Customer Reviews for

Taking Eve (Eve Duncan Series #16)

Average Rating 3.5
( 133 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(55)

4 Star

(22)

3 Star

(24)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(27)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Wow

Wow

posted by Anonymous on April 16, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

15 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

HALF BOOK. DON'T BUY.

While the partial story might read well, its just setting everything up for the next book. No complete story at all. I hope people scan the reviews so they know better. I just made the mistake of buying it because I liked the Eve books. I wished I had read about it firs...
While the partial story might read well, its just setting everything up for the next book. No complete story at all. I hope people scan the reviews so they know better. I just made the mistake of buying it because I liked the Eve books. I wished I had read about it first.

How greedy can you get. Pretty bad of you! I will not be getting anymore of your books unless you make it free the next time for tricking people into buying this one.

Pure greediness.

posted by 18293349 on May 6, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2013

    HALF BOOK. DON'T BUY.

    While the partial story might read well, its just setting everything up for the next book. No complete story at all. I hope people scan the reviews so they know better. I just made the mistake of buying it because I liked the Eve books. I wished I had read about it first.

    How greedy can you get. Pretty bad of you! I will not be getting anymore of your books unless you make it free the next time for tricking people into buying this one.

    Pure greediness.

    15 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2013

    Do NOT buy this book

    I have read all the books in this series. I thought that she was finished with it, but when this was available I preordered it. After reading the book, (which was only plodding along) the end finally came. BUT it is not an end at all. The book just stops with an advertisement for the next half of the book which will be out later this year! WHAT????? If I was not reading it on Nook, I would have ripped the book in half and thrown it.

    Since when are we going to be given half a book at a time without being told in advance? This is a huge rip-off. I am going to avoid buying any books published by this company. If I want to read them I will check it out at the library, but I will not support this BS. Do not waste your money...who wants half a story.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 1, 2013

    I have enjoyed the previous Eve books, but so far (I am only a f

    I have enjoyed the previous Eve books, but so far (I am only a few chapters in) this one seems to wander all over the place, it is hard to follow.  I almost seems like it was written by someone else and Johansen just signed her name to it.  Also, something is wrong with the font size in the edition I bought, so I returned it.  Customer service said the book will be reissued with proper font size.  

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2013

    So stinking SLOW!!!

    This is the first book I've tried to read by this author and didn't know there were other books in this series (or that this was a series at all). Whatever happened to really good stand-alone books?

    I'd also love to know why it is so difficult for Barnes and Noble and Amazon to accurately describe a book. Genre would be great...most of the books I've read on either Nook or Kindle have an industry standard "card catalog"? Is it too much to have a standardized listing of:
    Number of pages
    File Size
    Genre
    Publishing Date
    Date first version published

    Take some lesson's from an antiquated library!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2013

    Fail

    This book is missing a very important part, an ending. It's as if Ms. Johansen tired of writing the book and failed to tie up several integeral parts of the story. I was very dissapointed.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2013

    Anonymous

    Repetitive, pointless, artless. I expected better from this author. Don't bother with this one.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 3, 2013

    I will not read any more Iris Johansen books after this series.

    I will not read any more Iris Johansen books after this series.  The writing is horrid, not the story line.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2013

    Rip off

    I've enjoyed previous Johansen books but this non-ending is ridiculous. The rest of the series should be available at no charge. I won't be buying anymore of her books. Shame on you.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2013

    Awful

    So boring I can't finish book

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2013

    Do' Don't bother

    This series is so predictable

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2013

    Don't waste your money

    Weak plot, very sappy. Joe loves eve, eve loves joe, jane loves eve and joe. Jane has two strange guys hanging around. Shallow characters, really disappointed, I have read all the eve duncan books, this will be my last.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2013

    Kimberly b.

    Rdrfgshjh

    1 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2014

    Glad reviews saved from a contined

    There is a worse one went on five books

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 29, 2013

    this is a wordy piece of junk I really liked her earlier wor

    this is a wordy piece of junk I really liked her earlier work no way will I buy hunting eve this was awful

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2013

    Very Disappointing

    This book almost seems to be written by another author. The plot, if one can call it that, just wanders and becomes more unbelievable with each chapter and new character.

    Add to that the constant overuse of the possessive pronouns when referring to people, such as "my Eve" and "your Kevin" and the book becomes trite.

    The ending isn't the end at all. It is a "to be continued"
    gambit.

    Save your money. I can not believe Johanssen wrote this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2013

    Not good

    I love this author and thought i was the only one who felt this book was sorry. Guess not

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2013

    Overpriced cliffhanger

    $30, give or take, for ONE story but broken into three short stories is pure GREED!!!!! I've never been let down by the author until getting sucked into this book. I always try to support authors by purchasing ebooks or paperbacks (I built up quite a collection prior to ereader technology) but after this blatant show of greed I will just go to the library to finish the "trilogy." Sorry Ms Johansen, while you may be a great writer you do not know the true meaning of trilogy. Stop ripping off your readers :(

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2013

    I couldn't finish this book. I forced myself to read the first

    I couldn't finish this book. I forced myself to read the first 100 pages then had to stop. The writing is horrible.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2013

    Not worth the time!

    This is the last book of her's I will buy!!! With ebooks, todays writers are turning out junk! I was disappointed with the last trilogy, this one is shaping up to be worse! This book was a waste of time and money! How sad good writers have lost their skills and goals, and just crank out this trash. Good bye Iris!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2