Customer Reviews for

Taking Chances

Average Rating 4
( 16 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Celine is back but is she desperate?

    The TV production of "Taking Chances" was not good - the song itself was not good and as much as Celine tried to make it good it is not. I also watched the TV special with Josh Groban and David Foster et al. Celine has not come down from her performing in Las Vegas as the special was certainly full of energy - but energy expected in Las Vegas not all over the country on a Friday night. I do not understand her choice of songs as some do not highlight her voice at all and that is unfortunate. After her run in Las Vegas she will get her land legs again but it may take a while.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Another Beautiful album by Celine Dion.

    Celine Dion is the most beautiful artist of all time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    In all sincerity, WHAT HAPPENED?

    For years, Celine Dion stood apart from the rest of the mainstream pop community that resurged as teen pop back in the mid-90s - with a conventional yet stunning soft pop sound with a touch of muzak and some of the best songs of the time. And once 'A New Day Has Come' was released at the turn of the millennium, her fans had high hopes that she would continue to stand apart with the same kind of soft pop she always did.

    However, although she did well with lighter versions of teen pop on 'All the Way,' the aforementioned ANDHC, and 'One Heart' (which was a well-done mix of hard dance-rock and mainstream AC) before attempting non-operatic classical crossover on 'Miracle,' 'Taking Chances' seems to be the least engaging album Ms. Dion has ever released. It can only be defined as talent unjustly wasted on material that puts her down there with yesterday's Backstreet Boys, Jennifer Lopez, Britney Spears, and N Sync, and today's Beyonce, Rihanna, Miley Cyrus, and the like.

    Don't get me wrong; I don't have anything against changes in musical style. However, very few of the songs here are even listenable, let alone enjoyable. These are the title track ('Taking Chances'), 'Eyes on Me,' and 'A World to Believe In.' All of the other songs don't quite make for the 'good comeback' professional reviewers have said it was.

    Better recent Celine albums are 'D'elles,' 'Complete Best,' and 'My Love: Ultimate Essential Collection.' 'Taking Chances' is for die-hard Celine fans only.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Pitiful and not worth buying

    There was not a single song on the CD that I liked. I am used to loving all of her CDs but this has got to be the worst ever! What a waste of her talent!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Celine's #1 Fan!

    I love how Celine "took chances" and I could really tell that she had fun recording this album. It's much different from any of her previous releases. I loved it and just can't stop listening to it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Celine does it again

    I feel like I've been waiting eternities for a new CD from Celine....and the wait was worth it! She has a powerful and inspirational voice and she shows it in many ranges on this CD. It's edgier than what she's done in the past, and it ROCKS! A must have for any Celine fan.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    ANOTHER GREAT CD FROM CELINE

    I cannot imagine disliking ANYTHING from Celine. She like wine is getting better with time. She will be a STAR as long as she wants to be a STAR. I can recommend this album without any reservation....and also every other one....because I have them....and will always be a Celine Dion fan....!!!! Celine...YOU ARE A STAR....and I LOVE YOU.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    OMG This is the best album Celine has ever done.....

    Omg i just love this album i,ve seen the recording sessions from it and so far she totally rocks. Celines voice is raw, raspy,powerful and crystal clear too she can sing anything she wants and belt out outstanding high notes that nobody can emulate. Celine is the world´s greatest female singer in recording history and this album will bring her back were she belongs at the top off the charts.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A reviewer

    Celine Dion is the shiznitt. She is undisputably the Queen of Perfection & Purity in the music business. NO ONE can match her gorgeous voice. Whitney Houston may have given Celine Dion a run for the money, but Celine & Whitney have definitely made different choices in life. Result: Celine is still GORGEOUS and at the top of her game. Whitney: not so much. "Taking Chances" is kind of a big tease, though. It is only a TASTE of what Celine Dion could become, if she really let go and embraced rock n' roll. Celine Dion -- for better or worse -- is the most insulated person in the music industry, thanks to her 100yr old husband. She's a golden bird in a gilded cage, and he makes damn sure that he holds every key. I wish Celine every happiness, but the mind reels at what amazing music she could make if she had TOTAL artistic freedom, if you catch my drift.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    RESERVING FINAL JUDGEMENT

    I have not bought this CD yet so I will reserve my final judgement for later...BUT, I saw Celine Dion perform the song "Taking Chances" on TV yesterday and I hate to say I thought it was the worst song I have ever heard her sing. Her voice was spectacular as always, but the song just was REALLY BAD. It was almost painful to watch her sing it. Hopefully, the rest of the CD is good. I really do love Celine!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    onething about celin is that she does it right.

    I and my feincee have choosing one of the titles for our wedding. Celine sings not just music she touches the heart the soul and the mind may the love of jesus christ be upon her and her family .Your life style should be what every holy wood should copy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1