BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Tale of the Body Thief (Vampire Chronicles Series #4)

Average Rating 4
( 243 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(98)

4 Star

(78)

3 Star

(52)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 243 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 13
  • Posted January 18, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A definite change of pace

    While others found this their favorite among the vampire chronicles, I however, did not. I don't mind the change of pace, though the story itself seemed to fall short of my expectations. It certainly was not all bad, I actually found it rather enjoyable. In fact the more I read, the more I enjoyed it. Think of it as a "snowball effect," very slow starter. There were even times when I made myself read it though I didn't want to. By the time I was 3/4 through it I found it difficult to put down, all with a rather satisfying ending. If you enjoyed the chronicles, give this a read, it's Lestat in a whole new light.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 1, 2011

    This is the first anne rice book i read. Its good read it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 24, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    Happy to have this one in my library. Highly Recommended.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Very Good

    Excellent book, wish Anne would go back to her writing roots and produce more like this

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2014

    Wonderful!

    I read this many years ago and it still haunts me to this day! I will hopefully get to read this again soon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2013

    The best one yet

    Interesting all the way through! The best vampire chronicle book so far

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2012

    Badass!!

    One of my very favorite Vampire Chronicles' series books. Lots of twists and turns where you least expect them in this one.

    I highly recommend this if you haven't read it already.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 19, 2012

    .

    .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Good book

    Good book

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2011

    My favorite book yet in the series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2010

    My favorite of the Vampire Chronicles

    This is one of the best of the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2010

    odd yet entertaining

    for Lestat lovers

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Read it, you can't skip it.

    A nice little tale, but very predictable. I was grateful for anything I didn't guess, no matter how small. But you need this for the rest of the Vampire Chronicles, so do read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    very satisfied

    not her best, but a very good addition to the series. Anne Rice shows you through Lestat's eyes what it feels like to go from vampire to human

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The Tale of the Body Thief, the Vampire Chronicles, Book 4

    Coming soon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2009

    Different

    Not the best Anne Rice but very interesting

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    An out-of-body experience

    Fantastic tale of our lovable (yet aggravatingly pompous) lestat! The book was far more enjoyable than the third installment of the Vampire Chronicles.

    The tale shows Lestat in the sort of light that we felt at the beginning of Queen of the Damned - broken, unsure, standing up, while tumbling down. It was nice to see him fall into the horrible mishap, which he fully walked into, and how much it revitalized him throughout the story.

    Definitely one of the better Vampire Chronicles. I'd recommend it for anyone!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Wow, this book was so great

    I really enjoyed reading this book, it was probably my favorite of the whole vampire chronicles! I loved how dramatic the scene with lestat and the supposed David was so intense! you could feel the emotion in the text! Really great book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2008

    BORING - I got nothing out of this

    Very disappointing followup to the last two novels in this series, whose stories would have been impossible to surpass. Skip this one, the series got better with her next one, Memnoch, and should've ended there.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 243 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 13