Customer Reviews for

The Tale of the Body Thief (Vampire Chronicles Series #4)

Average Rating 4
( 239 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(97)

4 Star

(76)

3 Star

(51)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 76 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted January 18, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A definite change of pace

    While others found this their favorite among the vampire chronicles, I however, did not. I don't mind the change of pace, though the story itself seemed to fall short of my expectations. It certainly was not all bad, I actually found it rather enjoyable. In fact the more I read, the more I enjoyed it. Think of it as a "snowball effect," very slow starter. There were even times when I made myself read it though I didn't want to. By the time I was 3/4 through it I found it difficult to put down, all with a rather satisfying ending. If you enjoyed the chronicles, give this a read, it's Lestat in a whole new light.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Very Good

    Excellent book, wish Anne would go back to her writing roots and produce more like this

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2013

    The best one yet

    Interesting all the way through! The best vampire chronicle book so far

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Good book

    Good book

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 1, 2011

    This is the first anne rice book i read. Its good read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Posted November 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Read it, you can't skip it.

    A nice little tale, but very predictable. I was grateful for anything I didn't guess, no matter how small. But you need this for the rest of the Vampire Chronicles, so do read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2009

    Different

    Not the best Anne Rice but very interesting

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2006

    an adventure worth sharing

    After reading The Tale of the Body Thief, I felt an even greater push for me to continue reading the vampire chronicles. This book is full of adventure, drama, mystery and our beloved Lestat. A character introduced to readers in the last book The Queen of the Damned, David Talbot, becomes somewhat of an obsession for Lestat in the beginning of the book but something else is in the back of his mind. Wherever Lestat is in the world, this man always seems to appear as if HE is stalking Lestat. Naturally, Lestat becomes somewhat intrigued with this mysterious man and wants to meet with him. This man, who readers find to be named James, has an interesting offer for Lestat. James offers the vampire a chance to become mortal once again by switching bodies with him, only for a certain amount of time of course. Lestat, driven by the power of curiosity and persuasion, agrees to this bizarre request and the mortal Lestat is alive once again and thus, the real story begins. I thoroughly enjoyed this book and I caught myself on several occasions completely wrapped up in the world Anne Rice has created for readers. I recommend anyone who has not started reading the vampire chronicles to definitely start. Current readers of the chronicles will not be disappointed. Now, let the adventure begin!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2005

    I liked this book A lot.

    Okay. This book was really good, although i did not like it as well as Interview or as much as Queen of the Damned. I think it went by sort of slow, but all and all it was pretty good. Of course I am going to continue with Anne's books. And also am very anxious as to see what happens to Lestat next, i have absolutly fallen for Lestat.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2005

    awesome

    Lestat is my hero! i usually dont read anything tht isnt fantasy/scifi, but this series is to good to pass up

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2004

    Bold and sensual. You feel for Lestat

    The writing of Anne Rice brings you into the book. More in this than others. You are with Lesat ever part of his trial and you find yourself feeling for. This fiendest devil he so boldly calls himself.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2003

    Outstanding

    This book was amazing! The way Mrs. Rice pays attention to the detail in the story is exceptional. Even though Lestat can be cruel, you begin to sympathize with him when the simplest 'human' tasks are hard for him to complete. I would recommend it for anyone to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2002

    Recommended for any Anne Rice fan.

    For one who is accustomed to Anne Rice's previous novels, this modernistic and very abstract stoy will come as a shock-- but not an unpleasant one. Basically, the story revolves around Lestat and his adventures when he switches bodies with an estraged and demented member of the Talamasca and all of his human experiences and his quest to retrieve his stolen vampire body. David Talbot, his only friend in this situation, is a lovable and wisened character and most of the book is merely amusing-- to see how Lestat describes eating chocolate or drinking orange juice. The Gretchen situation though-- what a blatant imitation of Goethe's Faust... This book, though it is less gothic and eloquent than her previous, is still very good. I would recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 76 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4