Customer Reviews for

The Talent Code: Greatness Isn't Born. It's Grown. Here's How.

Average Rating 4
( 72 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(34)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

LOVED IT!!!

I just read this book for a class assignment. I was planning on reading it anyways but I thought it was very enlightening. The ideas are not earth shattering but interesting with the type of context he puts it all in. I truly believe anyone especially youth league coach...
I just read this book for a class assignment. I was planning on reading it anyways but I thought it was very enlightening. The ideas are not earth shattering but interesting with the type of context he puts it all in. I truly believe anyone especially youth league coaches should read this book...it really shows the importance of learning the correct way the first time. What I liked about it was it isn't just about athletics but about anything anyone wants to be successful at. I liked the idea of deep practice. A must read if you are a teacher or coach...

posted by 4407642 on July 17, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Could be a magazine article

There are a few ideas in this book, but it appears to me to be one of those cases where the author had an single idea then forced enough other material in to call it a book.

Some of the arguments just don't make it. Pick and choose examples carefully and you can mak...
There are a few ideas in this book, but it appears to me to be one of those cases where the author had an single idea then forced enough other material in to call it a book.

Some of the arguments just don't make it. Pick and choose examples carefully and you can make any argument. Too bad, I was hoping for more.

Borrow it, read it fast, maybe you can get a little something from it.

posted by ezDave on December 24, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    If you want o understand how to motivate yourself, your children, anyone you may be coaching - or - if you're looking for a coach or teacher - then this is THE book for you! Well researched, insightful, scientifically sound - and a darn good read!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2011

    LOVED IT!!!

    I just read this book for a class assignment. I was planning on reading it anyways but I thought it was very enlightening. The ideas are not earth shattering but interesting with the type of context he puts it all in. I truly believe anyone especially youth league coaches should read this book...it really shows the importance of learning the correct way the first time. What I liked about it was it isn't just about athletics but about anything anyone wants to be successful at. I liked the idea of deep practice. A must read if you are a teacher or coach...

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2010

    Fascinating Reading

    This book is entertaining and interesting. It dispels some myths about talent and learning and shows how a person can develop excellent skills without possessing natural talent. Anyone interested in teaching and learning should read this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 4, 2012

    The appreciation of this book at its deepest level requires an u

    The appreciation of this book at its deepest level requires an understanding beyond conventional wisdom. Most negative reviews on here are made by people with average at best insight into what's being presented. When I started reading this book I realized it was very familiar...it explains what I did to achieve unheard of success in two extremely difficult fields. Practice does not make perfect is the whole point. I recommend this book and give it away all the time because I have first hand knowledge of using deep practice to achieve more than what was possible.  This book is the most important book I will read in a decade...maybe in my life and I already know most of this.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2012

    Highly Recommend to anyone raising or teaching children!

    I found this book fascinating. It is a must read for anyone dealing with children.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    One Of The Best Coaching Resources

    If your a coach you really should read this book. It will give you a good insight in the ways to get the best out of your players. The characters will all seem familiar because we know teachers and students who are just like those in the book. When I speak to parents and coaches I always mention this book as a reference to my coaching style.

    The Talent Code is one of those books where you can't go wrong if you buy it.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2010

    Amazing book!

    Learned so much from this book. Read it and then read it again - Love it!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2014

    The Talent Code

    Read it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2013

    HIGHLY RECOMMENDED

    Great Book to Read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    The Talent Code Will Help You Become a Better Teacher, Coach, or Talent-Developer

    A friend recommended The Talent Code, and I was very intrigued and ordered the book that very day. I am now on my second time through. I have been a successful coach for several years, but reading this book has caused me to take a look at how I can better develop both the individual talents of my players and the way I design my practices. The section of the book on "deep practice" is worth the price of the book, but there is much more in the way of important information that I can use. This is a valuable book for any teacher or coach, or anyone else who is involved in developing talent.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    Outstanding narrative of recent research in skill development.

    The Talent Code by Daniel Coyle is a very entertaining treatment of potentially dry subject matter. Daniel Coyle explores recognized hotbeds of talent and postulates similarities of their successes. He spends a great deal of time weaving the results of recent "brain development" studies throughout the interesting treatise.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2