BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Talbot Odyssey

Average Rating 3.5
( 52 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Written before 9/11!

Wow....just think what might have happened if the terrorist of 9/11 had read this book. Would they have used planes or gone for the technological approach? Riveting, fast-paced, and twisted, DeMille keeps you guessing right up to the last 3 pages. Couldn't put this o...
Wow....just think what might have happened if the terrorist of 9/11 had read this book. Would they have used planes or gone for the technological approach? Riveting, fast-paced, and twisted, DeMille keeps you guessing right up to the last 3 pages. Couldn't put this one down. He is in the same class as Jeffrey Deaver.

posted by TG11 on June 13, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Ok, Not Great

I had trouble getting into this book; too many characters thrown at you seemingly at once. About 1/3 of the way through I got past that confusion and settled down to a good DeMille read.

posted by 1910811 on October 4, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted June 13, 2009

    Written before 9/11!

    Wow....just think what might have happened if the terrorist of 9/11 had read this book. Would they have used planes or gone for the technological approach? Riveting, fast-paced, and twisted, DeMille keeps you guessing right up to the last 3 pages. Couldn't put this one down. He is in the same class as Jeffrey Deaver.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2011

    Who is the Talbot? Part of the Cold War Spy Novel Genre's Best!

    Some other reviewers have stated that, unlike other Demille books, the Talbot Odyssey is a little harder to follow. I found also that it was not the page-turner at times, but this is such a great story if you can stick with it for 150 pages; then things pick up from there and you will constantly ask yourself "who is the bad guy?" because Demille weaves such a plot together that you are not sure who should watch who's back -- JUST like in a real-life spying. This is a Cold War spy fiction classic! There is a LOT of shooting in this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2004

    Great Reading

    I had read most of DeMille's books, so wanted to read 'Talbot Odyssey' as I was sure that it would be just as good as his others. I wasn't disappointed, and enjoyed this fast paced adventure from start to finish.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2009

    Ok, Not Great

    I had trouble getting into this book; too many characters thrown at you seemingly at once. About 1/3 of the way through I got past that confusion and settled down to a good DeMille read.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2002

    DeMille At His Best - Cold War Masterpiece

    The Talbot Odyssey is another DeMille Masterpiece and an example of DeMille's brilliant plot development and powerful denouements. Kate Mayfield and Tony Abrams help solidify Talbot Odyssey as a Cold War thriller you simply cannot put down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2000

    Another DeMille Thriller

    Another fantastic DeMille book that I just couldn't put down. Action packed from beginning to end. I've read all of Demille's boks and this was my second favorite (Charm School was my favorite).

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2014

    Annabelle

    Post plz

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2014

    Jay to carlie

    Hey

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2014

    Carlie

    U?!?!? po<>st

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2014

    Dash

    Heyo!! Poseidon cabin??

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2014

    Ethans cabin of gummibears

    Is here

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2013

    Can't recommend this book. Sorry

    I discovered Mr. DeMille several years ago and have read all his books. In fact, I have his latest on pre-order now. I'm so glad I didn't read "The Talbot Odyssey" first, as I would have missed some great reading. I found this book to be too violent and missed the humorous main character he has in his other books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2006

    Not his best

    This book had some great things in it which kept my interest. However, there was too much going on and it got to be a major undertaking staying on top of it all. By the end of the book, I felt there was no closure and wasn't really sure who was who anymore. Not even close to the Charm School. I would recommend his other books before this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2005

    Is it just me????

    I absolutely love reading DeMille books. Talbot Odyssey was one of the last of his books I have to read. Many times I picked it up, began to read it and just could not dig my heels into the story the way I usually do. I put it away for another day 3 times! I was hooked on Gold Coast after the first paragraph...can't seem to hold on to this one. Any suggestions???

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2002

    Comlicated .

    When I was reading it Ifelt like there were to many things happenning at the same time , it confused me .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3