Customer Reviews for

Takeoffs and Landings

Average Rating 4
( 11 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted October 3, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Very Interesting

    When I first saw this book, I expected it to be boring and nearly impossible to read, but when I actually got it and started to read, it was very interesting! I never thought that I would enjoy it, but I didn't put the book down till I got to the very ending

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    EXCELENT! :)

    This book was very impresive. Personoly i think this book has a message. The book would be Great for all ages. I think this book would be great for people who like air travel, travel and this author. When my son read this book he just loved it and never really let go of it.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2007

    Sad

    In the begging nothing cliked or inspired me to read on, but then snap... I could not stop reading this book. but then when it ended I realized that it was over, that quick.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2006

    Two thumbs up!

    ¿I read somewhere that takeoffs and landings are the most dangerous parts¿¿ Margaret Peterson Haddix, author of the bestselling Shadow Children sequence and Double Identity, a suspenseful science fiction thriller, has yet again completed a heartwarming novel called Takeoffs and Landings. As you turn the pages of this wonderful story, you take a peek into what daily life is like for the Lawson children without their father and mother. To these five children, especially the oldest two, life in Pickford County, Ohio, may never be the same. Since the death of their father, the distance between Lori and Chuck has been growing rapidly. For years, they lived as a peaceful, happy family, when suddenly, the loss of their father hit them like a ton of bricks. Lori and Chuck have never experienced life outside Pickford County. On the contrary, their mother found an unanticipated career as a motivational speaker and now travels all across the country. Chuck and Lori are as opposite as opposites could get. Pretty, popular Lori is as graceful as a swan- at least that¿s what everyone sees. The only one who can see through Lori for who she really is, is her mother. Chuck is fat and unpopular, and he knows it. As Haddix puts it, ¿The sun always shines on Lori. She walked on a path of light. Chuck crawled in the darkness, groping his way through the muck.¿ When their mother invites Chuck and Lori to go with her across the country, they soon realize that there is more to this trip than just sightseeing. It is a trip to learn secrets of the past, who their mother really is, and how she reacts to their father¿s death. Not only do they discover who their mom is, but most of all, they discover themselves. ¿How would you draw that- a smile that looks like tears?¿ Margaret Peterson Haddix¿s description of Lori, a self-conscious, realistic teen, and Chuck, an insecure, confused teen are unmatched in quality. From the thoughts that are running through their heads to their actions, Margaret Peterson Haddix makes these characters so alive that you can practically see them. This book is written in three different points of view: Lori¿s Chuck¿s, and their mother¿s. She shows the same event from a different perspective and you see how each character reacts to it. Takeoffs and Landings is a heartwarming, realistic fiction novel recommended for ages eleven and up. When you pick up this eye-catching book, you won¿t be able to unglue your eyes from the rich text. As you read chapter after chapter, Margaret Peterson Haddix explains in great detail the deep meaning of self-confidence, family, and love. This novel is definitely worth spending your money on.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2006

    Another great book from Haddix!

    OK, I wasn't going to read this book. I didn't even know about this book. There was an excerpt from Takeoffs and Landings in the book I was reading. I read the excerpt and I thought to myself, 'Wow, I need to read this book!' I got it and I read it. It was a wonderful book! The plot was so sad and heartbreaking, but in the end the way that everybody changes---it is just amazing. It showed how one simple word, one simple action can be veiwed in so many ways. I loved that. I didn't realize it, but it happens everyday. This is a great read for pre-teens/teens! I loved this book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2005

    Takeoffs and Landings was really good

    This book was really good. I liked how it showed the different points of view and also how it showed not to judge a book by its cover. I really liked it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2002

    great!

    This was a good book!I liked how it showed everyone's point of view.Another good book from Margaret Peterson Haddix.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2013

    T & L

    Not very exciting. Dont realy like it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2003

    Takeoffs and Landings

    I thought this was a great book for a teenager to read. If you are in the same situation as chuck and lori it may be a little harder. This book is a quick read for most people.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1