Customer Reviews for

Taking Eve (Eve Duncan Series #16)

Average Rating 3.5
( 135 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(57)

4 Star

(22)

3 Star

(24)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(27)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Wow

Wow

posted by Anonymous on April 16, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

15 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

HALF BOOK. DON'T BUY.

While the partial story might read well, its just setting everything up for the next book. No complete story at all. I hope people scan the reviews so they know better. I just made the mistake of buying it because I liked the Eve books. I wished I had read about it firs...
While the partial story might read well, its just setting everything up for the next book. No complete story at all. I hope people scan the reviews so they know better. I just made the mistake of buying it because I liked the Eve books. I wished I had read about it first.

How greedy can you get. Pretty bad of you! I will not be getting anymore of your books unless you make it free the next time for tricking people into buying this one.

Pure greediness.

posted by 18293349 on May 6, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted April 29, 2013

    I love reading Iris Johansen books, but this wasn't quite fair.

    I love reading Iris Johansen books, but this wasn't quite fair.  If you have to buy all 3 to finish the book.  It makes it really cost more like $20.00 some dollars, which is high.  I didn't like how it left me hanging in mid air.  It's a really good book, just shouldn't have been broken into 3 pieces.  Not fair.

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2013

    Good, but somewhat disappointed...

    I have read every book in the Eve Duncan series. I was so excited when I found out about this trilogy. I have to say though that I was a bit disappointed. I've always had a hard time putting her books down once I get started, but this one didn't grab me as all of the others did, and some of the wording was repetitive. I hate to be critical because she is one of my favorites. It was good, just not great. I guess my expectations were high since the other books in the series have all been great. I'm hoping that Hunting Eve will be more along the lines of what she's written in the past.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2013

    story line is good.. dialog is nothing people in real life would

    story line is good.. dialog is nothing people in real life would have.. kinda repetitive and down right silly at times I found it boring and did as best as I could to finish the book.. its no where as good as thew past books have been.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2013

    Entertaining

    I enjoy reading her books, but I felt it left you hanging. It will be necessary to read the trilogy. She is entertaining. However I feel she should have complete it in this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2013

    Would recommend

    I'm an avid Iris Johansen reader and love all her books. This book is no different in her style of writing and keeping you guessing and intersted in the story. I was however very disappointed in the ending of the book. Very unhappy at the way it just left the reader hanging out there until the next installment which won't come for several months.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2013

    Good, but not great

    We like reading Iris Johansen, but not sure that three books are worthwhile with this story line. Seems to be stretching it out a bit. They seem to be formulaic - something always happens to Eve and Joe always finds her. Will read the next two, but not a priority with other authors with more depth out there.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2013

    I've been reading Iris Johansen's books since her first one.  I

    I've been reading Iris Johansen's books since her first one.  I have always loved her books.  I am disappointed with this one.  She leaves you hanging.  It's different than her other books in that she leaves you hanging.  I realize it's because there are 2 other books coming, but I'm not sure I'll buy the others.  I feel like she is leading up to killing off a central character.  I generally drop authors that do that.  I can only hope I'm wrong.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2013

    good

    I like this author, Eve & the people around her are good, but It has become too predictable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2013

    A very good read

    I enjoyed the book, as I do all of her books. I was disappointed in the obvious ploy to make the reader purchase 3 books to tell 1 story. I'm tempted to not her books anymore.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2013

    I am a big fan of Iris Johansen's and wassuper excited to finall

    I am a big fan of Iris Johansen's and wassuper excited to finally get this book. VERY disappointed! Normally her books grab me within the first few sentences, but this one took a few chapters to get me into it. Mostly because it was all over the place in the story line that I had a hard time keeping up. When I finally did get a little hooked into the story line, it ended with a to be continued! I feel like I got ripped off. I hope the next one comes out sooner and is written like her past books, as I think this book fell short of her normally highly rated books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2