Customer Reviews for

The Taking

Average Rating 4
( 291 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(136)

4 Star

(52)

3 Star

(49)

2 Star

(32)

1 Star

(22)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

If You Only Read One Dean Koontz Book, Read This One

I picked up The Taking because the synopsis intrigued me. As I started reading, I thought, "OK. This is horror." As I continued and the plot developed, I thought, "No, this is science fiction." By the end of the book, I decided it was something entirely different, a...
I picked up The Taking because the synopsis intrigued me. As I started reading, I thought, "OK. This is horror." As I continued and the plot developed, I thought, "No, this is science fiction." By the end of the book, I decided it was something entirely different, and that it really doesn't fit just one genre. I then demanded my husband read it so we could discuss it. He did, and we had wonderful conversations as he progressed through the book.

As a result of reading The Taking, I began a quest to read as much of Dean Koontz as I can get my hands on. At last count, I think I'm up to 47 books. I have a long way to go, and as prolific a writer as he is, I may never catch up. That is a marvelous problem to have.

Read this book if you are on a spiritual journey. Share this book to discuss it with friends. It could change the way you view life.

posted by pandacheri on May 14, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Talking Heads? Really?

The last Koontz book I read was Odd Thomas and I must say, it was a delight. Having been a Koontz fan since my teens, I looked forward to getting back to see what Dean had up his sleeve. Did Dean really write this? Nothing about this book makes me want to turn the page....
The last Koontz book I read was Odd Thomas and I must say, it was a delight. Having been a Koontz fan since my teens, I looked forward to getting back to see what Dean had up his sleeve. Did Dean really write this? Nothing about this book makes me want to turn the page. The story is dated. The characters are weak at best. The descriptions are warn and tired.

I'm 80% finished with it so I guess I'll just solider on and finish it but its been over a month and I've read 3 other books while trying to get this out the way.

posted by Deke218 on September 8, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2008

    It got too scary!!!!

    If you like scary books then this is just for you. I couldn¿t sleep for a week after I stopped reading it. This book is sooooo good I couldn¿t finish it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2012

    Spooky stuff

    Dean Koontz reeled me in with his masterful use of word imagery and suspense in the first parts of this book. Admittedly, I was drawn in deeper and deeper until I was literally terrified while reading chapter after chapter. But as the book progressed, it became evident to me that the religious overtones were getting stronger and stronger. I don't mind reading pieces where the author quotes scriptures throughout dialogue and weaves it into his plot, but it became excruciating for me. By the end of the book, I felt as dirty as Molly did after she stepped off the porch and into the rain. I felt soiled by Koontz's twisted writer's mind. But then again, I think that is the goal of the story!!

    He did a marvelous job in creating enough suspense and supernatural terror to scare the pants off a seasoned reader.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    Great book.

    Love it so far. Starting chapter 4.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2008

    A reviewer

    I have read a number of Koontz books and one thing I real like about his writing is that the ending is usually full of twists and turns. This one was no exception. I can't stand a book that I can figure the ending out with 20 or more pages left. I didn't see the ending of this one coming- at least not the reasoning behind the ending. I actually listened to this book on audio tape while driving across a couple of states. I swear I got so into it I nearly got a speeding ticket. It does leave you thinking a little more about life and feeling a little bit unsettled. Not a feel good book but I good read and a great adventure that kept me on the edge of my seat.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2008

    Great Book

    This book is very wierd, but in a good way. Everything that happens is a mystery and there is always some new creepy thing to wonder about. I love this book and I am re-reading it right now.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2007

    I Thought It was a good book

    I thought the book took a little long to get to the point, but once it got there it was a very good read. I would recommend it to other people.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2007

    Great book but the audio version is horrible

    The story itself is good but Ari Meyer's reading of it pretty much ruins it. Her voice is fine when shes just narrating, but she tries to change her voice for other characters and its just awful. Theres even a part where she does the voice of a doll and its literally painful to listen. I mean that. Her high pitched, whiney little voice actually hurt my ears. I had to fast forward through those parts. Theres also a part where she voices an alien and rather than sounding menacing, she just sounds plain old silly. Bad choice for narration. Good story though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2007

    Actually, worth the time.

    Okay, so The Taking was not Koontz best, but it sure was a heck of a story. The beginning was pretty draggy but I decided to keep on reading and I'm glad I did. Koontz always has a way to get a message across. He has the writing of a poet but not in a romantic way as many people usually view poets. I give major kudos for Koontz trying something new and stepping outside his routine 'thrillers'. Whatever it is that he does to write books, I hope he keeps on doing it and in his same compelling ways.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2007

    Great Read!!!

    I am quite surprised by the negative reviews people have left. While it is not Koontz's best book, it is a very good one. It starts out great and provides the reader with suspense. I would definitely recommend this book to all Dean Koontz fans!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2005

    not too bad!

    I loved the beggining and the end, but in a middle the author seemed to have difficulty getting his point out. This book got me intrigued and scared so i actually jumped from my seat when a phone rang. A good summer read...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2005

    Fast off the line, slow down the stretch.

    The first half of this book had me mesmerized. Then what happened? The story started to get way off track. It lacked effort and seemed rushed. It had the makings for a great novel however, it turned out to just an average read. I was very entertained through the first half of the book and it had a decent ending. Oh but the potenial it had....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2005

    Great story and characters, but could have had a better ending

    The Taking started suspensfully with the coyotes, but in the middle it just seemed to drag on like a turtle in a sea of peanut butter, but after they arrived in the town the suspense picked back up and never relented. I must say the ending could have been developed better. It was like he just wanted to be done.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2004

    If you liked 'Intensity' you'll like 'THE TAKING'

    Koontz is back and right on target with this super natural thriller. The book has that start out night of terror feel like 'Intensity', but with a less than perfect ending. Thus 4 instead of 5 stars from me. It's exciting and a page turner that also takes you into the depths of soul, power and over coming fear. Nice quick chapter's and less of that on going rambling as we saw in last year's 'The Face'. I reccomend 'THE TAKING' and enjoyed this read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2004

    fanastic read

    I thought The Taking was very well written and out of the many Koontz books I have read, one of my favorites. The style was a bit out of character than the others, but thats what I liked most about it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2004

    Heart-Warming Ending

    For the first 100 pages or so this book was actually starting to scare me. Throughout the book it kind of looses its edge but the ending, I think, makes it worth the read. It was a new side of Koontz that I had never seen before. It's worth the read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2004

    Good

    There was a good concept, and it is well-written. Lack of a climax, but for this story, one really wasn't required. Overall it is a good book and I recommend it to any Koontz fan

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2004

    Another great read.

    I am never dissapointed by Dean Koontz - they always leave me with a feeling of hope. Only slightly less enjoyable than 'The Face' and 'Odd Thomas', but still great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2004

    Hooked from the beginning! Scary!

    This book had me hooked from the beginning to end! I loved being terrified of the 'Them'. I just finished another book that had me by the throat form the beginning to the end EVIL DEBTS by Terse Skirritt. You think 'Them' is scary try meeting The Unseen One In EVIL DEBTS-that's one character who I would not like to meet-Try reading both of these books and see if you agree!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2004

    An interesting take on Armageddon

    I haven't been a big fan of Koontz in the past few years - the cookie cutter style of pounding out novel after novel makes for some poor, uninspired reads. However, 'Odd Thomas' was good, and I normally dislike first person narratives. It was on this glimmer of hope I bought 'The Taking' - and I'm glad to say I wasn't dissappointed. VERY fast paced, a quick book you'll want to devour in a day (But I suggest you save it for a dark and stormy night, near a window listening to the rain fall, for added effect).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3