Customer Reviews for

A Tale of Two Cities

Average Rating 4
( 938 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(490)

4 Star

(166)

3 Star

(106)

2 Star

(49)

1 Star

(127)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

24 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

Finally an unabridged reading!

Excellently done!

posted by 1734891 on August 10, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

19 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

Extremely poor scan

You get what you pay for! This is a very crude version of the text, straight from a scan via OCR with no proofreading whatsoever. Spend the few bucks to get a version of this great book that you can actually read!

posted by Gulliver_cc on July 15, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 127 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted July 15, 2011

    Extremely poor scan

    You get what you pay for! This is a very crude version of the text, straight from a scan via OCR with no proofreading whatsoever. Spend the few bucks to get a version of this great book that you can actually read!

    19 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2012

    Typos

    There are too many spelling errors in this book to even get past the 1st page, its not worth the space on your nook

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2012

    This version has too many typos to read

    Plesse rescan.

    6 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2013

    DO NOT BUY!!!

    I am sure that a tale of two cities is a great book, but this version only has the first 48 pages! If you are the person who put this up, quit trying to make people pay their money for something unfinished and dumb. Fix this book or take it back. I want a refund.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2014

    Unknown

    The she-wolf creepily stalks camp, her eyes cold.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2014

    To SmokeSeer

    Can I rp Artemis))

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2012

    Dont

    It wont even Dwonload

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    Why

    Why do i have to putchus a free book

    1 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2011

    Not good

    It is hard to read it has lots of misilanias puncuation not good at all

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2011

    Hard.

    This book was very hard to understand. The language in the book is english but is only for the author to unfderstand.

    1 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2011

    Wrong book Wrong book?

    Does not start with either the best or the worst of times

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2001

    SORRY...IT'S OVERRATED

    I know I'm going against the grain on this one, but I hate this book more than words can express. Now, don't think I'm saying this without some support, giving a classic novel like this one star is not very popular. I just can't bring myself to enjoy reading anything by Charles Dickens. This may not mean much from someone who likes to read Camus, Salinger, and Kesey like myself, but I just don't know how people can get into Dickens' novels, especially this one. I was unfortunately assigned to read this book twice in high school and have read it a total of three times (I read it in eighth grade for leisure). I really regret wasting the time and energy. There is not one character in this book that I can really care for, which is a big turn off for me. And Lucie...ugh! I never thought an author could make one of his characters over act in a book. Well, Dickens pulled it off. I love reading and I can find enjoyment in almost every piece of literature I can get my hands on. Except, of course, for a waste of print like this.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2000

    If At All Possible, Avoid It

    I'm 13.. I'm in honors English. I read A Tale of Two Cities along with the rest of my class. I didnt understand. I get the gist of it, but it's so detailed and long, you dont have a clue by the time you read a chapter. I have to read a chapter at least 3 times to sort-of understand.I know probably everyone will have to read it someday, but if at all possible.. AVOID!

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2014

    Kayla*

    *Gorgon.*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2014

    Kayla

    *Kayla ran toward the woods, sword in her hand.*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2014

    Joey

    He screamed, slicing their eads off, running quickly

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2014

    Vic-Joey

    The question is, can You keep up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2014

    VicMars

    Well then.....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2014

    This book was free last year

    Wath the..?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2014

    Ry

    Uhhh, I Think I Understand.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 127 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7