Customer Reviews for

Taken

Average Rating 3
( 243 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(61)

4 Star

(53)

3 Star

(45)

2 Star

(29)

1 Star

(55)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

20 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

The author is a close personal friend of mine. I love her to de

The author is a close personal friend of mine. I love her to death. I
had a VERY difficult time with the 2nd person vantage point--AT FIRST.
I have read much of her writing previously to this, and could not
understand why she would write with the impersonal you. But ...
The author is a close personal friend of mine. I love her to death. I
had a VERY difficult time with the 2nd person vantage point--AT FIRST.
I have read much of her writing previously to this, and could not
understand why she would write with the impersonal you. But then, I
kept reading, because let's be realistic, to really get hooked on a book
and actually "get it," the reader must read past chapter
four!!! I liked the book. I ended up digging the writing style. Just
because something is DIFFERENT than what one is used to, does not make
it bad. People are too critical. Books are supposed to take people
away from their humdrum lives and trasport them to places of fantasy and
mystery. Turtle Tear is pretty mystical to me. I say, "Wonderful
Job J...KELLI!" I am proud of you and your book. Ps. People, it
is very difficult to get "titilated" by a book your friend
wrote, and yet I did. So, enjoy your reading... Ha!

posted by Cae1616 on August 22, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

26 out of 43 people found this review helpful.

TERRIBLE!!

Whoever said this book was similar to Fifty Shades definitely exaggerated. This book was one of the worst books I have ever read. I can't even remember the lead character name because she refer to him as "you" thoughout the whole book. The reviews that indicated this...
Whoever said this book was similar to Fifty Shades definitely exaggerated. This book was one of the worst books I have ever read. I can't even remember the lead character name because she refer to him as "you" thoughout the whole book. The reviews that indicated this book was good obviously want you to waste your money like they did. Fifty shade Christian at least had a personality this "you" character was just plain nuts! Christian didn't need to kidnap anyone. Need I say more. Don't waste your money ! Read Fifty again! One star for the author effort.

posted by 9353494 on August 22, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 53 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted August 22, 2012

    The author is a close personal friend of mine. I love her to de

    The author is a close personal friend of mine. I love her to death. I
    had a VERY difficult time with the 2nd person vantage point--AT FIRST.
    I have read much of her writing previously to this, and could not
    understand why she would write with the impersonal you. But then, I
    kept reading, because let's be realistic, to really get hooked on a book
    and actually "get it," the reader must read past chapter
    four!!! I liked the book. I ended up digging the writing style. Just
    because something is DIFFERENT than what one is used to, does not make
    it bad. People are too critical. Books are supposed to take people
    away from their humdrum lives and trasport them to places of fantasy and
    mystery. Turtle Tear is pretty mystical to me. I say, "Wonderful
    Job J...KELLI!" I am proud of you and your book. Ps. People, it
    is very difficult to get "titilated" by a book your friend
    wrote, and yet I did. So, enjoy your reading... Ha!

    20 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2012

    I have to admit that I'm a bit shocked by others reviews of this

    I have to admit that I'm a bit shocked by others reviews of this,
    especially for those that liked 50 shades - since the writing is fairly
    sub-par in Shades - and this a huge jump in writing quality. To
    clarify - TAKEN is told in 2nd person - not first person - which the
    fact that most people are complaining about it but have no idea what it
    is - may give me some insight into the negative reviews. I love the
    use of this perspective here! Not something I'm used to, but it worked
    so well in this book so that we could really get in Rachael's head to
    understand her thought process. Which I think was in important in
    understanding how she could work through the whole being
    "Taken" thing. Maine's writing is beautiful and
    descriptive, I really felt like I was there - feeling and seeing the
    island. Like going on a mid-work week vacation! It sure didn't hurt
    to go on the trip with hot Merrick, either. Speaking of Merrick - what
    great, tragic character. I love that she let him be so broken and
    making such big mistakes, so we get to see him continue to grow and
    change. Oh and did I mention how steamy the chemistry is between
    them? WHOA. I enjoyed this book (would give it 4.75 stars if I
    could) and have already started No Take Backs. I say give 2nd person a
    try, it may take a chapter or two to really get into it, but I think
    it's worth it!

    19 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2012

    I really liked this book, now the wait for book three to come ou

    I really liked this book, now the wait for book three to come out!!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2012

    Wow

    All I can say is wow!!!!!?

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2012

    Different type of read

    The writing style is different, but I liked it. A very easy read

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2012

    Wow

    Loved the writing and romance.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2012

    HOT and STEAMY

    I read this book in one afternoon, and instantly bought the second in the series. There will be a third coming out next year which I fully intend on getting! Can't wait to keep following Merrick and Rachael!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2012

    Great Read!

    A great quick read if you are looking for an unusual romantic twist!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2012

    Loved it!

    It took me some time to get used to the way it was written. It's very different from any book that i have ever read, but i absolutely loved it! In the end it's style just makes it more unique and gives you much more insight to how Rachel is feeling. I read tons of books and this is one of the better ones I read since fifty shades of gray.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2012

    Great read!!!!!!

    CANT BELEIVE THE NEGATIVE REVEIWS. I loved that it was written in 1ST person . Loved the story, characters, .... everything about it was great! Cant wait for the 3rd one!!!


    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2012

    Good

    I love the book but in some parts it can be very slow and very predictable

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2012

    Must read!

    I had a hard time getting used to the way the author wrote the book, but after a few chapters...i couldn't put it down.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2012

    Great book!

    I loved this book!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2012

    Loved this! Hot!

    I loved the perspective in which this story is told/written. The sexual tension was so hot - what more can you ask for from a romance novel? The follow on novella was satisfying with a good cliff hanger. I look forward to the third book Given. I appreciate that the author is not pushing out another book so soon as many others seem to be doing these days.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2012

    A fun book!

    Good read, really enjoyed it!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2012

    Good read

    Couldnt put it down! Great read

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2012

    Diary

    The story was like a diary. I really liked it, it gives you a chance to have a open mind. Different but cool.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2012

    A must read!

    It is a bit like fifty but honestly I really really liked this book.....it's not quite as vulgar and has a great plot! So read for yourself and enjoy!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2012

    Not to bad..

    I thought this was a pretty good book. I have read the second one, which was too short. Im anticpating the third one now. Its not Fifty Shades, but its a pretty good read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2012

    :)

    Good book. I enjoyed reading it.:)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 53 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3