Customer Reviews for

Taking Flight!: Master the DISC Styles to Transform Your Career, Your Relationships...Your Life

Average Rating 4.5
( 35 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(27)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

This book is a must read for anyone who communicates with people

This book is a must read for anyone who communicates with people. The authors make the DISC tool easy to understand and use in the workplace. The birds made the book fun and of my friends who have read it have added this book to their book clubs at work.

posted by AKraus on January 24, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Bad

Totally boring and a complete waste of time and money.

posted by 8888649 on January 28, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted January 24, 2013

    This book is a must read for anyone who communicates with people

    This book is a must read for anyone who communicates with people. The authors make the DISC tool easy to understand and use in the workplace. The birds made the book fun and of my friends who have read it have added this book to their book clubs at work.

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2013

    Not only have I used the DISC Profile for many years, I have rea

    Not only have I used the DISC Profile for many years, I have read many books on DISC and related topics. Most of these books are heavy in theory and often make it difficult to understand and apply the learning. Taking Flight was wonderfully written. The fable is very engaging and easy to read. It not only teaches the reader about the 4 DISC styles, it teaches the reader how to adapt behaviors to create better relationships with those around them. I truly believe these skills are extremely important for everyone, whether you are a manager, employee, teacher, student, doctor... If I were to recommend one book to help people build better relationships (personally and professionally), this is the one. My compliments to the authors as they created something very unique and made learning fun.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2012

    This is the best book about the DISC styles that I've ever read.

    This is the best book about the DISC styles that I've ever read. I can see applying this throughout my life.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2013

    Excellent! Easy to read and great practical application. As a

    Excellent! Easy to read and great practical application. As a teacher of psychology and history at the high school and college levels, I can say that this book offers insights into human behavior and gives concrete information on how to apply the DISC theory to improve communication easily yet substantially. Great for teachers everywhere!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2013

    This book starts off with a fable that incorporates learning in

    This book starts off with a fable that incorporates learning in a light and sometimes funny way. However, the true learning is in the second half. While reading the book I found myself not only relating to the parrot, but also relating some of my friends and family to the other birds as well.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2013

    As an educator, Taking Flight provides excellent insight into th

    As an educator, Taking Flight provides excellent insight into the different types of personalities I will encounter in my classroom. Using the DISC system to further understand the needs of my students will not only help me help them learn better, but it will also help to establish meaningful connections in the classroom. In every aspect of life Taking Flight helps you to discover the person you are and the types of persons those in your life are. Applying the methods outlined in Taking Flight has already improved my personal relationships and has allowed me to fully understand what makes those close to me act the way they do. The golden rule about treating others how they need to be treated seems so simple yet as you analyze your life and your relationships you begin to understand how complicated your connections with other people are. You must think outside yourself in order to have stronger relationships with others and that can be a challenge. Overall, an excellent read with many important messages that can be used in everyday life as well as in businesses and schools.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2013

    A must read for anyone who is interested in communicating more e

    A must read for anyone who is interested in communicating more effectively with others. As a business professional and parent, I use the methods and insights from Taking Flight every day! As a Parrot with an Eagle boss and an Owl child, I find I am more understanding and compassionate because of Taking Flight with DISC!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2013

    Made me a better administrator after finding my DISC and for the

    Made me a better administrator after finding my DISC and for the employees under my supervision. I have become a better listener.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2013

    This book was amazing! I wish I had this book for my leadership

    This book was amazing! I wish I had this book for my leadership classes.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2013

    Taking Flight! is entertaining, educational and a must-read for

    Taking Flight! is entertaining, educational and a must-read for anyone who wants to understand and communicate better with their spouse,  children or co-workers.  Based on the DISC behavioral model, Rosenberg and Silvert have turned a behavioral assessment used widely in business into an enticing fable and action plan.  Four different birds are used to illustrate the behaviors of the four behavioral types.  Are you more like an Eagle, Parrot, Dove or Owl?  In truth, we find out we are a mixture of all four in different measures.
    So, why is this so important?  Because each bird/type has different likes and dislikes.  And to truly understand someone, you need to know their viewpoint.  Is likely they are sitting on a different perch and viewing the world from a unique angle.  We use the language of the birds in our house and I use it at the office.   Taking Flight! helps you discover your style and how to better communicate with other styles without judgment. It is life-changing information and easy to implement.  I highly recommend this Taking Flight!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2013

    Bad

    Totally boring and a complete waste of time and money.

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2013

    Excellence!

    Elaborates well.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2014

    Fang

    "Sure" *he walks beside her his tail up proud his ears foreward*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2014

    Striking

    She nods. "Wanna go back to camp?" She asks, her turquoise eyes shining.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2014

    Dag

    Gtg bbt) yes

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2014

    Shadow

    She smiles and barks happily thank you!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2014

    Took forever to get to the point

    .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2013

    Excellent guide to understanding DISC personalities

    This short book is a good read, and makes the DISC styles accessible.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2013

    Flight's Complete Bio, Ver. 1.6.4.

    Name: Flight Enferna.<br>
    Other Names: King, Firesky, Halostar, Lunarstreak.<br>
    Age: 15 years, 4 months.<br>
    Gender: Male, of course.<br>
    Hometown: Fortree City, Hoenn.<br>
    Weapon Of Choice: A Falchoin. Look it up.<br>
    Personality: Changed from his spiritual journey to the rugged mountains of New Mexico. Always looks at both sides of an issue, calm, passionate about stuff, pleasant to be around moslty, a bit sarcastic at times, hard to make angry, but if you do, WATCH OUT.<br>
    Relationship Status: I can't even figure it out.<br>
    Friends: Wells, Asher(different rp), etc... not whole lot, as you can see.<br>
    Theme Song: Counting Stars, One Republic.<br>
    Likes: His friends, his Pokemon, MineCraft, Warriors, stargazing, music, Hc-Pvp, programming and computers, time to myself, the vastness of space.<br>
    Dislikes: Murderous Minecrafters, people who mak fun of me, my friends, family, or Pokemon, broccoli, and loud little kids.<br>
    Pokemon: Herioc(Cobalion), Justice(Virizion), Valor(Terrakion) There bios are below.<br>
    Notable Other Info: I am a sorceror, have a vast knowledge of symbols, NOOK hacking, MineCraft, and Roleplay, and know a lot more than I tell. I have been rping since December 2011, I hav been at the Pokemon rp since January 31, 2013. I have 2 NOOKs, so don't flip if you see more than one post by me. I am still the same person. I am also known as the King of Symbols. I travel the earth righting the world's wrongs with my Cobalion, Terrakion, and Virizion.<br>
    Pokemon Bios: Heroic<br>
    Species: Cobalion<br>
    Level: 92<br>
    Ability: Justified<br>
    Nature: Docile.<br>
    Moves: Sacred Sword, Close Combat, Iron Head, Retaliate.<br>
    Pokemon Bios: Justice<br>
    Species: Virizion.
    Level: 90.<br>
    Ability: Justified.<br>
    Nature: Adamant.<br>
    Moves: Sacred Sword, Close Combat, Leaf Blade, Giga Drain.<br>
    Pokemon Bios: Valor<br>
    Species: Terrakion.<br>
    Level: 90.<br>
    Ability: Justified.<br>
    Nature: Hasty.<br>
    Moves: Sacred Sword, Close Combat, Rock Slide, Stone Edge.<br>
    That is all for me, Flight. Bye.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2013

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2