Customer Reviews for

The Tale of Genji: (Penguin Classics Deluxe Edition)

Average Rating 3.5
( 45 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

CLASSIC!

Although it's a slow read because you have to pay close attention- every detail counts- this has to be one of the best books I've ever read. It's long, but worth every second it takes to read it. If you're interested in the Japanese culture, this is a great book. It ...
Although it's a slow read because you have to pay close attention- every detail counts- this has to be one of the best books I've ever read. It's long, but worth every second it takes to read it. If you're interested in the Japanese culture, this is a great book. It tells a wonderful, enthralling tale that intrigues you and keeps you going- it makes you want more. If you don't get into it in the first few chapters- don't give up hope- you'd be passing by one of the greatest novels ever written. Just have some patience and stick with it. It will definitely pay off.

posted by Anonymous on June 17, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Darn! This is an abridged version.

Wish I'd realized... if you enlarge the cover it says abridged, but nowhere does the description say this. So, I've got an abridged ebook, and there are no returns on ebooks. Really annoyed.

posted by 3738289 on June 6, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2013

    Part 1 - Review - Settle dispute over abridged vs. unabridged

    To settle a running issue in the reviews, I just purchased this book, it is indeed UNABRIDGED. The only "flaw", is the OCR of the original book converted all of the ending "Os" in the Japanese names into a "?" or question mark. Sad, for it mars a perfect book. When I have completed reading the book, then I will provide a content review.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2010

    The Tale Of Gengi Review

    At first I thought that The Tale of Genji would be an ok book. But when I started reading it I couldn't put it down. The only problem I had with the book is that some parts were really confusing and it jumped around a whole lot. For the most part I had to reread it and take it in bits of pieces. So pretty much what im saying it isn't a book that you can just fly through. You really need to break it down and think through it. If you really like history or enjoy Japanese culture than I believe this a really good and interesting book to read. It was really amazing and outrageous to read about different cultures and how they depended on life in there period of time. When I was reading I loved how vivid the story was when they were described the court life. It was so vivid that when I read it I could actually see it in my head as if actually I was there during the time. They described the events beautifully. Talking about the plot, well the plot is mostly about Genji`s life. The book really went through and talked about the affairs he had with many woman. It pretty much showed you his life at his time period. It didn't just show his affairs with different woman but even about his culture. Genji had a really rough time and I don't think he new what he was doing at the time. Genji had everything in front of him but to me he never opened his heart up for anything. I believe he was a very ignorant type that used many people than he would help. But then again his life at his time and period it wasn't easy and was really different from today's life. In many parts of the book it would make you think how lucky we are today that we didn't or don't have to got through the things they did at the time. One main thing that really made me think is how woman were treated at the time and it would probably kill me to be hidden all day and not seeing men all the time. That's why I really liked this book because it really explained and made you think how lucky we are today then to be treated in Genji`s time. I really loved this book and its one of m favorites I do to recommend it to everyone but mainly people that love history or Japanese culture.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Genji needs a bottle

    The Tale of Genji is quite the adventure of one prince in Japan. Through many unfortunate events Genji continues on his way through life trying to remain positive and happy. However, he fails miserably in several affairs, is betrothed to a Princess several years older than he who hates him for unexplained reasons. Through every extra marital affair Genji explores (and there are many) he has horrible luck as well. He always falls in love with what he can't have and then looses interest when the affections are returned. He runs several prominent women into the nunnery by his behavior and even has several die on him. He kidnaps another Prince's daughter because he wanted to, and then drives her crazy with his hot and cold advances. I think I delighted in his adventures with his friends, more than all the late night excursions he went to with various ladies. The court life and festivals were described beautifully and added a richer element to the tale. The description of wardrobes, poems, artistic works and explanations on why each of these was used in certain situation was very enjoyable. Overall, I would have preferred a more historically based story, than what ended feeling like nothing more than one mans indiscretions and all that can possibly go wrong. He should have corked himself up, and his life might have been less stressful and painful in the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2007

    Tale of Genji

    Tale of Genji is a very good read. You must however, alot quite a bit of time and then sometimes reread certain sections. Genji is a wonderful book in which matters of the heart are looked at from a different era and by a different prespective. Genji is written in the time of the Imperial Court of Japan and offers the reader a little look at what life was like during that time. Genji is quite the playboy and he has the love of several different women. In some ways I feel sorrow for Genji. He is looking so hard for love that he doesn't realize he has it all along. I also think when it comes to insight, the book is great in this respect because it is written by a female author who is considered to be one of the greatest Japanese artist of her time. Once again a very good book, but lenghty.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1