Customer Reviews for

The Taking

Average Rating 4
( 291 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(136)

4 Star

(52)

3 Star

(49)

2 Star

(32)

1 Star

(22)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

If You Only Read One Dean Koontz Book, Read This One

I picked up The Taking because the synopsis intrigued me. As I started reading, I thought, "OK. This is horror." As I continued and the plot developed, I thought, "No, this is science fiction." By the end of the book, I decided it was something entirely different, a...
I picked up The Taking because the synopsis intrigued me. As I started reading, I thought, "OK. This is horror." As I continued and the plot developed, I thought, "No, this is science fiction." By the end of the book, I decided it was something entirely different, and that it really doesn't fit just one genre. I then demanded my husband read it so we could discuss it. He did, and we had wonderful conversations as he progressed through the book.

As a result of reading The Taking, I began a quest to read as much of Dean Koontz as I can get my hands on. At last count, I think I'm up to 47 books. I have a long way to go, and as prolific a writer as he is, I may never catch up. That is a marvelous problem to have.

Read this book if you are on a spiritual journey. Share this book to discuss it with friends. It could change the way you view life.

posted by pandacheri on May 14, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Talking Heads? Really?

The last Koontz book I read was Odd Thomas and I must say, it was a delight. Having been a Koontz fan since my teens, I looked forward to getting back to see what Dean had up his sleeve. Did Dean really write this? Nothing about this book makes me want to turn the page....
The last Koontz book I read was Odd Thomas and I must say, it was a delight. Having been a Koontz fan since my teens, I looked forward to getting back to see what Dean had up his sleeve. Did Dean really write this? Nothing about this book makes me want to turn the page. The story is dated. The characters are weak at best. The descriptions are warn and tired.

I'm 80% finished with it so I guess I'll just solider on and finish it but its been over a month and I've read 3 other books while trying to get this out the way.

posted by Deke218 on September 8, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 293 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 15
  • Posted May 14, 2010

    If You Only Read One Dean Koontz Book, Read This One

    I picked up The Taking because the synopsis intrigued me. As I started reading, I thought, "OK. This is horror." As I continued and the plot developed, I thought, "No, this is science fiction." By the end of the book, I decided it was something entirely different, and that it really doesn't fit just one genre. I then demanded my husband read it so we could discuss it. He did, and we had wonderful conversations as he progressed through the book.

    As a result of reading The Taking, I began a quest to read as much of Dean Koontz as I can get my hands on. At last count, I think I'm up to 47 books. I have a long way to go, and as prolific a writer as he is, I may never catch up. That is a marvelous problem to have.

    Read this book if you are on a spiritual journey. Share this book to discuss it with friends. It could change the way you view life.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Gotta Read!

    When I first started this book, I wasn't sure if I'd really enjoy it as much as I enjoy all of Koontz's others. I've never been one to really enjoy an alien invasion themed plot, but I have to admit that I was hooked into the story almost immediately. Leave it to Koontz to make me want to read a story about a topic I usually avoid.
    By the last page, which I reached in record time, I put the book down and had a hearty laugh because my perception of the whole story felt askew. This review may be a little confusing, but once you've read the book you'll understand why. I was so surprised at the ending that frankly, I wanted to read the book again just to put the puzzle pieces together a little earlier.
    As with most of Koontz's work, I can't recommend this enough!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2007

    Very scary!

    This book was a roller coaster ride of fear! It kept me interested and on my toes. I really thought it was very unnerving! Great read!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2010

    Talking Heads? Really?

    The last Koontz book I read was Odd Thomas and I must say, it was a delight. Having been a Koontz fan since my teens, I looked forward to getting back to see what Dean had up his sleeve. Did Dean really write this? Nothing about this book makes me want to turn the page. The story is dated. The characters are weak at best. The descriptions are warn and tired.

    I'm 80% finished with it so I guess I'll just solider on and finish it but its been over a month and I've read 3 other books while trying to get this out the way.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2011

    not the greatest

    dean koontz is a good author,but i found myself skimming through the chapters

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 15, 2010

    Blah

    2 stars, This is a slow read I wanted it to be over by the 3rd chapter and hoped it would get better.. It didn't. Koontz is a great writer but this book did nothing for me.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Not worth reading

    I love reading Dean Koontz. I didn't enjoy this book at all. I continued reading this book because I was hoping it would have a great ending. It did not. I wouldn't tell a friend of mine to read this one. Sorry.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2008

    It got too scary!!!!

    If you like scary books then this is just for you. I couldn¿t sleep for a week after I stopped reading it. This book is sooooo good I couldn¿t finish it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2004

    A bad Sci-fi B Movie

    That's what it felt like reading this book. I usually love Koontz writing, but I expected the 'Blob' to come around the corner at any moment or a 'Killer Tomato'. I loved, Odd Thomas, and per the write up for this I thought it would blow me away, nada, didn't happen.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2013

    ALIEN INVASION VS RAPTURE

    In my opinion, this is Dean Koontz in top form. If you want a creepy horror story which lacks substance in favor of gore and does not have you guessing what the heck is going on in the story, this book is NOT for you.

    That being said, The Taking blends horror and thriller into a soupy mix of science fiction, mystery and spirituality which will leave you confused as to what exactly is going on.... Until the end of the book, when the full plot of the story is revealed and leaves you with a blown mind!

    One of my favorite books from my favorite author. :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2012

    Nothing special

    I have read many Dean Koontz books and have had a hard time putting them down. This one, however, was not one of them. I found myself rushing through just so i could finish it. The reviews made it seem worth reading, but i was disappointed.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A reawaking

    This is a great book it will keep you guessing up until the ending which is not what will think at first. The characters Neil and Molly are just like the couple next door they really step-up to the bat, and you care what happens to them. As always expected of Dean Koontz this is a keeper

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2014

    Ehhh..

    Its hard to get sucked inti the book with so many descriptions in the begining. I found myself skimming the chapter hurridly just so i could finish this book! Dean koontz is a great auther but u belive he couldve done better on this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2013

    Loved this one

    One of his best

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2013

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Worst Koontz ever

    This was the worst, most ridiculous, and total waste of time, I have ever read coming from Koontz. I will never purchase one of his books again.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2012

    Could not put this book down!

    I had to sleep with the lights on, enough said!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2012

    Spooky stuff

    Dean Koontz reeled me in with his masterful use of word imagery and suspense in the first parts of this book. Admittedly, I was drawn in deeper and deeper until I was literally terrified while reading chapter after chapter. But as the book progressed, it became evident to me that the religious overtones were getting stronger and stronger. I don't mind reading pieces where the author quotes scriptures throughout dialogue and weaves it into his plot, but it became excruciating for me. By the end of the book, I felt as dirty as Molly did after she stepped off the porch and into the rain. I felt soiled by Koontz's twisted writer's mind. But then again, I think that is the goal of the story!!

    He did a marvelous job in creating enough suspense and supernatural terror to scare the pants off a seasoned reader.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2012

    My all-time fav

    I owned the paperback version of this book and it started my love for end-of-the-world books. One of his best yet.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2014

    One of the best books I have read

    Super scary,creative, philosophical, and creepy. Terrific ending! You will never forget this story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 293 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 15