Customer Reviews for

The Tale of Despereaux

Average Rating 4.5
( 1024 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(743)

4 Star

(147)

3 Star

(73)

2 Star

(26)

1 Star

(35)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

53 out of 61 people found this review helpful.

Wow

First off I am 23. I love to read but I really need a book to grab me or I'll just put it down. The Tale Of Despereaux was such an amazing book I gave it to my wife and told her she HAD to read it. I bought the hard back for our future children and now I just can't wait...
First off I am 23. I love to read but I really need a book to grab me or I'll just put it down. The Tale Of Despereaux was such an amazing book I gave it to my wife and told her she HAD to read it. I bought the hard back for our future children and now I just can't wait to read it to them! This book has everything! Adventure, Romance, Happy endings and Good fun. I really felt like I was in the book!

posted by Pete-Auzston on December 20, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Cute

Great for readers 8 and up. The mouse idea is cute, and the characters r well thought out.

posted by Anonymous on December 10, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 73 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2013

    EHHH......

    Watched movie a couple of years ago... it doesnt make sense.
    They are just a bunch of mice.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2012

    Tale of Despereaux is a captivating story of a little mouse name

    Tale of Despereaux is a captivating story of a little mouse named Despereaux Tilling, a rat named Roscuro, and Miggery Sow. Despereaux isn't your ordinary mouse he enjoys music, and books, oh and he just happens to be in love with a human princess. This book is divided into 4 stories each is told by a different characters perspective. Winner of the 2004 Newbery Medal for fantasy book, this story is a classic that will be read for years and years to come, This book grabbed me from the very beginning, I couldn't put it down. It is an easy read while still keeping the audience fully enthralled in the text. This book is a love story, an action packed story, and a humorous story all packed into one. This book is perfect for kids grades 3-5. it's an inspiring story of courage, and being true to yourself. We follow this unlikely hero through this adventure and to a happy ending.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2013

    How many pages?

    How many pages r in this book?

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2013

    Confusing

    This book was kind of confusing. It was not my favorite book because my favorite book is Finally by Wendy Mass. If you have not read that you need to.(If you are a girl.)"
    -

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2014

    Its ok

    This book isnt bad just a little slow at times...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2014

    ZEro

    Its ok. The adio adishon is much better
    Just for the people reading this im 11

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2014

    click here

    Pretty good. I liked the movie better than the book. But im only on chapter 42.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2012

    As I was reading The Tale of Despereaux, I had a recurring mantr

    As I was reading The Tale of Despereaux, I had a recurring mantra running through my head: "this book is odd, this book is odd, wow, this book is REALLY odd." That being said, despite the unusual feel of the book, I would call Desperaux a thoroughly enjoyable read. Desperaux is the story of a mouse who falls in love with a human princess and risks everything he has to go on an adventure and protect her. Along the way, he must face his judgmental family, a treacherous rat-filled dungeon, and several mouse-hating castle inhabitants. Despite all of the odds this poor big-eared misfit encounters, his love of the princess eventually allows him to triumphantly rescue her and save the day.

    There were a lot of things in this book that puzzled me. For one thing, the strange obsession with soup that is shared by nearly every member of the castle. Another element of the story that i found unusual was the authors casual references to cruelty and death. This is a children's book, and obviously there is nothing about this story that is graphic or inappropriate, but the ideas of rats who live to inspire misery in others and parents who condemn their own children to horrible fates. Lets just say this book was definitely not what i was expecting!

    That element, the author's willingness to embrace the absurd may be exactly what it took to make this such an engaging book. As I was reading and thinking "this is so odd", I was simultaneously thinking, "I wonder what will happen next". I'm clearly not the only one who felt this way. This book was so well received that it won the Newberry Award. For readers who delight in the unexpected and enthusiastically cheer on the underdog hero, Desperaux will never disappoint.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2012

    Sortof like

    I had to read this for literature circle and we had to summerize like every chapter it was so boring but i sorta liked the book but i wouldnt give it 5 stars

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2012

    Good book

    You got to read this book it is so good

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2011

    Alyssa R

    The book was a little confusing at times. Then it was happy. Over all it was good

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2011

    Ok

    It was ok in a good way.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2011

    The Tale of Desperaux is a good read!

    This book is about a small mouse named Despereaux. He never listens to his family, who want him to be more mouse-like. He loves to read especially the story of a brave kinght who saves a princess. He gets thrown into a dungeon too. The reason is because he is in love with a human. But he must save her when she is captured by rats!
    I think it's ok, there is not much action. But it is hard to put down. They describe the charictors weirdly. It is an overall good book. I recommend it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2011

    great read

    i loved this book such a page turner

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    the tale of despereaux

    Yes i would like to recomend this book to a friend. I would recomend this book to a friend because this book is about bravery, honesty, love, anger, loyalty, hurt, and abandon. I would recomend it to my friends so that they can understand how other people are sometimes treated. for example, Miggery Sow was abandonned by her father when she little.

    He sold her for a bandful of cigarettes, a red cloth, and a ben. Her mother died when she was 6 years old. She was always getting her by her fake Uncle. If she did something wrong she would get a clout on the ear. Thats why i would recomend it because other teenagers or young adults should apreciate that thier parents aren't as bad as they think.

    If kids get hit or spanked its because they need to learn that they are doin things really wrong. Sometimes kids get abandonned either because the family can't or couldn't be able to give what they needed or because they didn't want them. iw ould recomend this book because it relates to what happens in real life.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2010

    A great story-

    I really enjoy this author. After reading, "Because of Winn Dixie" I really wanted to find another book by the same author and I found this one. This is a great book and the book is much better than the movie. This is the story of a very brave little mouse who falls in love with a princess and the adventure he endures. I read this book to my children and they loved it too. It is an entertaining book with fun characters. You will be absorbed and enjoy reading this book with your family. I highly recommend it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2008

    you my like it but it was confusing!!!!

    i thought it was o.k but confusing. it went to despereaux to the poor rat, to the girl with the bad dad. i want to know what happpened to Despereaux not them. at the end it said it all but in the middle what happend? come om!!!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2008

    The Tale of Desperaux

    'Happily Ever After' are the words Desperaux read out of a book he loved to read. Desperaux was a mouse who was born with large ears and his eyes were wide open.One day Desperaux wandered around the castle and found the princess and then he fell in love.Unfortunatley another mouse who knew Desperaux walked by and saw Desperaux talking to the princess and went straight to tell somebody. After he did Desperaux was sent to the dungeon.He escaped after awhile. A rat named Roscuro met the lovely princess Pea.The princess' mom died when Roscuro fell in her soup.Princess Pea was furious and gave Roscuro an evil look and now Roascuro wants revenge.Miggery Sow was a girl who was sold right after her mother died.She was sold for a blood red cloth,a hen and a handful of ciggerettes.Mig starts working at the castle as a servant and she meets the princess.Then Roscuro uses her to get revenge on the princess.So he tells Mig that they are going to kidnap the princess and then they do.At the end everyone is at a truce,and they all live happily ever after. I thought this book was ok because some parts were confusing and dumb,like when the queen died from the soup and when they kidnapped her.I hated it when the author used Dear Reader.I also thought that some parts were good.I think most of the good parts were at the begining and in the middle of the book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2008

    A reviewer

    A mouse named Desperaux who lives in a castle where soup is illegal. He loves the princess and get sent to a dungeon because of it. He get out but must save her from a rat named Roscuro who kidnapped the princess with the help of a near deaf girl. Will Desperaux save the princess. Will Roscuro get his revenge? Or will he fall under his own love of soup? Read this book to find out. exacltty what i thought it would be. a ok read, annyiong sometimes cause of the dear reader parts and some times it justc skips thought rooms n othing realy lasted in the book expect his trail and him saving the pricess 3 out of 5 stars. If you like to read you may think its better then 3 out of 5 stars.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2006

    It's worth reading

    The Tale of desperaux is a good book that is worth reading if you have the time. It's intresting enough and very easy to understand but is not one of the best books I have ever read. I read this book in 7th grade and think I may have been slightly to old for it. For 4,5, and probably sixth graders this book would probably be very very good. and if I had read it in fourth grade I think I would have given it 4 stars. So, if you have the time, read it

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 73 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4