Customer Reviews for

A Tale of Two Cities

Average Rating 4
( 933 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(486)

4 Star

(164)

3 Star

(106)

2 Star

(49)

1 Star

(128)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

24 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

Finally an unabridged reading!

Excellently done!

posted by 1734891 on August 10, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

20 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

Extremely poor scan

You get what you pay for! This is a very crude version of the text, straight from a scan via OCR with no proofreading whatsoever. Spend the few bucks to get a version of this great book that you can actually read!

posted by Gulliver_cc on July 15, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 164 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 3 of 9
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2002

    Tell me A Tale of Two Cities

    I recommend reading A Tale of Two Cities by Charles Dickens because it is a novel of knowledge that educates on historical events, such as the Industrial Revolution in London and the French Revolution in Paris during the late 1770s. Not only did the novel discuss history with fictional characters, but social problems that developed between the peasants and wealthy. The revolters in Paris, France conflicted with the peaceful people in London, England. The contrast between settings evolved into conflicts between characters. The impecunious peasants saw the wealthy aristocrats as an evil race that should be wiped out completely by the blade of the Guillotine. This novel used a series of symbolic objects and people to represent the problems. For instance, the red wine represented the bloodshed that was coming with the revolution and Lucie Manette represented the 'Golden Thread' that tied everyone together through rough times. This novel taught a theme of love and hatred; love can surpass hatred with love shown in return. Many themes can come from this novel but love is the significance in the novel. Sydney Carton loved Lucie so much that he would sacrifice his life for her happiness. I especially enjoyed the plot of this novel. Charles Dickens used a fantastic use of diction in A Tale of Two Cities, which evokes the reader¿s mind into imagery. He also used the term paradox at the opening paragraph, which states, ¿It was the worst of time, it was the best of times . . .¿ The novel keeps the reader on the edge of their seat, wanting to read more to figure out what happened next. I think A Tale of Two Cities deserves four stars because the novel teaches the readers that they can change their life around to something great and to never give up on love and happiness. The novel had several characters experience a moral reconciliation, such as Sydney Carton. Dickens used a wide variety of changes to enthuse the reader¿s mind. Staying in the same place and time can bore the reader and drag out the plot slowly, but Dickens used several settings, such as the Bastille, England, France, the courtroom, and the Guillotine to produce change. I recommend this novel to people who like to read about revolutions because this is based on the history of war. Also people who like to read about love, suspense, and romance could also enjoy this novel. The novel is suitable for all types of people. This novel may appear to be difficult to read because it is long, but the occurring actions will not let you put it down for even a minute. The authors attitude and mood is very stressful at the beginning, then gloomy at the end. In a sense, it is sort of a relief at the end of the novel because everyone is free from some sort of entrapment within themselves. Altogether, this novel is an extraordinary novel, sort of like a parable, that teaches a lesson.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2002

    Recommended (but read slowly)

    A Tale of Two Cities by Charles Dickens was, surprisingly, a good book and an enjoyable read. I say surprising because I tried to read Oliver Twist, also by Dickens, and hated it. But after reading this book, I'd be willing to give Oliver another chance. I enjoyed the humor in this book and found that the nineteenth century language wasn't too incomprehensible. The descriptive parts of the book were relatively short and easy to understand. Dickens doesn't use too much flowery language and gets to the point of what he's trying to say. One of my favorite descriptions is that of Jerry Cruncher, the odd-job man for Tellson's Bank. His hair sticks up so stiff and jaggedly, that no one would want to play leapfrog with him because of the danger. One of my favorite characters was Mr. Jarvis Lorry of Tellson's Bank. He tries to appear to be all business, but he has a soft spot when it comes to Lucie and Doctor Mannette. He creates a fair amount of the humor in the story. An example being when Miss Pross despairs over the 'hundreds of people' who will come to call, while in reality it is only Charles Darnay and Sydney Carton. He waits all day 'and still no Hundreds of people.' However, Mr. Lorry observes that she has a 'fit of the jerks' when each of the 'Two' shows up. The story takes place during the French Revolution and there is a considerable amount of blood and gore. However, I think it is necessary to the story because it shows what a revolution is like. It is interesting to note the number of characters in the tale. Like when reading a Shakespearean play, one almost needs a Dramatis Personae to refer to. I count eleven main characters, with at least six other important characters. This is confusing in the beginning, to try to follow what eleven people are doing, but it all comes together later on, which makes it bearable. One of the best things about this book is the ending. Not to give it away, I will only say that while it is tragic, it is right, and therefore satisfying. By ending with a bit of tragedy, it makes it more realistic than if everyone lives happily ever after.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2001

    You've gotta read this!! It's amazing!!

    Wow!! That's all I can say!! I thought that the book started off a bit slow but then it definately sped up. The best part is without a doubt in the third book rom chapter 10 through the end. You would never believe if i told you what happened....it would never be predicted!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2001

    Near Perfect Novel

    A Tale of Two Cities is one of the greatest novels I have ever read. It has everything from secrets, mystery, action and romance. Dickens really did a good job writing this piece of work. I loved the fact that Dickens didn't give the reader everything at once.This novel is sort of like a jigsaw puzzle and Dickens gives you the pieces and it's the reader's job to put it all together. Sure the language is difficult but once the reader gets comfortable then the language will seem easier.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2001

    While it starts out slowly...

    I had to read the book for English and was set on the fact that I would not. Simply because I thought Charles Dickens was a horrible author and I hated Great Expectations, but I started it none the less. My cliff's notes right along side, and as I began to get into the Cliff's Notes I began to read the book instead. Once your into the second book it begins to hold your attention. But if your in high school like I am your probably no extremely knowledgeable the French Revoloution so I'd recommend the Cliff's notes that broken down by chapter to help you through the boring, parts, but ultimately its a wonderful book of friendship, love, and sacrafice. And I liked it though I won't ever admit it to my English teacher...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2001

    Good Book

    This is a classic tale about friendship and love, and it gives a good picture of all of the injustices during the French Revolution. Charles Dickens does a great job of showing us what life was like for everyone during this time period. It is a great insperational book and has a great message about friendship hiiden inside it. Although this book starts off a little slow and has a great deal of large words and long sentences, readers will soon find that they won't be able to put this book down. Don't listen to people when they say that this novel is boring and old. The truth is that this is one of the best books I have ever read. Overall, this is a great book and I think that it is a book that everyone should want to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2001

    A True Classic

    This novel is surely a must read for all people with a true love for the written word. I first read this book in my seventh grade language arts class. I was hungry for a book that did not insult my intelligence with petty and far-fetched romances or over-dramatized problems. A Tale of Two Cities was that book. If found it compelling and groundbreaking in my world of 'happily ever after'. Those who find this book a boring example of classic literature obviously did not deserve to read it. Those of you who did read it and appreciate it's realistic views and vivid descriptions are the kind of people that I like to surround myself with. Though I truly love this book and all of Dickens' works, I give it only a rating of 4 because although the descriptions of the French Revolutions are very real and accurate, the scenes that involve human nature are rather poor. For example, the scene in which Lucie asks her husband to let Carton visit whenever he wants lacks a certain realistic bond between husband and wife. This absence is most likely due to the period in that Dickens was writing in. But overall this book is an excellent piece of writing and should be enjoyed by everyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2000

    Great Novel - - One of Dicken's Best - - Yet hard to understand

    I loved this book but sometimes it was hard to understand the words.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2000

    DICKENS BEST NOVEL

    This is Charles Dickens best novel. Although it may start a little slow, by the end you fall in love with it. The plot is developed great and it is a classic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2000

    A Tale of Two Cities

    This book is one of the best I have ever read. It is hard to understand because of the time period it was written in but the storyline is exceptional. It is a wonderful story of deep love, the tragedies of war, and great heroism. It's definitly a tear jerker and personally, I cried for a long time. I strongly reccomend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 164 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 3 of 9