BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

A Tale of Three Kings

Average Rating 4.5
( 14 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2000

    Essential reading for leaders and followers alike

    This is an allegory about a man who would be king, and how he suffered under his own king who abused his authority as king. David could have taken Saul's life several times, but he didn't. Find out how to respond to abuse of church authority and how you can better be trained to become a leader when it's your time.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2012

    Wonderful

    Read this in one of my bible school classes,the Holy Spirit really softened my heart and brought me to a place of my own humility and brokeness. It was a great time of growth

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    Worth reading

    This is one of those books that speaks to you with a ripple effect over time. I only wish it had been a little cheaper especially since it was such a short book. I will definitely read it again and will likely purchase other books from this author since i like his writing style. This is without question a very convicting message loaded with the power to be tranformational if your heart is open.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A Tale of Three Kings

    A Tale of Three Kings by Gene Edwards recounts the Biblical stories of King Saul, King David and King Absalom in fictionalized form. As the story unfolds, the author frequently interrupts the story to give teaching regarding the themes and/or morals of that part of the story. The overall topic of A Tale of Three Kings is how a Christian should respond when hurt by church leadership or church members.

    As for the audio quality of this recording, it was excellent. The narrator's voice was appropriate and he read the text at a perfect pace.

    Regarding the content of A Tale of Three Kings, my response varied. I found the fiction portions entertaining enough. However, it was sometimes confusing and distracting when the author would jump from fiction to attempting to explain spiritual truths. I would have rather listened to a completely fiction book that challenged me to think or to a book in which the first half was fiction and the second half was teaching. I must respectfully disagree with some of the author's teachings. There is a lack of Scriptural basis for some of them. I only recommend this book to someone who is willing to consider what it teaches and examine it to see if it lines up with Biblical teaching.

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this audiobook free from Chistianaudio as part of their Blogger Review Program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 25, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Exactly what the cover says-a study in brokenness and an excellent one at that.

    The book is neither cold-hearted to the hurt person, nor does it allow them to be crippled forever by their pain, but presents a way out that is so different than all too common prescriptions of denial, revenge, or self-medication. I'm very thankful for this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2002

    Piercing and Powerful

    Written in an easy to read "fairy tale" format, Gene Edwards explores the issue of authority and submission from within the mind of King David. I found the book so simple to read in its prose, and yet almost imposible to read because of the piercing conviction under which I found myself. This is a must read for anyone who thinks they are suffering under an unjust leader, boss, or spouse.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2001

    A must read for all

    A well crafted story taken from an ancient life made relevant for today. It will bring an understanding of the human condition unknown by most. It is absolutely a must read for anyone wishing to grow in life.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2013

    Great little book

    In some ways life changing. I never saw or understood authority quite like I do now. I read this book regularly to remind me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2011

    Excellently done!

    This audio version is fabulous!
    I loved how the author created a fiction story by inserting thoughts dreams and ideas of what may have been going on in the lives of these three men that we find in the Bible!
    Highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1