Customer Reviews for

The Tale of Halcyon Crane

Average Rating 4
( 52 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(28)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Magnificent!

Every once in a blue moon, I am reminded of one of the many reasons why I love to blog/read blogs/the Internet overall. What's the reason, per say? Well, it's the fact that if not for blogging, I would have never ever heard of some of the books that ended up being among...
Every once in a blue moon, I am reminded of one of the many reasons why I love to blog/read blogs/the Internet overall. What's the reason, per say? Well, it's the fact that if not for blogging, I would have never ever heard of some of the books that ended up being among my absolute favorites. The Tale of Halcyon Crane was one of those books, and had I not heard about it, well, it would have been a very, very tragic thing, because this book was drop-dead amazing; not only of the best adult novels I've ever read, but one of the best books I've ever read!

The Tale of Halcyon Crane ended up surprising me in many ways.

One was the setting, which was Grand Manitour. The way Webb described it made me feel like I was right there taking part in the story the whole time. I loved the fact that in most ways it was very much a time-warped island, one that had no cell service (Oh, the horror of all horrors!) nor cars among other aspects.

The characters were another part of this story that I adored! They were well-developed, even the dead ones, and it was absolutely fascinating to learn about each and every one's back-story. My favorite out of all them would have to be Hallie James, the main character. Since while she was sweet, kind, and loving, she was also flawed, like any adult or teen. It was interesting to see her truly find herself on the island and let go of her past mistakes and hardships, so that instead she could move on to a place were she completely felt at home.

The plot and writing of this were both well done and, as mentioned before, truly brought this book to life. There was almost never a dull moment, much the opposite in the fact, since I was always clinging on to each word, dying to find out what would happen next. Plus there were parts in The Tale of Halcyon Crane I barley saw coming, an aspect I love in any story. And I loved the incorporation of ghosts in the novel. It gave it a unique spin that made it live up and well past it's full potential.

The only problem I had with this book would be the fact that the dialogue sometimes felt a wee bit awkward. But other than that, The Tale of Halcyon Crane is A+ material!

In all, The Tale of Halcyon Crane is a fabulous mix of ghosts, romance, and one girl finding herself to be more than she ever expected! I am highly look forward to reading Webb's next work. Since I'm sure it'll prove to be the same!

On a side note, I would like to also add that while The Tale of Halcyon Crane is technically an Adult book with all Adult characters, it's still very much a book that can enjoyed at all ages (Saying that I mean teens, not young children, of course). Further more, this book is pretty much sparkly clean, in cause your curious.

Grade: A+

posted by Lauren817 on May 2, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

A bit underdeveloped, but a decent weekend read

Webb comes up with an original and suspenseful ghost story, and her characterization of protagonist Halcyon Crane is touching. The character is well-developed, almost too much so in comparison with the other characters. The book resolves itself rather too nicely in the ...
Webb comes up with an original and suspenseful ghost story, and her characterization of protagonist Halcyon Crane is touching. The character is well-developed, almost too much so in comparison with the other characters. The book resolves itself rather too nicely in the end, and too quickly for the time she spends developing the story. It's as if she realized after considerable commitment that the story didn't quite flow - but persisted anyways. The book definitely has one of those too-much-information endings - she would have done better to leave out the last two chapters entirely. This would be great for the beach or a weekend read, but I wouldn't recommend it to any serious fans of gothic literature.

posted by NouveauCase on February 2, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted May 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Magnificent!

    Every once in a blue moon, I am reminded of one of the many reasons why I love to blog/read blogs/the Internet overall. What's the reason, per say? Well, it's the fact that if not for blogging, I would have never ever heard of some of the books that ended up being among my absolute favorites. The Tale of Halcyon Crane was one of those books, and had I not heard about it, well, it would have been a very, very tragic thing, because this book was drop-dead amazing; not only of the best adult novels I've ever read, but one of the best books I've ever read!

    The Tale of Halcyon Crane ended up surprising me in many ways.

    One was the setting, which was Grand Manitour. The way Webb described it made me feel like I was right there taking part in the story the whole time. I loved the fact that in most ways it was very much a time-warped island, one that had no cell service (Oh, the horror of all horrors!) nor cars among other aspects.

    The characters were another part of this story that I adored! They were well-developed, even the dead ones, and it was absolutely fascinating to learn about each and every one's back-story. My favorite out of all them would have to be Hallie James, the main character. Since while she was sweet, kind, and loving, she was also flawed, like any adult or teen. It was interesting to see her truly find herself on the island and let go of her past mistakes and hardships, so that instead she could move on to a place were she completely felt at home.

    The plot and writing of this were both well done and, as mentioned before, truly brought this book to life. There was almost never a dull moment, much the opposite in the fact, since I was always clinging on to each word, dying to find out what would happen next. Plus there were parts in The Tale of Halcyon Crane I barley saw coming, an aspect I love in any story. And I loved the incorporation of ghosts in the novel. It gave it a unique spin that made it live up and well past it's full potential.

    The only problem I had with this book would be the fact that the dialogue sometimes felt a wee bit awkward. But other than that, The Tale of Halcyon Crane is A+ material!

    In all, The Tale of Halcyon Crane is a fabulous mix of ghosts, romance, and one girl finding herself to be more than she ever expected! I am highly look forward to reading Webb's next work. Since I'm sure it'll prove to be the same!

    On a side note, I would like to also add that while The Tale of Halcyon Crane is technically an Adult book with all Adult characters, it's still very much a book that can enjoyed at all ages (Saying that I mean teens, not young children, of course). Further more, this book is pretty much sparkly clean, in cause your curious.

    Grade: A+

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 29, 2012

    Loved it!

    My book club read this book, and we all loved it! It' s hard to get 15 girls with all different tastes to all love a book, but this one did it. It's filled with suspense, & it feels like you right there inside the book. Amazing!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2011

    A bit underdeveloped, but a decent weekend read

    Webb comes up with an original and suspenseful ghost story, and her characterization of protagonist Halcyon Crane is touching. The character is well-developed, almost too much so in comparison with the other characters. The book resolves itself rather too nicely in the end, and too quickly for the time she spends developing the story. It's as if she realized after considerable commitment that the story didn't quite flow - but persisted anyways. The book definitely has one of those too-much-information endings - she would have done better to leave out the last two chapters entirely. This would be great for the beach or a weekend read, but I wouldn't recommend it to any serious fans of gothic literature.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Bridget's Review

    I enjoyed this book A LOT! It's definitely a haunting tale that will delight lovers of the paranormal. The Tale of Halcyon Crane is a creepy story that's brilliantly written. I can't wait to see what Wendy comes up with next!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2010

    A chilling, hopeful tale that will keep you awake

    Wendy Webb cobbles together an interesting cast of characters to create a story that is warm yet chilling, comfortable yet unnerving. You'll fall in love with Halcyon (Hallie) Crane as she explores a world that is new to her, yet to which she has always belonged. You'll want to be Hallie, and yet you'll be somehow glad you are not.

    Hallie learns she is heir to a mansion on a beautiful and affluent resort island. When she visits the place, she finds out there is much more to the story -- to her story -- than she ever imagined. The island's greatest secret, she learns, is Hallie herself. Only she can exorcise the ghosts that haunt the place, literally and figuratively.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2011

    Interesting, but full of distractions

    Yikes. What did she just say? Do people really speak like that? I found myself asking those two questions a lot throughout the book. The story was somewhat compelling, if not all that original. Still, there were moments when the language was so formal, occasionally anachronistic, that I often stumbled over it. These interruptions made the book feel more like work than pleasure, at moments. But if things like that don't bother you, and you're a fan of ghost stories, you would probably enjoy this boook.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2011

    AMAZING BOOK

    Overall the story was great. I could not put it down at times. There were quite a few capitalization errors but they meant almost nothing with the fantastic story line. READ IT. : )

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2010

    A good weekend read

    I downloaded this book on my nook without knowing anything about the author. It was a little slow starting out but picked up very quickly. I enjoyed reading this book and there were times that I was a little afraid to "turn the page". I would recommend this as a good curl up with an afghan and read on a cold rainy weekend book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A Wonderful Gothic Mystery

    Like Daphne Du Maurier's Rebecca and more recently Diane Setterfield's The Thirteenth Tale, Wendy Webb's The Tale of Halcyon Crane pulls you into a world of family secrets and history. The novel is well passed and atmospheric, and will demand that you loose sleep just to finish it. A great read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A real Let Down

    I am from Wisconsin and looked forward to reading this book which takes place on an island in Lake Superior. The descriptions of the island and the way of life is great, but I found the description of the island people to be very shallow. The premiss of the book is a good one but when I got to the end of the book, I was left wanting more. I felt so much more could have been done with this book, not the easy tell the ghosts to leave and live happily ever after. I think the atmosphere was well done with how the island felt and the main character's reaction to the island and her new house. Overall, I got the impression that there was a word limit and when it was hit, the book ended, fast. Maybe her next book will be more on the mark.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2014

    Best book I have read in a long time

    A couple of months ago I was recommended to read this book by a friend while chatting on a run. Just got around to buying on my nook and devoured it in a day and a half. I even read not while MBTA traveling. I usually only read on train and lunch break at work but I couldn't wait to see how story ended so I never put it down. HIGHLY RECOMMEND.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2013

    This book is a great read! LOVE Wendy Webbs writing. I can SEE

    This book is a great read! LOVE Wendy Webbs writing. I can SEE what she is writing and I read the book in a matter of days!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Loved this book

    I read the tale of Halcyon Crane in 2 days that's how good it is and I would recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2013

    Pulls you in to the story

    This fast past book has just enough chills to your spine to hit a sweet spot of good story with a little edge of your seat. Weaving some great lakes history into the tale is a nice touch.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2011

    I loved this book. Highly recommend!!

    I could not put this book down nor, when it was down, could I stop thinking about when I could go back to reading it. From the first page you are hooked. If you are looking for a great "weekend" book, "go to the cabin and relax" book or "going to the beach and need a book" book, this is it. Its a very easy read and goes quickly. Romance + ghost story = a great book. I cannot wait until Wendy Webb comes out with another book. I will be there to buy it. (Not a book club discussion book as those tend to be "deep" and "intense discussion" types. This is just a great, easy read that takes you on a great journey.)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2010

    Just Okay

    I enjoyed the book, but I think that maybe young readers would think that it was chilling or scary. I was hoping that it would be, but it lacked imagination.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3