Customer Reviews for

A Tale of Two Castles

Average Rating 4.5
( 60 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(43)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

A sweet funny take on fairy tales

Elodie is a spirited girl who only wants to become a mansioner, an actor, but is thwarted in her ambitions by her lack of money. So she becomes the assistant to Meenore, a dragon skilled in logic and deduction. When the ogre hires the dragon to find out who is behind ...
Elodie is a spirited girl who only wants to become a mansioner, an actor, but is thwarted in her ambitions by her lack of money. So she becomes the assistant to Meenore, a dragon skilled in logic and deduction. When the ogre hires the dragon to find out who is behind a strange turn of events at his castle, Meenore sends Elodie to be ITs eyes and ears. And Elodie learns about using her mansioning and logic talents for other purposes.

Levine can tell a good tale. While some of her other books are retellings of fairy tales, this one has a few aspects but is a wholly original book. And it is a very cute book. I loved all the fairy tale touches and the characters were delightful. I thought the solution to the mystery was easy, but that is because there tends to be a pattern in Levine's fairy tale books that gave it away. I do wish there was more of the dragon and the ogre because I loved both characters, but I'm wondering if they are going to be more books with Elodie and her friends.

posted by thelittlebookworm on May 10, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

I love it!

Gail carson levine is awesome!!!!!!!

posted by Anonymous on December 29, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 61 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted May 10, 2011

    A sweet funny take on fairy tales

    Elodie is a spirited girl who only wants to become a mansioner, an actor, but is thwarted in her ambitions by her lack of money. So she becomes the assistant to Meenore, a dragon skilled in logic and deduction. When the ogre hires the dragon to find out who is behind a strange turn of events at his castle, Meenore sends Elodie to be ITs eyes and ears. And Elodie learns about using her mansioning and logic talents for other purposes.

    Levine can tell a good tale. While some of her other books are retellings of fairy tales, this one has a few aspects but is a wholly original book. And it is a very cute book. I loved all the fairy tale touches and the characters were delightful. I thought the solution to the mystery was easy, but that is because there tends to be a pattern in Levine's fairy tale books that gave it away. I do wish there was more of the dragon and the ogre because I loved both characters, but I'm wondering if they are going to be more books with Elodie and her friends.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2012

    !!!!!!!

    I love this author. She has written the greatest princess love stories, and one of her best is The Two Princesses of Bamarre. I cant wait to read this new book of hers!

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    Great book

    Amazing author cute story

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 18, 2011

    I <3 GAIL CARSON LEVINE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    OMG I LOVE GAILS WORK U'D BE AN IDIOT NOT TO U MUST READ THIS IF U DONT U WILL REGRET IT AND NO MEAN COMMENTS IM DA REVIEW POLICE I HAVE A LISCENSE TO PROVE IT I AM THE BIGGEST GAIL LEVINE FAN EVAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2012

    Lord Brocktree

    I love Gail Carson Levine!! My favorite book by her is The Fairy's Mistake. You must read all her books!!!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2012

    H

    This is an awesome book! It is her newest book also. It is about a girl named Elodie, who wants to be an actress, meats a dragon, and solves a mystery. It is a really good book! I read it from our library! I also read all of her books, except the series and Ella Enchanted because I didn't like the movie. You should totally read all of Gail Carson Levien's books.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    Ive read all gail carsons books

    Im an huge fan of gail carson. Ive read all her books in 8 days. Shes an amazing author and an perfect rolemoddle.her books are filled with fantasy and action there fresh and not old. Every time yoy read one of her books it plays like a movie in your head.its ashame alot of you out there dont like her books. Her books and gail are my inspiration to write.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2013

    BEST

    LOVE IT + G.C.L!!! SHE IS THE NEW J.K ROWLING BUT BETTER!!! (sorry j.k)

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 30, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Delightful New Story!

    This story is a original tale of the adventures of a spunky young girl named Elodie. Gail Carson Levine has been my favorite author ever since I read her masterpiece "Ella Enchanted." This story, although quite good, did not live up to Ella Enchanted or Fairest - I am sure it is hard to write a book more spellbinding than Ella Enchanted. It did have new aspects that I have not seen in Gail Levine's previous works. She added mystery to this story, and it was written for a younger audience (where Ella Enchanted and Fairest were written more for tweens and teens). Also, the characters in this new tale surprised me. Unlike all the other fairytales I have read, this one presented a dragon called IT (capitalized - for IT is the only one who knows ITs gender) and a ogre as good guys. In other stories I have read, these characters would have always been on the evil side rather than the good side. The story itself was good. Elodie is sent to a realm of two castles to get a job. While she wants to be a masioner (an actor), she ends up having to settle for becoming apprenticed to the dragon called IT. Things are not the way she planned, and soon Elodie is thrown into the midst of a plot...will she figure out who is behind the plot before it is too late? You shall have to see for yourself. The characters were good, and the plot was interesting - but I guess I have high standards for the author who wrote Ella Enchanted because this book did not live up to my expectations. The writing in this book reminded me GREATLY of E.D. Baker's writing style. Parents don't have to worry about language or questionable content in this book - I can not remember there being any issues. It is great for young girls who love fairytales. For those who want a fun story to pass the time, while keeping you interested, look no further - Just don't expect the story to be as good as Ella Enchanted. I can't wait for the next book, which Gail Levine is writing at present, called "Beloved Elodie."

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Levine treats readers to a new fantasy world

    Elodie leaves her home and family to travel across the water to become an apprentice. Unfortunately, her family lives too far away to have gotten the bad news--it is no longer possible to become an apprentice without paying your prospective master in coin. Elodie doesn't have enough money but is determined that she will manage to become an apprentice mansioner (an actor--not what her parents had in mind, as they wanted her to become a weaver) anyway. Almost as soon as she is back on solid ground, Elodie finds herself in the middle of intrigue. Her one copper coin is stolen by one of the many cats found in the city of Two Castles. Was it trained to do so, or did it get lucky? Before she knows it, Elodie finds herself hired as assistant to the city dragon, Meenore. Still unsure as to whether or not she can trust her new master, Elodie is assigned a new job--being the dragon's eyes and ears in the castle of ogre Count Jonty Um, who is the apparent victim of thieves, poachers, and possibly in danger of much more. Who is trying to hurt the ogre, and why? Who, if anyone, can Elodie trust? Is there any hope for her dream of becoming a mansioner, or is it time for her to find a new dream?

    Gail Carson Levine has written a new tale of magic and mystery with A Tale of Two Castles. Readers are quickly drawn into a new fantastical world where many things and people are not quite what they seem. The ending leaves hope that there could be a sequel--or two, or three--for us to continue solving mysteries along with Elodie and her two new friends, watching as the plucky heroine continues to grow in her newfound talents and abilities. This novel is geared toward middle-grade readers, especially those who enjoy fantasy and mystery stories. Anyone who loved Ella Enchanted (the book, not the movie--ugh!) should enjoy this story of a determined heroine who makes the best of what life throws at her.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2014

    ReLly good

    This book grabs you and never lets go. It casts its spellbinding pages on it and you stay up late reading it. GET IT GET IT

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2014

    My second favourite book.

    I love this book. It is my second favourite book ( if the Lord of the Ring had not been written it would be my favourite book).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2014

    Yes read it you will love it

    You will love it lol

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2014

    Good?

    I have read Ella Enchanted and loved it. Should i read this?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2013

    I loved this book!

    I thought this book was awesome my faverite chatecter was meenore. But i still think ella enchanted was better

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2013

    A FANTASTIC ending but......

    This book is really good but it didn't imediately 'suck' me in. By the middle of the book, I was BORED TO TEARS! However, I am the kind of person, who, if started on a book, MUST finish. So I continued and actually did not regret my read. This book's ending was VERY INTRIGUING! I enjoyed it very much but I really wish Levine had made the beginning more captivating. I got this book at the library and am glad I did not buy it. I sudgest you get this book without involving money. You WILL ENJOY IT!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2013

    Very good writing LOVE Elodie......................................... ?....

    This book is a story about Elodie, Masteress Meenore,and Count Jonty Um, and more.Read this book to find out more!!!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2013

    The Two Princesses of Bamarre

    I haven't read this book, but it's probably good. I am writing a review for The Two Princesses of Bamarre because I couldn't for the actual book. Anyway this book (Princesses of Bamarre) is the best book ever wtitten. I could read it a million times and still become teary-eyed. I sincerely feel for the characters and love them. Gail Carson Levine (I don't know if I spelled that right) is an mazing author and has a fascinating imagination. Also, if you love this book more than anything, you should read:
    •Dragon Slippers
    •Fairest
    •The Two Princesses of Bamarre
    •The Two Princesses of Bamarre
    •Did I mention The Two Princesses of Bamarre?

    Read those books. If you are like me, you will love them all.
    ~Kaitlyn age twelve

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2013

    Awesome

    I'ce only bought the sample and this book is already getting awesome

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2013

    Amazing!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    It is slow-going at first, but it gets as action packed as Avengers..... In fairytale land.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 61 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4