Customer Reviews for

The Taking

Average Rating 4
( 291 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(136)

4 Star

(52)

3 Star

(49)

2 Star

(32)

1 Star

(22)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

16 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

If You Only Read One Dean Koontz Book, Read This One

I picked up The Taking because the synopsis intrigued me. As I started reading, I thought, "OK. This is horror." As I continued and the plot developed, I thought, "No, this is science fiction." By the end of the book, I decided it was something entirely different, a...
I picked up The Taking because the synopsis intrigued me. As I started reading, I thought, "OK. This is horror." As I continued and the plot developed, I thought, "No, this is science fiction." By the end of the book, I decided it was something entirely different, and that it really doesn't fit just one genre. I then demanded my husband read it so we could discuss it. He did, and we had wonderful conversations as he progressed through the book.

As a result of reading The Taking, I began a quest to read as much of Dean Koontz as I can get my hands on. At last count, I think I'm up to 47 books. I have a long way to go, and as prolific a writer as he is, I may never catch up. That is a marvelous problem to have.

Read this book if you are on a spiritual journey. Share this book to discuss it with friends. It could change the way you view life.

posted by pandacheri on May 14, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Talking Heads? Really?

The last Koontz book I read was Odd Thomas and I must say, it was a delight. Having been a Koontz fan since my teens, I looked forward to getting back to see what Dean had up his sleeve. Did Dean really write this? Nothing about this book makes me want to turn the page....
The last Koontz book I read was Odd Thomas and I must say, it was a delight. Having been a Koontz fan since my teens, I looked forward to getting back to see what Dean had up his sleeve. Did Dean really write this? Nothing about this book makes me want to turn the page. The story is dated. The characters are weak at best. The descriptions are warn and tired.

I'm 80% finished with it so I guess I'll just solider on and finish it but its been over a month and I've read 3 other books while trying to get this out the way.

posted by Deke218 on September 8, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 293 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 15
  • Posted April 16, 2011

    love to reread

    i love this book. one if my favorites from koontz. the way he explores the darkness inside people, the worse monsters we coud imagine but unfailing belief in the innate good givea us the evil we get excited to explore but an unlikely hero to identify with is what keeps me coming back.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2011

    loved it!

    I loved this it took me back to the great suspense and twisting plots of his earlier work! A must read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2011

    Awesome!

    I found this book to be slowly suspenseful and just the right amount of creepy. Did not see that ending coming.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2014

    Ehhh..

    Its hard to get sucked inti the book with so many descriptions in the begining. I found myself skimming the chapter hurridly just so i could finish this book! Dean koontz is a great auther but u belive he couldve done better on this book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2013

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Worst Koontz ever

    This was the worst, most ridiculous, and total waste of time, I have ever read coming from Koontz. I will never purchase one of his books again.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2012

    Spooky stuff

    Dean Koontz reeled me in with his masterful use of word imagery and suspense in the first parts of this book. Admittedly, I was drawn in deeper and deeper until I was literally terrified while reading chapter after chapter. But as the book progressed, it became evident to me that the religious overtones were getting stronger and stronger. I don't mind reading pieces where the author quotes scriptures throughout dialogue and weaves it into his plot, but it became excruciating for me. By the end of the book, I felt as dirty as Molly did after she stepped off the porch and into the rain. I felt soiled by Koontz's twisted writer's mind. But then again, I think that is the goal of the story!!

    He did a marvelous job in creating enough suspense and supernatural terror to scare the pants off a seasoned reader.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    Great book.

    Love it so far. Starting chapter 4.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2011

    !!!

    My first Koontz book. I was not dissapointed. Not only is it scary, but it's clever. And I find it hard to imagine a man like Dean Koontz, or someone like Stephen King, to still be clever after so many books. Well he does it. I will certainly try and read more of his stuff.
    SPOILER!!!! SPOILER!!!! SPOILER!!!!
    I know that many people didn't like the ending, well I liked it just fine. I'm not a religious man, so at first I was a little iffy about it, but I faired just fine. Well it turns out (this is the spoiler) that the force that killed everybody, whom everyone thought were aliens, actually turned out to be the devil, cleansing the earth of all its evil. She compared ti to the story of Noahs ark. I liked the ending, it's clever and smart, unlike many book endings these days.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2011

    slow read

    Too much discription! I skimmed page after page looking for substance! I gave up.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Very good work

    I loved the way this book ends. Mr Koontz is a genius!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2011

    number1

    best book of his career

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2011

    Fast and excellent start - Sci fi middle - religious ending

    Overall, I enjoyed the book. The first 100 pages were excellent. The middle got a little too sci fi for me and the ending was about where I was expecting it to go. This is Dean's version of the rapture - Mankind starting over with "hope".

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 21, 2010

    Spectacular Story!

    This is another one of Koontz greatest! This was my third book by Koontz and I must tell you, I think it is one of his best works! I couldn't put this book down, I read it all in one night! I loved it! Koontz is the best!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Terrific Ride!!!

    Perfect Koontz! Grabs you from the beginning and doesn't let go until you've read the last word...suspense, action, horror; this book has it all. Fast paced and the mystery never stops until the final climax...read it and find out! Great job Mr. Koontz!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    AWESOME!

    I read this book in TWO DAYS!...It is awesome..would love to see this as a movie! Koontz does it again!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Wow!!

    This is my first book that I've read from Dean Koontz and I thought it was very clever! Had me guessing about what was happening til the very end!!! Loved the ending!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2009

    Thrilling!!

    I picked this book on accident from my friends bookshelf and ended up LOVING the book. I dont typically read thriller/horror books but this one was amazing!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The Taking

    Few writers are able to - or even try to - mix genres. Dean Koontz excells at this endevour time and time again. Sci/Fi, Horror, Humor, Romance, Spiritualism can all be found in The Taking, one of the most interesting fast-paced thrillers in quite awhile. On the offset it appears that aliens are invading earth, but as usual in a Koontz tale, nothing is as it seems and the truth is by far more intriguing. No cliches here, just a wonderful, relentless story of a couple dealing with the strange occurances that are plaguing their town. Koontz creates some jarringly gory scenes and terrifying encounters with "something" while maintaining decent character developement. His beautiful lyrical writing style adds depth to what would otherwise be a been there, done that kind of tale. His use of T.S.Elliot poetry at each section entry point lends even more literary flair to this harrowing book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    My favorite Koontz

    You think you know what to expect but you don't. You don't even see it coming. This is my all time favorite Koontz book. You are easily able to empathize with the main characters and understand their inner conflict. I reccomend this book to anyone who is looking for something out of the ordinary that will make you think and is also looking for a scare.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 293 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 15