Customer Reviews for

Taken by Storm

Average Rating 4.5
( 43 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(27)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted May 11, 2013

    First, I would suggest you read No Take Backs. It's a novella th

    First, I would suggest you read No Take Backs. It's a novella that gives you the perfect segue into Taken by Storm. It's extremely hot. Moisture protection is a must. Most importantly though, you learn that Merrick has twenty year old son that he never knew about.

    MJ (Merrick Junior) has been hidden away his whole life by Merrick's father, The Old Man. MJ's closest friend is Maddie. She is the daughter of the house manager that works for MJ's grandfather. They were like brother and sister until their relationship became more intimate. The Old Man forces Maddie to leave town in order to keep family secrets and keep Maddie away from MJ.

    Throughout the story you know that Maddie is keeping secrets from MJ. So it was hard for me to like her character. But MJ is willing to fight for this girl that owns his heart. I loved Merrick even more in Taken by Storm. He takes MJ in to his heart and his home immediately. I just love Rachael, Merrick's girlfriend. She says what's on her mind and stands up to The Old Man, always ready to defend Merrick.

    As MJ tries to adjust to being a part of a family he's never known, Maddie tries to decide between loving the man her heart most desires or Talan the man every woman should want to marry. So far Maddie has chosen to protect her father and MJ by keeping secrets for The Old Man. Then all of her efforts are wasted when someone else comes along to tell all the secrets. It's a bomb I did not see coming. I have know idea why Merrick's father would go to such extremes. He really is the devil. But what's more disappointing is that his sister was also aware of the information.

    MJ is sweet and forgiving and ultimately wins his hearts desire. It gets really hot up in there once Maddie gives in to her heart as well. I love the touch of ghost story the author includes in Taken by Storm. I also really hope we get more of Beck's story in his own book maybe.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2013

    Fantastic

    The series keeps getting better! I was blown away with all the twist and turns, and have fallin in major love with this story! I can't wait to read the next one!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2013

    Love it!!!

    Loved this book!! Can't wait for the next one!!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2013

    When I read Taken last year, it was unique and definitely intrig

    When I read Taken last year, it was unique and definitely intrigued me. Then, I read No Take Backs, which is a short novella between books one and two. I absolutely loved No Take Backs and it left me anxious to see what would happen with MJ and Merrick. I enjoyed Taken by Storm, but I think to fully appreciate it, you need to look at the big picture of the series. 




    When I first met MJ, I wasn't quite sure what to think. He's been 'hidden' his whole life and he's just learned some major life altering news. I felt that he came across as he should. He's angry, a bit confrontational, and definitely confused. He had always assumed his father wanted nothing to do with him. To make matters worse, his first love and best friend returns to town, making MJ feel even more angry and conflicted. Only...Maddie also has her own issues she's trying to work through. 




    Maddie has known MJ pretty much his whole life. They played together as kids and eventually started a relationship. After Maddie graduated from college she returned home to give their relationship a fair chance, but her plans quickly changed. MJ was left with no answers and a broken heart. Now, Maddie doesn't want to let MJ go. I really felt for Maddie. She carries with her secrets about MJ and her reasons for leaving him behind. It was a lot of pressure on her shoulders. 




    Watching Maddie and MJ go back and forth was often frustrating. I wanted Maddie to tell MJ her secrets so bad. Despite the frustrating moments, there were some really sweet moments between them too. We get to see what their friendship was like and we still see Maddie standing by MJ's side while he goes through this new life change with Merrick. Oh...and there was some serious sexual tension. In the end, I was happy to see MJ and Maddie's story come together. 




    Overall, I enjoyed Taken by Storm. As I said above, I think looking at this book from an overall series perspective, helped me to get more involved in the story. I liked the characters very much and I think they will be an asset to the overall series plan. I will say that I looked forward to reading scenes that had Merrick and Rachael in them. I didn't realize how much I had missed them. I'm looking forward to the third book in the series, Given, which is scheduled to release sometime this year. If you're looking for a great Adult series to begin that has a good dose of steam and intrigue, check this one out!




    Favorite quote:
    ~"You don't say anything I understand, so stop talking before you piss me off again."-Loc 1920

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2013

    Great series

    It feels as if I waited forever for this book. I liked it a lot and I especially appreciated that the author stopped using the impersonal 'you' and the narrative is now in third person. I was also happy to see that the plot is thickening and the intrigue is heightening. But I could not give it 5 stars... Maddie, the heroine in this book, was immature and selfish and drove me nuts keeping 'the secret' grom MJ. I just could not connect with her character. Did not particularly like the new character that showed up on the island in the end, not very believable. I also miss Rachael and Merrick, which were only secondary characters in this book. I hope the next book focuses on them and brings more closure rather than dropping more characters and complicating the plot.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2013

    Anonmous

    Loved this book!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    A Must Read

    Loved loved loved it... Can't wait to read more..

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Robin Book provided by NetGalley for review Review o

    Reviewed by Robin
    Book provided by NetGalley for review
    Review originally posted at Romancing the Book

    A new author is always a nice thing to find. I have found one with Kelli Maine as she writes about those hard headed Rocha Men. As much as they are hard headed, they are also very faithful to those that they love which is always a nice attribute to a very hunky and hot man. It shows a little of a softer side but just enough to leave the edge there.

    Also a nice cougar type of a storyline; which starts while they were still in high school. MJ and Maddie have always been best friends. Her father has worked for MJ’s grandfather forever. As they became older things changed between them. Friends soon became lovers. MJ over time has become a very surly person. Mother has dies, dad left and grandfather (although rich) can be a real bastard. He expects everyone to bow to him. Maddie left because of MJ’s grandfather breaking MJ’s young heart which made him even angrier. Over time Maddie comes home to sort things out which cause friction. The old feelings are still there for each other. They never left but there are too many secrets.

    Ms. Maine gave us real characters that we immediately are drawn to. We step right into their lives wanting to help them. At times finding we want to smack them alongside the back of the head.

    Things are complicated as we delve deeper into MJ’s life. As the story unfolds we find MJ’s dad coming back into his life along with a whole group of other people to make his family just more complicated. But, if you are honest with yourself you realize that all families are complicated to some degree.

    Merrick steps into the role as MJ’s father wholeheartedly, and when things come to light you almost feel sorry for everyone involved.

    As we the reader travel down the twists and turns of this different story we can’t help but fall in love with the complicatedness of the realism that Ms. Maine has brought to life. She finds a way of turning what could have an ordinary story about love into a not so ordinary story been with intrigue, passion, romance and enough secrets to keep this fast paced story very real and entertaining. To say the least I am now off to read Taken and await the next story by Ms. Maine.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2014

    Could NOT put this one down

    These keep getting better and better! Beautifully written the suspense of what is to come next keeps you on the edge of your seat. I read this in a day can not wait for the next

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 20, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Anne Boling for Readers' Favorite Taken By Storm, b

    Reviewed by Anne Boling for Readers' Favorite

    Taken By Storm, by author Kelli Maine, is a passionate romance that revolves around Maddie Simcoe and MJ. They had a past; one of friendship that grew into deep desire. But Maddie broke MJ’s heart when she was forced to leave without telling him why. Although she was still in love with MJ, Maddie agreed to marry someone else. If she can’t have a marriage filled with breathtaking passion, at least she will have one filled with constancy and stability. When Maddie comes back to town, MJ is determined to show her what she missed out on and an engagement ring on her finger will not stop him. MJ has no idea of the shocking truth behind her decision to leave and stay away. 

    Kelli Maine knows how to make a relationship sizzle. There were sparks flying through the air between MJ and Maddie. I was so enraptured by the passion between them that I read this book in one setting. This is the second book in this series. I did not read the first one but had no trouble falling right into the storm. The author leaves the reader with an ending that hints at more books in this series. I was not familiar with the name Kelli Maine. Now that I am, her name will move to the top of my romance list. Kelli Maine is a very talented author, able to transition from past to present and back again smoothly. I liked Maddie mostly because she had spunk. She didn’t give in easily. MJ fits nicely with Maddie because he is strong enough to stand up to her and still love her with his whole heart. Well done, Kelli Maine.

    This review is of the audio format and read by Annie Green. Her voice adds just the right emotion at just the right time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2013

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2013

    Alexia

    When can we have a three.sum? I moan slightly

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 3, 2013

    This is MJ's and Maddie's story. Enzo, Merrick's evil father, ke

    This is MJ's and Maddie's story. Enzo, Merrick's evil father, kept MJ hidden for 20 years. This story is really good!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2013

    Excellent! Well written.  Characters and story well developed Ca

    Excellent!
    Well written.  Characters and story well developed Can't help but believe Enzo has more secrets and will continue to try to ruin them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2013

    Loved It!

    I love this series & can't wait for the next book. Highly recommend this series to anyone to read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2013

    This is the first Kelli Maine book that I have read.  I was impr

    This is the first Kelli Maine book that I have read.  I was impressed with the way this book was written.  I have had retention issues in the past and was not able to sit down with this book for any extended periods of time.  I found that the character and plot development was done in such a way that I remembered nearly every detail.  I was also concerned because I hadn't read any of the Give and Take books, but this book could easily be a stand alone.  I will definately be going back to read the others.  The book centers around MJ and Maddie's friendship/relationship.  They grew up together and were best friends.  Maddie was forced to leave by MJ's grandfather after she discovered a family secret and have no further contact with MJ with a threat that something would happen to her father if she did not comply.  MJ lost the love of his life without so much as a goodbye and becomes angry and destructive - both to himself and others.  When Maddie comes home (out of the blue) to contemplate a major life decision, MJ doesn't know what to do with himself and attempts to walk away from Maddie but force her to come after him.  There is a constant push/pull between these 2, and the strength of their emotions is clearly evident.  I was pulling for their relationship to succeed and for love to prevail in the end.  The big secret is eventually revealed by another party, and MJ's world as he knows it has been a total lie.  Despite the fact that Maddie never told him, she is the only one he has to lean on and is able to calm his fears and tension with dealing with his new life.  While there is an HEA, I suspect that there will probably be more to their story in a subsequent book.  I look forward to it and would recommend this book and author to my friends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    By: Kelli Maine Published By: K.M. Age Recommended: Adult Revi



    By: Kelli Maine
    Published By: K.M.
    Age Recommended: Adult
    Reviewed By: Arlena Dean
    Rating: 4
    Book Blog For: GMTA
    Series: Give & Take #2
    Review:

    "Taken By Storm" by Kelli Maine was the second in the series: 'Give & Take #2.'

    As this saga continues you will find that in this novel will be filled with "mysteries, deception, secrets and much danger. This was the story of MJ Rocah. Here is a little about what this series is about....

    "Book 2 in the Give & Take series follow the story of MJ Rocah. MJ has been living in a hidden world in and out of board schools being hidden away from his father. While he spent summers at the Rocah Estate he formed a friendship with Maddie Simcoe. Maddie and MJ formed a bond as children and it eventually turned into more. But like everyone in his life Maddie leaves, with no explanation and doesn't return..."

    What are the circumstances that are keeping Maddie and MJ apart? Maddie had left 'Turtle Tear Island and now she was back. Will these two be able to 'share the secrets and manage to get back together again? What will happen when Merrick finds out this secret? This is where I say you must read this good read "Taken By Storm" to see what all in going on this this tale. This will be a novel that will keep you guessing but in the end... The characters were all more or less very well developed in this turbulent ride only to want the next series.


    If you are in for a good read with some of it all...suspense and romance you have come to the right place for this series "Taken By Storm" would be recommended to you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2013

    Taken by Storm by Kelli Maine was at best, okay. I had been urge

    Taken by Storm by Kelli Maine was at best, okay. I had been urged by a few Kelli Maine friends to read her work and was hoping to be wowed. Sadly, and this could be because I haven't read the first book in the series, Give & Take, I was not. 
    Maddie and MJ had a history, one that had resulted in friendship, love and joy, but led to separation, sadness and a sense of betrayal; particularly on MJ's side. He didn't realise that Maddie continued to love him, but had been sworn away from him. 
    It seems that the patriarch of the Rocha family, Enzo, has been deceiving his entire family for many years. MJ was the secret child of Merrick, the Hero of the first book, Taken, and Gina, his deceased girlfriend. Maddie knows a secret, that could devastate her long-time love MJ. Fiercely loyal Maddie had left MJ to keep her father safe, despite breaking two hearts in the process. 
    Maine successfully delivered a story that was filled with angst, passion, and tortured characters. There was also a good dose of sexual chemistry, with a dash of sizzle. I liked the way the story was told, with touching glimpses of the past. I felt compelled to continue reading, but I just didn't feel connected to the characters, and found the secrets and lies a little unbelievable, and therefore, wasn't captivated. 
    For those who enjoy a light romance, with sordid mysteries to unravel, tension and sexy Hero's, I would recommend this series. It didn't grab me, but that's not to say it wouldn't be another's delight. 
    Thank you NetGalley for the provision of Taken by Storm in exchange for an honest review. No compensation was received for this review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2013

    Highly recommend

    great read. Very good story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2013

    Great

    Excellent! I loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3