good obviously want you to waste your money like they did. Fifty shade Christian at least had a personality this "you" character was just plain nuts! Christian didn't need to kidnap anyone. Need I say more. Don't waste your money ! Read Fifty again! One star for the author effort.

    26 out of 43 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2012

    You read my review

    You are reading my review. I am telling you the writing style makes it hard to read. I tell you that you should read the sample portion first. I tell you that i couldnt get past the first few chapters. It gave me a headache.
    This review is written in a similar fashion of the book itself. It is NOTtHING like 50shades.
    You click on "This review was helpful"

    The end.

    20 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2012

    The author is a close personal friend of mine. I love her to de

    The author is a close personal friend of mine. I love her to death. I
    had a VERY difficult time with the 2nd person vantage point--AT FIRST.
    I have read much of her writing previously to this, and could not
    understand why she would write with the impersonal you. But then, I
    kept reading, because let's be realistic, to really get hooked on a book
    and actually "get it," the reader must read past chapter
    four!!! I liked the book. I ended up digging the writing style. Just
    because something is DIFFERENT than what one is used to, does not make
    it bad. People are too critical. Books are supposed to take people
    away from their humdrum lives and trasport them to places of fantasy and
    mystery. Turtle Tear is pretty mystical to me. I say, "Wonderful
    Job J...KELLI!" I am proud of you and your book. Ps. People, it
    is very difficult to get "titilated" by a book your friend
    wrote, and yet I did. So, enjoy your reading... Ha!

    20 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2012

    I have to admit that I'm a bit shocked by others reviews of this

    I have to admit that I'm a bit shocked by others reviews of this,
    especially for those that liked 50 shades - since the writing is fairly
    sub-par in Shades - and this a huge jump in writing quality. To
    clarify - TAKEN is told in 2nd person - not first person - which the
    fact that most people are complaining about it but have no idea what it
    is - may give me some insight into the negative reviews. I love the
    use of this perspective here! Not something I'm used to, but it worked
    so well in this book so that we could really get in Rachael's head to
    understand her thought process. Which I think was in important in
    understanding how she could work through the whole being
    "Taken" thing. Maine's writing is beautiful and
    descriptive, I really felt like I was there - feeling and seeing the
    island. Like going on a mid-work week vacation! It sure didn't hurt
    to go on the trip with hot Merrick, either. Speaking of Merrick - what
    great, tragic character. I love that she let him be so broken and
    making such big mistakes, so we get to see him continue to grow and
    change. Oh and did I mention how steamy the chemistry is between
    them? WHOA. I enjoyed this book (would give it 4.75 stars if I
    could) and have already started No Take Backs. I say give 2nd person a
    try, it may take a chapter or two to really get into it, but I think
    it's worth it!

    19 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2012

    okay read

    I liked the storyline and characters but the writing style is different. I will be reading the follow up novella but more than likely will not read anything else from this author. If you like the whole stockholm syndrome you'll like this novel.

    15 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2012

    Loved

    I didn't think it was possible to enjoy more than 50 Shades buti did. The writing style takes some getting used to though.

    11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2012

    HOLY HOTNESS AND PLOTNESS

    Kelli Maine's book, Taken, was a first for me in two wonderful ways. Not only was this the first book I've ever read in 2nd person POV, but it is the first book I've ever read in the erotica genre (NO! I DID NOT READ 50 SHADES, SUE ME!).

    Also, I have not read an "adult" book in a long time (I read mostly YA), so it was quite refreshing to be in the head of grown-ups, dealing with grown-up issues in a very grown-up manner.

    As for the book itself, let me just say...WOW. I'm a huge fan. The author's use of second person POV was very different for me. It was strange for the first few pages and then I was completely hooked and couldn't imagine reading it any other way. It made the reading of this story a very intimate experience and I loved being in Rachel's (the MC) head as it allowed me to hear, taste, smell, see, and touch/feel everything right along with her. The thing I really loved about this MC was that she always questioned EVERYTHING. Nothing was easy, cut and dry, black and white for this MC. The author's ability to write a character with the level of introspection she did, is truly phenomenal and talent at it's best.

    Merrick, the incredibly hot and sexy LI, was very well developed with wonderfully deep, meaningful layers that were slowly peeled away, revealing a man who is everything you fantasize about on the outside while still being a broken, vulnerable person on the inside (which I love!). My emotions ran the gamut where Merrick was concerned. I despised him, liked him, hated him, loved him, hurt for him, lusted for him, cried for him, and so on. Seeing the emotional growth and journeys of both Rachel and Merrick was a very fulfilling experience.

    Additionally, this story had a plot! And a great one at that. It was well thought out and believable. I was blown away by the meticulous details that the author used to describe the setting, especially of the hotel and the island where most of the story takes place. It felt so authentic and her ability to describe things always gave me a perfect image of what was happening and what I was seeing. Sometimes it was like I was watching a movie rather that reading a book. LOVE. THAT.

    And lets not forget the smexy scenes, 'cause holy hotness was there some smexy stuff going on in there. The romantic tension, the sexual tension, the emotional tension...this book was full of tension that kept me reading late into the night. The pacing was spot on and had me flying through this book in only two sittings.

    Overall, I highly, HIGHLY recommend this book. It is full of masturbatory brilliance in every way imaginable. From the writing to the characters to the plot and of course, the erotic elements, this story has it all.

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2012

    I made it, painfully, to chapter four. This book reads like a yo

    I made it, painfully, to chapter four. This book reads like a young
    teenager with no vocabulary skills wrote this book. Wish I could get my
    money back and the 10mins of my life I wasted.

    10 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2012

    Not bad like some are saying. yes the way it is written is wierd

    Not bad like some are saying. yes the way it is written is wierd but i
    think you get used to it. I mean come on if you read fifty shades you
    can not say that was written well either. If you are looking for
    something like fifty then this is the book for you.

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2012

    1 st person

    Annoyed by first person

    8 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 25, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Flawed Billionaire Bad Boy...Yes, Please!

    I loved the story line of TAKEN. The idea of a misunderstood abduction screamed must read to me. While I admit, at first I was like who is this Merrick creep and why in the heck did he kidnap her, I grew to understand him—just like the main character, Rachel did. The idea of a lonely billionaire with a closet full of emotional baggage may fit the same profile as my beloved Christian Grey, but Merrick’s skeletons were different. They were not as twisted as Christian’s, but that doesn’t mean Merrick doesn’t have major flaws. The way Ms. Maine reveals his dark, dirty secrets made me understand a little about more about Merrick and the way he ticked. I felt more of a connection with him because his love and affection for Rachel wasn’t coming from such a dark and creepy place as Christian Grey.

    I see some of the other reviewers hated the 2nd person tense the story was written in. I understand how it may seem a little weird, but if YOU think about it, we speak in 2nd person all the time. So, that’s how I read it. I read it as if Rachel was speaking to me like I was Merrick and she was telling me her side of the story. I rather enjoyed it after a few pages. It made me feel closer and more involved in the story. To me it was a fresh way to present a cool concept in a book.

    Overall, I loved this novel. It has all the makings of some of my other favorites in this genre (Thoughtless, Fifty Shades of Grey, Rock Me, Backstage Pass, and Beautiful Disaster…) of an epic love story. I just can’t get enough of these flawed bad boys. And Kelli Maine has created a new one for me to love. So, kudos Ms. Maine for an awesome novel!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2012

    I really liked this book, now the wait for book three to come ou

    I really liked this book, now the wait for book three to come out!!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 20, 2012

    its written as if your the character. i couldnt even get passed

    its written as if your the character. i couldnt even get passed chapter
    one i gave up and deleted the digital copy.

    6 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2012

    Wow

    All I can say is wow!!!!!?

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2012

    Have to change the point of view in my head to try and enjoy it.

    Story line is cute. But I really hate the point of view the story is written in. If the author were to change all the 'you's' I think it would be worth the money.

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2012

    Different type of read

    The writing style is different, but I liked it. A very easy read

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2012

    Worst book ever

    I am sorry I wasted my money on this book. It is horrible! The style of writing is different, it sucks! Dumb, dumb, dumb!

    5 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2012

    Wow!!!

    Loved it! Hope she writes more like it!!!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2012

    Eh

    It was okay... cute story, definately wont be reading the next two because i hated the story's point of view, super annoying to read.

    5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2012

    Don't bother

    The author's use of first person for this book was extremely annoying. I never felt invested in the characters. If you're looking for something like 50 shades of grey, this falls short....very short.

    4 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 242 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 13