BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Taken

Average Rating 3
( 243 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(61)

4 Star

(53)

3 Star

(45)

2 Star

(29)

1 Star

(55)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

20 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

The author is a close personal friend of mine. I love her to de

The author is a close personal friend of mine. I love her to death. I
had a VERY difficult time with the 2nd person vantage point--AT FIRST.
I have read much of her writing previously to this, and could not
understand why she would write with the impersonal you. But ...
The author is a close personal friend of mine. I love her to death. I
had a VERY difficult time with the 2nd person vantage point--AT FIRST.
I have read much of her writing previously to this, and could not
understand why she would write with the impersonal you. But then, I
kept reading, because let's be realistic, to really get hooked on a book
and actually "get it," the reader must read past chapter
four!!! I liked the book. I ended up digging the writing style. Just
because something is DIFFERENT than what one is used to, does not make
it bad. People are too critical. Books are supposed to take people
away from their humdrum lives and trasport them to places of fantasy and
mystery. Turtle Tear is pretty mystical to me. I say, "Wonderful
Job J...KELLI!" I am proud of you and your book. Ps. People, it
is very difficult to get "titilated" by a book your friend
wrote, and yet I did. So, enjoy your reading... Ha!

posted by Cae1616 on August 22, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

26 out of 43 people found this review helpful.

TERRIBLE!!

Whoever said this book was similar to Fifty Shades definitely exaggerated. This book was one of the worst books I have ever read. I can't even remember the lead character name because she refer to him as "you" thoughout the whole book. The reviews that indicated this...
Whoever said this book was similar to Fifty Shades definitely exaggerated. This book was one of the worst books I have ever read. I can't even remember the lead character name because she refer to him as "you" thoughout the whole book. The reviews that indicated this book was good obviously want you to waste your money like they did. Fifty shade Christian at least had a personality this "you" character was just plain nuts! Christian didn't need to kidnap anyone. Need I say more. Don't waste your money ! Read Fifty again! One star for the author effort.

posted by 9353494 on August 22, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2012

    okay read

    I liked the storyline and characters but the writing style is different. I will be reading the follow up novella but more than likely will not read anything else from this author. If you like the whole stockholm syndrome you'll like this novel.

    15 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2012

    Not bad like some are saying. yes the way it is written is wierd

    Not bad like some are saying. yes the way it is written is wierd but i
    think you get used to it. I mean come on if you read fifty shades you
    can not say that was written well either. If you are looking for
    something like fifty then this is the book for you.

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2012

    Have to change the point of view in my head to try and enjoy it.

    Story line is cute. But I really hate the point of view the story is written in. If the author were to change all the 'you's' I think it would be worth the money.

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2012

    Eh

    It was okay... cute story, definately wont be reading the next two because i hated the story's point of view, super annoying to read.

    5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2012

    Sexy sexy sexy

    This book was suprising. I found myself rolling my eyes at how it started I hate books that have poor character development, and this book is a bit rushed from the start. Once you get to about chapter 2 though it becomes much better. I love the erotic suspens it was definatly hot. If thats all your looking for a bit of literature fast food this book will definatly be made to order. Warning chocolate cake cravings will abound.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2012

    Enjoyable fix

    Enjoyed the story

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2012

    Like it

    Once i got past the kidnapping. I realky liked it! Wish someone woukd take me away to a private isand, not by being drugged if cours


    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2013

    Slow start but ended up being a good story.

    Slow start but ended up being a good story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 8, 2012

    Recommended!

    This was definitely a page turner.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2012

    ok

    Just ok, didn't love the characters.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2012

    Good

    Pretty good read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    Beautiful story

    The author is very talented. Reading in the second person was confusing to me at times, so I did not enjoy this book as much as I had hoped. I would really like to read something of hers written in the first person sometime, but because I have so many books to read I will probably not be reading the next written in this style.
    That being said, the story was original and beautifully engineered.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2012

    Liked it.

    Interesting and unexpected plot twists

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2012

    Ok

    Hard to put down

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2012

    Easy read!

    It wasn't a bad story. Was a very easy story to read. At first i wasn't to sure if it was going to turn out ok, with what he did. But it turned out ok. I didn't like the first person style of writing to much. But the story wasn't bad.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2012

    It was ok...

    I liked the story line, it was just a tad diffrent then alot of the other romance books out there. BUT I could not get used to the writing, it was like she was writing a letter to Merrick. I started just inserting "he" in place of the "you" in my head just to get through the book. But some people may not mind the writers style. It just wasn't for me and should read it because it was a good story and a quick read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2012

    Takes some getting use to

    Definitely no fifty shades. No comparison at all.... plus it was very difficult to get pass all those "you" and "yours".... overall the story line is not bad. The kidnapping part was a bit extreme though

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2012

    Okay

    Didnt like the first person angle got in the way of the story...would have been much better but was a decent read. Second book is just a novella so wait for the full version.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2012

    Good story but...

    It was hard to read, the writing style is strange

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2012

    Ehhh

    Read better books. The way they had the characters annoyed me (you look at me and im in love) kind of text got annoying. Tooka while for me to get into it. I am gonna read the next one soon though

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3