Customer Reviews for

Taken by the Vampire King

Average Rating 4
( 40 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Henrik Magnusson is the Northern Warrior King, an elite albeit d

Henrik Magnusson is the Northern Warrior King, an elite albeit dwindling group of vampires warriors dedicated to protect the human race against the Soul Eaters. The Soul Eaters kill their pray by draining the blood of their victim until their heart stops beating, taking...
Henrik Magnusson is the Northern Warrior King, an elite albeit dwindling group of vampires warriors dedicated to protect the human race against the Soul Eaters. The Soul Eaters kill their pray by draining the blood of their victim until their heart stops beating, taking their souls in the process. Henrik has an even more dire situation, his immortal body is dying. Unable to find proffered blood to heal his immortal body, he's resigned to his fate. During a chance meeting at an art gallery, Henrik's fate changes in a way he never expected.

Kaira Sorensen is living her dream. Spending two years sacrificing every penny, her photographs are in an art exhibit she's worked hard to have displayed. Even as Kaira enjoys her new found success, she cannot escape her reality. Kaira has a rare blood cancer called Chronic Myelogenous Leukemia. Her illness has reached the chronic stage and she doesn't have much hope. Little does she know that her meeting with a mysterious man will be a game changer.

Laura Kaye writing has a way of grabbing you from the beginning and pulling you in. The chemistry between Henrik and Kaira is unmistakeable. Laura is fantastic at drawing you into these two characters personalities in such a short novella.

Henrik isn't your typical vampire warrior. He is still a physical force to be reckoned with, but his health is waning. When he realizes Kaira is the key to his health, he initially refuses to take her. He's selfless and wants her to live. As Henrik and Kaira come together, he still refuses to force her to be with him. Ultimately the choice is hers, letting her come to her own decision. I love that about Henrik! Laura's vampires have heart.

Laura's heroines are some of my very favorites. Kaira's character captured me immediately. Undeterred by her serious illness, she manages to persevere and make her dreams come true. I love that she isn't some weak, immature girl. Even with her young age, she's resilient and doesn't let obstacles stand in her way of her goals. No shrinking violets here! When Kaira find herself in a dangerous situation with Henrik and his uncontrolled urges, she strides ahead to help when she's clearly at risk. She doesn't let her fears stop her and I love that about her.

The sex factor is definitely 5 out of 5. Laura's always great at the sexual build up. Your really invested in the character's relationship by the time the deed is done.

"His hips flew, driving his cock into her slick channel over and over. She clutched and scratched and fisted at his back, her muscles writhing and alive with arousal. What he wouldn't have given to slow down, explore, savor. But he couldn't. Not when he hadn't felt the intense rush of male satisfaction in so long. Too long.
Just another thing Kaira Sorensen had done for him. The list was long, and he'd only known her for twenty-four hours. Now, he didn't know how he'd go on without her. Heat and energy pooled low in his belly. He drank her down in slow sucks, and her blood tasted familiar and right, like coming home after a long time away."

Mah Lawd! Laura always gets my lady parts revved up. She knows just what to say to get us all hot and bothered, even when a blood lusty vampire wants to suck you dry!

Taken by the Vampire King is one of my favorite paranormal romance reads. I eagerly anticipate each upcoming release and always want more when I'm finished reading. I give it 5 out of 5 stars! Review by Dee McGee - Booze, Bookz, and Bad Boyz

posted by DeeMcGee1 on August 1, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

80 Pages....REALLY 80 PAGES

Youbare goingbto charge 3 Dollars for 80 pages. Get a grip on reality that is ridicules.

posted by vstarlady on August 4, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2013

    Henrik Magnusson is the Northern Warrior King, an elite albeit d

    Henrik Magnusson is the Northern Warrior King, an elite albeit dwindling group of vampires warriors dedicated to protect the human race against the Soul Eaters. The Soul Eaters kill their pray by draining the blood of their victim until their heart stops beating, taking their souls in the process. Henrik has an even more dire situation, his immortal body is dying. Unable to find proffered blood to heal his immortal body, he's resigned to his fate. During a chance meeting at an art gallery, Henrik's fate changes in a way he never expected.

    Kaira Sorensen is living her dream. Spending two years sacrificing every penny, her photographs are in an art exhibit she's worked hard to have displayed. Even as Kaira enjoys her new found success, she cannot escape her reality. Kaira has a rare blood cancer called Chronic Myelogenous Leukemia. Her illness has reached the chronic stage and she doesn't have much hope. Little does she know that her meeting with a mysterious man will be a game changer.

    Laura Kaye writing has a way of grabbing you from the beginning and pulling you in. The chemistry between Henrik and Kaira is unmistakeable. Laura is fantastic at drawing you into these two characters personalities in such a short novella.

    Henrik isn't your typical vampire warrior. He is still a physical force to be reckoned with, but his health is waning. When he realizes Kaira is the key to his health, he initially refuses to take her. He's selfless and wants her to live. As Henrik and Kaira come together, he still refuses to force her to be with him. Ultimately the choice is hers, letting her come to her own decision. I love that about Henrik! Laura's vampires have heart.

    Laura's heroines are some of my very favorites. Kaira's character captured me immediately. Undeterred by her serious illness, she manages to persevere and make her dreams come true. I love that she isn't some weak, immature girl. Even with her young age, she's resilient and doesn't let obstacles stand in her way of her goals. No shrinking violets here! When Kaira find herself in a dangerous situation with Henrik and his uncontrolled urges, she strides ahead to help when she's clearly at risk. She doesn't let her fears stop her and I love that about her.

    The sex factor is definitely 5 out of 5. Laura's always great at the sexual build up. Your really invested in the character's relationship by the time the deed is done.

    "His hips flew, driving his cock into her slick channel over and over. She clutched and scratched and fisted at his back, her muscles writhing and alive with arousal. What he wouldn't have given to slow down, explore, savor. But he couldn't. Not when he hadn't felt the intense rush of male satisfaction in so long. Too long.
    Just another thing Kaira Sorensen had done for him. The list was long, and he'd only known her for twenty-four hours. Now, he didn't know how he'd go on without her. Heat and energy pooled low in his belly. He drank her down in slow sucks, and her blood tasted familiar and right, like coming home after a long time away."

    Mah Lawd! Laura always gets my lady parts revved up. She knows just what to say to get us all hot and bothered, even when a blood lusty vampire wants to suck you dry!

    Taken by the Vampire King is one of my favorite paranormal romance reads. I eagerly anticipate each upcoming release and always want more when I'm finished reading. I give it 5 out of 5 stars! Review by Dee McGee - Booze, Bookz, and Bad Boyz

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2014

    Dark

    Tell me emilee

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2014

    Aaron to regi

    Kill me plz

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2014

    Emilee

    Yes I do I cant hurt dark no more

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2014

    Res 10 for vampire rp

    Kaname

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2013

    Sick Henrik meets sick Kaira, can they help each other in the e

    Sick Henrik meets sick Kaira, can they help each other in the end. This is a wonderful love story that no matter what the odds love will did away. I love this series and cant wait to read more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2013

    Great short read. Great characters, steamy love scenes and a goo

    Great short read. Great characters, steamy love scenes and a good story besides. The best one so far. Loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2013

    I just finished Taken by the Vampire King and it was so good! Th

    I just finished Taken by the Vampire King and it was so good! These were really likeable characters, with a great story. Each had something that made them vulnerable but together they were strong. And the sex… steamy! I love every book that Laura writes, she puts so much emotion and feeling into her characters and her books grab you and pull you in. This book was just like that, I only wish it had been a full length novel. I’ve really enjoyed this series and I’m looking forward to reading the stories of the remaining Vampire Kings.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2013

    Anything Laura writes, I buy. I don't even read the reviews. Thi

    Anything Laura writes, I buy. I don't even read the reviews. This short is no exception. The only thing wrong with it is that's it needs to be longer! I can't wait for more in the Vampire Warrior Kings series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2013

    When reading Taken by the Vampire King, the third book in Laura

    When reading Taken by the Vampire King, the third book in Laura Kaye’s Vampire Warrior King Series, make sure you have
     AC on and maybe even a fan blowing on you while you read it! This novella is a can’t-put-down read and when I got to the end,
     I wanted MORE to magically appear…so I started to read it again! 

    I immediately felt drawn to the young but mature, delicate but strong Kaira. Even her name sounds romantic and her talent to
     capture auroras, especially violet auroras in her photographs and battle a life-threatening illness, melted my heart.  Enter Henrik, Vampire King
    of the Northern Vampires, a still tall, imposing vampire who also is ill and has aged in a way vampires do not age because of his illness.
     He experiences bouts of rage, until he can calm himself either on his own or with the help of his warrior brothers. Any virgin Proferred blood he
     drinks does not make him well. Now add Kaira, a virgin who did not know she had Proferred training as a very young girl, and with their separate
     illnesses, magic happens between them. The strength, gentleness, willingness to protect and fight for each other that develops, took my breath
     away and brought tears to my eyes. Auroras also play a part in their lives as their relationship develops.

     I wanted to “be” both characters so I could feel the trust and everlasting “forever love” that grew and would allow them to mate through their blood
     and love, if they could both trust one another. I fell in love with Kaira and with Henrik and even reading this novella a second time, I was still
    enraptured by Kaira and Henrik. You have to read it to feel and believe how wonderful it is to be loved by the meant-to-be-for-you vampire.
     You won’t stay calm inside!

    To experience more vampire hotness, read the first two novellas in this series, In the Service of the King and Seduced by the Vampire King.
    You will still need AC on while reading and you won’t be disappointed! Be still my beating heart!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2013

    Henrik Magnusson is dying and not even the virginal blood of the

    Henrik Magnusson is dying and not even the virginal blood of the Proffered—human women trained to serve the blood needs of the vampire warrior class—can save him. He needs a blood-match, his mate’s blood.
    Kaira Sorensen has CML—Chronic Myelogenous Leukemia, a rare, cancerous blood disease. (As an RN, I want to praise Ms. Kaye for the way she handled this medical condition in this book.) 
    This, the third in the Vampire Warrior King series, stands alongside its predecessors, IN THE SERVICE OF THE KING and SEDUCED BY THE VAMPIRE KING, as another 5-star read. An especially great twist to this book is the fact that Kaira is unaware that Vampires exist. Another great twist…Nope! Not going to spoil it for you! Trust me to say, you will be pleased!
    A short, very satisfying read that will touch your heart, tease your libido and leave you a very satisfied reader. Very well done, Laura!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1