BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

A Tale of Two Cities

Average Rating 4
( 935 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(486)

4 Star

(166)

3 Star

(106)

2 Star

(49)

1 Star

(128)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

24 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

Finally an unabridged reading!

Excellently done!

posted by 1734891 on August 10, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

19 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

Extremely poor scan

You get what you pay for! This is a very crude version of the text, straight from a scan via OCR with no proofreading whatsoever. Spend the few bucks to get a version of this great book that you can actually read!

posted by Gulliver_cc on July 15, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 166 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 9
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2013

    Hyenasilver

    Watches.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2013

    To below

    Dafu<_>q?

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2013

    Good version and good price

    This Nook Book of Tale of Two Cities functions very well. Sometimes I find the cheap versions of the classics don't really work on my nook, but this version is great. You can look up words, use the bookmark functions, and use the table of contents. There does not seem to be much funky formatting either. My daughter is reading this book for school, so having the look-up function for words she doesn't know is really useful. She also likes being able to highlight passages or set bookmarks to come back to.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2012

    Good book

    Personaly i think the movie is wayy better but at first i didnt want read this but after i watched the movie i understood it better You just have to get into the book!!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2012

    Read this book please

    This is such a good book

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    Man in question

    Why do some people say its good and others say its bad?

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2012

    a telling tale of motives, revolution for change

    This story seems poinant now during the current time of oppressed groups around the world. I found it crisp rewarding and writen at a level advanced enough to keep me on it...except for the abased Lucie profile.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2011

    Great book.

    I started reading this in sixrh grade (Yes...sixth grade) but had to stop cause the year ended. Loved it, and I would recomend it to anyone who loves his books and also loves classics.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2011

    A tale of two cities

    Must understand olde english to read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2007

    A reviewer

    I had to read this novel for school. I only had a week to read it, which was enough time to get through but not to fully enjoy it. The thing about Dickens is he describes things in extensive detail, and while it may seem annoying and unimportant (and many times it is unimportant...), it's actually quite good writing. Once you accept the fact that he rambles on, it's easy to get into it. The story and plot is great (no doubt confusing at points), and all the characters and details begin to intertwine. I would recommend reading it slowly instead of rushing through, because while the plot is great, it's the actual writing and style that makes it uniquely Dickens.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2006

    Timeless classic on love and survival

    This rated ¿timeless classic¿ by many great literature critics is, indeed, true to its fame. While weaving together motley storylines, Dickens has meticulously created a novel that emphasizes tolerance and faith. A Tale of Two Cities first creates a well-planned plot that invokes anticipation in the reader by giving all the facts, but revealing nothing. Lucie Manette, the heroine of the story, meets and assumes care of her father, a former imprisoned French patriot. Mr. Lorry, a representative of the famous Tellson¿s Bank, reveals Mr. Manette¿s past to Lucie while Dickens reveals that Mr. Defarge, a bartender, is conspiring with other French patriots in a secret organization called ¿Jacques.¿ The reader does not yet learn why Mr. Manette was imprisoned or what the secret organization does, a tactic that is a favorite use by Dickens. A few years later, Sydney Carton helps free Charles Darnay from an accusation of treason during which Darnay and Carton both fall for Lucie. Despite Carton¿s uninhibited display of affection and Darnay¿s emotionless declaration of love, Lucie chooses Darnay. In the chapter after, Dickens writes, rather strangely, that 10 years have past. Once these 10 years have past, Dickens quickly reveals that Carton and Lorry have become family friends, little Lucie is born, and Mr. Manette has reestablished himself into society. This sudden large barrage of facts, although overwhelming, increases the tension in the book. Soon after, Darnay returns to France on a quest and is imprisoned during the French Revolution. Dickens¿s portrayal of the Reign of Terror is not only a story of tolerance and faith, but of love and survival, a feature that is still seen in any romanticized modern media.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2005

    Denver, CO

    I read this book, partly for school, partly just because I wanted to. The begining chapters were a little slow as he introduced the time period and all the charcters but it gets interesting once you get past all that. I liked the way that Dickens made it all intertwine, what with, Darnay's father and uncle being the reason Doctor Manette went to jail, and Madame Defarge's Family being the family that was hurt and destroyed by the Evermondes and Doctor Manette being their eventual physician. I think that he did an excellent job. But, the end of the book when everything was revealed and when Carton gave his life for everyone else ... It was good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2005

    I had to read it but I am Glad I did

    I had to read this for class but I am very glad I did. This book transforms you into a new time, into Dickens world, into a twisting turn tale of adventure and suspence.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2005

    Gets better with each reading

    This is a great book, in my opinion. Don't read this book if you want some light entertainment, this book is nothing like Harry Potter. Although there are some parts that are too long or too brief, Everything clicks at the end. Just stay focused. Drifting is very bad when you read this book. Trust me, I know. I recommend re-reading this book, because you understand more as you do.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2004

    Time to get out those cliff notes!

    Hey. Yeah. I read this book just because, well, I thought that it would be good. And it was. It just wasn't an easy read, per say. I guess that depends on how much of a scientist genius you are, but, let's just say I'm no genius. I liked the story and even the generic characters. But since it is an oldy, and a tiny bit of a toughy, I took off a star. Yes. Enjoy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 29, 2004

    Good book

    A Tale of Two Cities was a good novel, although I enjoyed the other classic Dickens¿s novel, Great Expectations a great deal more, primarily because there was more insight into the characters. In A Tale of Two Cities, the reader doesn¿t get to experience the characters¿ personalities and feelings as much as I would have liked. In this novel, Dickens mainly explains pictures through the plot and develops characters through dialogue. Consequently, I greatly missed the detailed scenery descriptions and the in-depth explanations of the characters¿ emotions as in Great Expectations. Even though there were some things I didn¿t enjoy about this book, I did like it a lot and it is probably one of my top ten favorite books. I liked how Dickens used factual events intertwined with fictitious characters. I found it remarkable how many details seemed like irrelevant facts in the beginning of the story, but later proved to be significant events. I enjoyed how all of the pieces came together in the last chapters and how everyone was connected to each other in various ways. I saw this movie a couple of months ago in World History, and I thought that the ending was awful and very pessimistic. It wasn¿t until I read the book that I realized it wasn¿t sad, and the following quote gave me a new outlook on the ending: ¿It is a far, far better thing that I do, than I have ever done; it is a far, far better rest that I go to than I have ever known.¿

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2004

    Excellent

    Beautifully written. Dickens has such insight into the human psyche. This book is very ironic, and while it may seem sad, it has undercurrents of hope and joy. I find that this book provides valuable insight into not just the French Revolution, but into the minds of oppressed people in many nations. I have read and reread this book many times, and found different ways of understanding it each time. Dickens uses a lot of foreshadowing and symbolism in this book. The first few paragraphs in this novel are very important as they set the stage for the rest of the novel. They are laden with symbolism, and he keeps coming back to them throughout the course of the novel. I highly suggest reading this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2003

    Social Commentary That Transcends Time

    I'm such a fan of Dickens, but was surprised at how hard it was for me to get into this book. I'm glad to be the type, though, that will finish any book I start because I was certainly rewarded for my perserverance with 'A Tale of Two Cities'. What a great story, so much emotional impact. Dickens conveyed so brilliantly that there can be great beauty among pain and suffering.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2002

    Santa Monica HS student review

    The storyline of the book is great. The plot was very gripping and heart-wrenching, escalating to an intense climax and then coming down in a great shower of sadness and hope. I admit, I cried. I really enjoyed the fact that one can really care for some of the characters, and at times, be astonished at their actions. I loved the fact that the book exposes human nature in its pure rawness and venerability. The contrast between each of the characters was very great and it makes room for more thoughts and ideas. However, some of the characters weren't very developed. Many were, and to those I felt a certain bond. But the characters that only showed one side of their personality (especially if there is nothing extremely special about it) seemed unrealistic and boring. However, Dickens' ideas on the French Revolution radiated through the whole book, and that is definately (to me, at least) a good quality in a book. A piece of work with nothing to say behind it is really monotonous. This book is a great one, and one that everyone should read. It is interesting what we learn of the French Revolution and its effects on the French people.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2002

    My Review on the Tale of Two Cities

    A Tale of Two Cities was one of the most unique and interesting books I've read in a long time. It gives you so much informaton about the French Revolution and how it felt back then. I loved that this book was based on really history. In todays world we fight our wars with armies and get the news from televison while back in the revolution, every person was part of the revolution. You were either on one side or you were on the other. Every revolutionary was like a spy. They all participated in the acts of the revolution. The book was very well written and had a lot of meaning to it. It actually felt like you were part of the French Revolution back in the late 1700's. It was very challenging because there was some vocablary that I had not seen before. The characters used language in a way that modern people do not so that was also challenging. They spoke in a very formal way to one another, I thought that they were rebelling because they has so many rulesbut they still following very fromal rule of the language. They even used language to communicate to one another what side they were on. I was very impressed by how courageous these people were, because they never knew how many people believed what they did. And because of the time they did have modern communication they had no idea of what was going on in the country. To be part of the revolution was an act of faith because they kept trying to change the rules without knowing how much strength in numbers was. It was also a sign of despiration and they really needed change. This reminds of what slaves went through during their fight for freedom. This book was great because it told a story about a real time in history and that story is a story that we can all relate to in our world. I thought it was really a good book. I would recommend this book to anyone who wants to know a lot about the French Revolution or for anyone who likes an intense plot that has your full attention. Again this book was one of a kind and it definitely gets a 4 star review!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 166 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 9