Customer Reviews for

Taking Karre (Divinity Warriors 4)

Average Rating 4.5
( 14 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted January 28, 2015

    Logic didn¿t stand a chance!    5 stars And neither does Vid

    Logic didn’t stand a chance!    5 stars




    And neither does Vidal & Karre for what fate has in store for them!! What a fantastic story to wrap up this portion of the Divinity Series!!  I absolutely loved this story, and in typical “Cherri” form, I think that THIS book was my favorite in the series!  I found Karre to be such an interesting character & who could not fall for Vidar!  He is so sweet and almost shy, but oh boy is he hooked!!!  I was very intrigued with Karre.  She has so many various “talents”, her life story, her personality…so many things that I want to say, but I don’t want to spoil it for you!  The humor and depth to the story was one of the many parts that had me hooked from the start.  Michelle sure has a way to start a book that before you know it you are at the halfway point or even at The End!!!  She just has this magic touch about her & her writing!  I will say this though – just because these 4 stories all take place at the same time, even share one scene together AND all make mention of the same war, they are each their own story.  Each one is unique and while they do tie in with each other, they truly are individual & unique stories, even if they do follow the same basic story line – ending up in a foreign world with no idea how or why they are there.  If you are familiar with Michelle’s writing you already know that she can successfully write multiple stories in a series and no matter how many books there are, they all are as fresh, interesting, entertaining, unique as the first one is!  If you are new to Michelle’s writing, then I guarantee that you will be hooked after the first book!  Michelle truly is a very talented author who can write a various number of topics, across multiple genres and add in some hot & smexy romance and it all comes out as one terrific read that defies being classified into just one category.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2015

    Really enjoyed this book as much as the others, which is rare fo

    Really enjoyed this book as much as the others, which is rare for me. All of these books work as a stand-alone which is great, but they're even more of a treat when read in proper order. Karre quite possibly might be my favorite character in this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 17, 2014

    Did she save the best to last? I'm not sure, but I am sure this

    Did she save the best to last? I'm not sure, but I am sure this was a very satisfying end to the series. You'll have to read to find out the details, no spoilers here. Karre is the last of the brides, sent without their knowledge to a world of knights, armor, castles, an unending war and where women were the minority. One of the best things about this series is the uniqueness of each female character. They were all pretty strong women, they all resented being dumped on a planet to be sexual playthings called wives, however each had her own unique personality and story.

    Karre seems to have an unsavory background. She doesn't let anyone in. However, Vidar is ordered by the king to chose a wife from the offered brides. A brief encounter with Karre before the ceremony of choosing should more than deter him. If that isn't enough, she loudly proclaims that she is very demanding and doubts any of the men present can handle her. While most agree, Vidar is challenged, of course the fact that she makes him lust like no one ever has may have something to do with the choice.

    While the other women seemed to fight their passions Karre gives in—alot. Sex is hot and often. He's gorgeous, very sexual and she decides to enjoy it while it lasts.

    The question is, how long will she allow it to last? Will she fight against this primitive existence after living with extensive technology--can she give that up? Karre would seem the most likely to revolt. Watching her adapt and seeing her emotions she is not equipped to handle force her into untenable situations, her stubbornness with make you smile. Just when you think she has outsmarted and out maneuvered her man, he surprises us all. As does some revelations about Karre.

    There is a war and danger to them all, and she is affected as much as the natives of the land. Read this satisfying end to a great series with laughter, emotions bared, steamy sex and characters you care about.

    I was provided and ARC for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2014

    Taking Karre is one of my favorites by Michelle Pillow.  The dyn

    Taking Karre is one of my favorites by Michelle Pillow.  The dynamic between Karre and Sir Vidar grew throughout the book, culminating in a deep love.
    Karre is a take charge type of woman, but underneath, she wants to belong somewhere.  Her relationship with Sir Vidar allows her to find her home.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    was a great read, steamy sex scenes,fight scenes and scenes to m

    was a great read, steamy sex scenes,fight scenes and scenes to make you smile.

    Karre was a intriging character to learn more about, about her background and what made her the person she is.

    Vidar i wasn't sure about him at first but grew to love him even if i wanted to knock some sense into him a few times.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    AudioBook Review Stars  Overall  5 Narration 5   Story  5 Th

    AudioBook Review
    Stars  Overall  5 Narration 5   Story  5




    The fourth in Michelle M. Pillow’s Divinity Warriors series, Taking Karre introduces us to this heroine before the four women in the series meet.   Karre is a survivor, and I was honestly not sure just who she was because of her use of other people’s memories and personas as she skipped from one dimension to the next. When she is captured by the Divinity Corporation and brought to Staria, she is thrown into the mix with the women we have met earlier in the series. 




    Vidar is another Starian warrior, and convinced that women are a convenience, not a necessity.  Although he is expected to attend the breeding ceremony, his attention is really focused on protecting what is his; and a woman doesn’t enter into that equation.   While his attraction and desire for Karre was only sparked by their hasty bedding, her disappearance shortly after left him feeling unsure: a feeling that makes him more frustrated and confused than amenable to another woman. 




    Karre is by far the most guarded and modern woman of the four: living so many years as a thief, and successfully managing to outwit and outmaneuver the Divinity Corporation hunters.  Unfortunately, her time of freewheeling travel is up, and the corporation is seeking their revenge.  Far more outrageous than any woman Vidar has ever met, her veneer of cool and composed is cracking, and little pieces of her real self are showing through.  When Vidar claims her, and they start their new life together, neither knows what is really going to happen, or just how they will make it work. 




    Karre is softening Vidar, showing him how to live in and for the moment, and he has her feeling secure and protected for the first time in her life.  Rebecca Cook manages to imbue the slight softening of Karre’s tone in her speech and thoughts as the story progresses: this serves to reinforce the gradual loosening of Karre’s iron grip on her thoughts and feelings, and helps build empathy for her character.  Additionally, Cook’s voicing for Vidar fits his initial frustration and confusion, and later his contentment with his relationship and new wife.  This is an unusual quality in a narration, and enhanced the impact of listening versus reading the story.  




    As one of the four stories in this series, it does work as a stand-alone story. But, I would suggest that you start at the beginning and read or listen in order.  Each story brings a new component to the world, adding layers of depth and brings the ongoing struggle against the ‘ultimate foe’ to a climax in this story.  I really have loved this series: the perfect mix of action, world and relationships with an erotic component that will have you reaching for a cool drink.  And, fortunately, we continue to learn more from the world that Pillow has created in Divinity Warriors as she moves to the Divinity Healers series.  




    I received an AudioBook copy from the author for purpose of honest review. I was not compensated for this review: all conclusions are my own responsibility. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1