BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

A Tale of Two Vikings

Average Rating 4.5
( 99 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(71)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 71 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2004

    Funny!

    The twin bond is never more strong than between twin Viking brothers, Toste and Vagn Ivarsson. It is almost more tragic than death for them to be parted, but in a battle they are separated. Vagn finds himself in the care of Helga who his twin dissed and ditched, naming her Helga the Homely. For once, he disagrees with Toste, finding her anything but, and desperate to convince her he's not the other brother. Toste, though believed dead, is not, but in the care of a novice nun. Lady Esme finds she has a lot more to confess, if that's possible, since the virile Viking came into her care. ..................... ***** Broad, slapstick comedy rollics across the pages as these two brothers learn how to be individual men and win their ladies' hearts. Esme's story is a bit more intriguing than Helga's, but on the whole, the novel will remind you of one of Shakespeare's comedies. *****

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2011

    I love Sandra Hill Viking stories, FUN!! and FUNNY!!!

    Must read ALL her Viking books, they are so funny. I laugh so much and enjoy her books greatly.
    Thank you Sandra Hill,
    Sheila in CO

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2014

    Ms. Hill yours were my frist book in this era and for the next eight years

    I have been reading and finding others who wrote books such as yours. But these books I have read twice and will always keep close. I read them before I bought my nook. Wonderful and there is none like you. Thank you for opening a new world to me....your greatest fan. Ms. D from Bronx NY

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A delight

    In 964 in the Land of the Saxon, identical twins Toste and Vagn Ivarsson have never been apart as they are best friends as well as brothers. However, due to their childish behavior, their disappointed father exiles his offspring hoping the pair finds themselves by partaking in a Viking raid. Having to smell two hundred Vikings who never bathe over months, the Ivarsson brothers know raiding is not their lifestyle. During the chaos of an assault, they are separated and both injured.

    When Toste regains consciousness he finds a horde of nuns tending to his wounds. Also at the nunnery is Lady Esme, hiding from her avaricious father until she can gain her inheritance. Toste agrees to assist her because he has fallen in love with her.

    At the same time, Vagn awakens to find himself tied to a bed in Gorm Sigurdsson's home. His host believes he has captured Toste, who he has chosen to wed his daughter Helga. However, Helga would know Vagn anywhere as she wants his baby and him too if he is willing.

    This is a zany over the top of the High Road "double the trouble" Viking romance as the Ivarsson twins lighten up the Dark Ages with their antics in and out of the boudoir. Fast-paced, readers will root for the twins to reunite (with their respective beloved woman nearby) as Sandra Hill provides twice the spice, jocular and as usual irreverent historical romance.

    Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2004

    A wacky wonderful tale

    Except for three foolish months as nine year olds, identical twins Toste and Vagne Ivarsson might as well have been Siamese because they were never apart for the thirty-one years they have lived so far. In 964 in the Land of the Saxons, the brothers are in the midst of a berserker battle, but become separated; each thinks the other died...................................... Toste soon finds he is amidst the nuns of St. Anne¿s Abbey where he is immediately attracted to frequent ¿sinner¿ Lady Esme, a resident in hiding form her father for over a decade. Knowing it is time to confront dear old dad, Esme has the champion to do so as Toste agrees to help her obtain her rightful inheritance. He prays to Odin that will give him the time to obtain what he wants, Esme.................................. Gorm Sigurdsson has Vagne tied to a bed in his home. He has mistaken Vagne for Toste, who he expects to wed his daughter Helga. However, to his shock, Helga recognizes that the incarcerated male is Vagne who she wants to sire a child with; an arrangement that he finds lacking because he wants to sire several children with the woman he loves................................... A TALE OF TWO VIKINGS is a 1930s screwball romantic comedy set in the tenth century as only the incomparable Sandra Hill could sensationally pull off. The entertaining story line combines action with humor as the twins find love once they are split. Historical romance fans who appreciate an offbeat some what whacky tale will want to read (in one sitting not leisurely) Ms. Hills¿s fabulous funny frolic........................... Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2014

    To lila

    Home....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2014

    To lila

    It gets better. Do ya want to be in the story??? My sister(rainpath) turns into a robot. It is only going to be on harry potter three. Love ya babe

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2014

    To thornclaw

    Ok thx

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2014

    Lila

    Hey u have not been on for a while

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2014

    &stars &hearts

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2014

    Alex

    Said sleepily "wanna get a snack or something? The kitchen is this way. I have anything u want" and smiled

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2014

    <3

    <3

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2014

    Destiny

    HAPPY FOURTH OF JULY!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2014

    Llama's bio

    My name is Llama. I am 16. Boy. I have white-blonde curly hair and light whte eyes. Light beige skin. I wear a black hoodie and black pants. Black boots too. I have good grammar. Godly parent is Athena.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2014

    &#hearts

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2014

    EMILEE IS A

    SL?U?T AND <b> WHO?R???E <p> FROM VANCE

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2014

    Hepheastus/Hectate cabin

    Here.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2014

    silver

    Ok you advertise and get things set up i have to go to bed

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2014

    Charite's updated bio

    Name: Charite***Age: Appears to be sixteen***Eyes: Blue***Height: 6' 1"***Personality: Usually good-natured and freindly***Freinds: Regi, Kain, Steel(sorry if I forgot you)***Enemies: Matthew, Kantos***Crush: Regi***Girlfreind: Regi

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2014

    Need to play a family game gtg ttyl

    My chat times are 6:00-6:30 am central time 4:15 to bedtime central time.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 71 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4