Customer Reviews for

Talented

Average Rating 4.5
( 138 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(78)

4 Star

(39)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Talented is a wonderful book! The story is rich with action, has

Talented is a wonderful book! The story is rich with action, has strong characters and is visually beautiful. I could picture everything in my mind, as if I were watching a movie. There was not too much romance, but enough to make me go "awww". The story remin...
Talented is a wonderful book! The story is rich with action, has strong characters and is visually beautiful. I could picture everything in my mind, as if I were watching a movie. There was not too much romance, but enough to make me go "awww". The story reminded me of a futuristic X-Men story. I hope everyone gives it a fair chance and loves it as much as I do!

posted by 8845857 on February 28, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

No way

Okay, so the book seamed good at first. But the author explains things too fast and it's hard to enjoy.

posted by 18087353 on November 20, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted February 1, 2013

    Rating: 4.5 Brief Synopsis: In a futuristic setting, life on E

    Rating: 4.5

    Brief Synopsis:
    In a futuristic setting, life on Earth has turned upside down. Due to the Great Contamination - and the leaking of nuclear waste
    resulting in nuclear contamination - a generation of children with abnormalities are brought into the world.

    Some, though, are slightly weirder than others. They are the Talented. Whether Morphers, Light Manipulators or Telekinetics,
    these kids are taught to hone their abilities and make use of them under the protective eye of the government. To use their Talents for
    good.

    But all Talia wants is revenge.

    Talia joins the Hunters, in the hopes of one day killing Ian Crane - the man who had her parents killed before her eyes. But she has
    a lot to learn. With help from Hunters Erik and Henri she trains to become what she believes will help ease the pain inside.

    A thousand question run through her head: Who is she really hurting? Is Donovan, her life-long friend, her true love? Or is Erik, her
    right hand man? Is revenge a dish best served cold? And most importantly, is the government really protecting the Talented...or is
    there something sinister occurring behind the smiling facades? 
    A action-packed H.I.V.E-like adventure, about a group of teenagers who aren't afraid to embrace their fears and fight for what they
    believe. 

    My Notes:
    First things first - I loved it.
    The whole idea was so vividly put to paper, that I could immediately see it in my mind - all thoroughly explained so as to immerse the
    reader in this world so like our own and yet, so different. Talia's emotions are yours; her pain your pain, her loss yours. She never
    scrambles her words, and funnily enough - unlike most heroines - is the first to admit to be either too clingy, or too afraid. She sees her
    faults and it is that which makes her all the more real.
    The other characters are a joy to read: Erik (whom I nickname the Fire Truck 'cause his looks could set the building on fire, lol) is
    sarcastic, strong, has that relaxed graceful way of doing everything - like he was born to be brilliant - and yet underneath all the
    bravado is a really sweet and concerned guy, who's just afraid to be rejected.

    Henri's basically like Talia's stand-in Dad - there with all the curfew reminders, no-boys-allowed rules and of course the heart-felt advice
    that makes him such a loveable character.

    Donovan...well. Hmph. You'll see, that's all I'm saying for now. I like him so much better BEFORE he got so...clingy. NOT a good
    boyfriend trait.

    Penny's fantastic. She reminds me of Penny from Hairspray mixed with a really nail-polish happy, chirpy BFF of any typical teenage girl. 
    I especially love Talia, for no better reason other than she's part Italian and I love Italy and Italian food. *laughs* Jokes!!! I love her
    because she has a moral compass and a sense of struggle; she's not afraid to give it all she's got and she knows how to prioritise.(Example: Which is more important...boy troubles? Or the infiltration mission coming up? Hmm...take a guess, anyone?!)(BTW - she picks the mission, for all you smarty-pants' out there!)
    So get ready to experience a world like no other with Sophie Davis' Talented!

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2013

    I could not put this book down! It was really well written and h

    I could not put this book down! It was really well written and had me hooked from the beginning. I am looking forward to reading more books from Sophie Davis!!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2014

    Love this series!

    This book caught my attention right away and I really enjoyed it. It is written for young adults/teens, but I am 34 and loved the whole series!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Great Teen Read!

    The story had great character development. I loved Erik. His character was so flawed, yet he had a lot of good going on, too. Talia was stronger than she knew, tough, yet vulnerable. Definitely a great read about a dystopian society, teen angst, having to live larger than life through all of the pressures.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2014

    Love the series

    Great read for teens

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2014

    Pretty good

    Im a reader and yes I understand the fact that she is 16 and very inappropriate, but to be honest, its pretty much every teenagers dream. I mean you have to admit, you would Love to be able to drink alchohol that causes no hangovers, sleep in the same bed with a boy who doesnt really pressure you but keeps the offer held high, and be able to control things with just a thought. I will read the rest of the series. See what happens. Some of it was a little wierd, but like i said its pretty much any teenagers dream. So i dont know about reading it if your old enough to drink or if you are a science lover.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2014

    Boyfriend and crush

    Lol, how does that happen

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2014

    Awesome

    Great book. It was super intense. I just couldn't put it down!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2014

    Good read

    It captivated me in just the first couple of pages! Just wish it would let me read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2014

    Read it now!

    Bought the book thinking it'd be completely Sci-Fi oriented but I got much more. It has some romance, quite a bit of action, and a great plot line overall. Can't wait to read the next books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2014

    Fun reading

    Usually don't go for YA books all that much but I sample a lot of free 1st sequel books & occasionally find ones and plan to buy the rest. This is one of them. No heavy lifting, just entertainment. Thanks.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2014

    Very good read. Loved the characters and all the action in this

    Very good read. Loved the characters and all the action in this book. The love stories add to the read. I really enjoyed the paranormal twist. I'll recommend this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I would like to thank NetGalley and Indie Inked for granting me

    I would like to thank NetGalley and Indie Inked for granting me the chance to read this e-book in exchange for an honest review. Though I received the e-book for free that in no way influenced this review. 


    When Talia Lyons was just a child, her parents were murdered before her eyes. Offered a choice between accepting their fate and exacting revenge, Talia trains to become one of the country’s deadliest assassins in order to kill the man responsible for their deaths: Ian Crane. Luckily, Talia was born with a gift- the ability to read and influence the minds of others. At sixteen, Talia is poised to graduate from the McDonough School for the Talented, where she learned to control her abilities. Now there is only one obstacle standing between her and the retribution she craves... Talia herself.

    Her greatest asset may also be her undoing; while a formidable weapon in the field, Talia’s talents prevent her from both shutting off the mental connection she shares with her questionable boyfriend and blocking out the thoughts of a beguiling fellow recruit. But Talia can’t afford to have the feelings and distractions of a normal teenage girl, when her life is far from normal.

    She must regain the single-minded determination that has brought her this far, or it may cost Talia her life when she finally faces Crane. And even after being molded in to a weapon of war, she’ll still have to find the strength it takes to pull the trigger.

    If James Bond and Sookie Stackhouse had a love child with a yearning for vengeance, her story would be TALENTED: an adventure about powerful teenagers who aren’t afraid to embrace their fears and fight for what they believe in.


    Talia is a captivating character, that superhero with the fatal flaw. Although in Talia's case she certainly doesn't see herself as anything resembling a superhero - but she sure sees the flaws. Having been molded by the top dog in the Agency since she was discovered to be the only survivor of her murdered family, Talia filled the gaping hole caused by losing her loving parents with the friendship of her rescuer's son. Donovan became Talia's world, filling the role of family, friend, and eventually boyfriend. 

    Donovan is also Talented, which means he has a special skill set that the average populace does not. Just as Talia does. There are all different types and strengths - people who can morph into an animal, or many, (some can even morph into other people), and the Brains - those who calculate raw data faster than a computer, or the Techs, who have a distinct affinity for technology. And of course there are those with powers like telekinesis, mind-reading, and even compulsion. There used to be more variety and greater strengths, but as time passed since the events that so altered the world, some of the more rare powers just disappeared from the gene pool.

    Talia has spent her life training to become a Hunter, part of an elite squad that goes out to do recon and collect data, even going so far as to kill those on the other side. Hypothetically she knew she would be sent on Kill Missions, but reality is something else altogether.

    For graduation Talia, like all Pledges, must complete a solo Mission. In her case they are sending her up against the head of the opposition to do some recon to try to identify some of their other top agents. She must get into Ian Crane's residence in Las Vegas. The reclusive leader of the Coalition never leaves his fortified compounds, just like Mac, and when either man travels they do so under heavy guard.

    Things fall apart in the end of the Mission, and Crane surprises Talia, telling her things that simply can't be true. He is evil, of course he would tell her lies about her own parents. But there has always been a tiny seed of doubt buried in Talia's mind - will Crane's comments wake the slumbering doubts?

    All this on the poor girl's plate, and that is without even getting into the boy problems she is having!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2014

    I absolutely loved this book.  The only reason it got 4 stars wa

    I absolutely loved this book.  The only reason it got 4 stars was for the numerous typographical errors.  At first I thought, "Oh no, not another dystopian world."  However, the plot is fabulous.  The characters really suck you in and make you cheer for them.  The best I can say is I couldn't put it down and when I finished the book, I rushed out and bought the rest of the series.  Needless to say, I've had a couple of sleepless nights.  You won't be disappointed in this one.  Just the right balance of action, character development, plot twists and turns, and romance.  Loved it.  I devoured it would be more accurate.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2014

    Recommend

    Its a cool story took a little bit to get into but it has action and romance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2013

    I really struggled on my rating of this book. It has some really

    I really struggled on my rating of this book. It has some really silly grammar errors and missing word sequences. Yet, I was sucked into the point where I really couldn't put it down.

    Honestly, I believe this is what Divergent could have been! This was a way better version of that story. Both stories really have no real believability behind it that this world would exist, yet the faced paced action, strong plot devices, and really engaging characters make the story just work for the reader.

    The author did a very detailed and brilliant job of world building in this book one. I have read so many really weak stories lately that give me no world building so in my mind the characters were all running around in a hazy world. Everything in this book popped and reached out in my mind and I was playing it like a movie in my head. I had so many damned feels that I was near hyperventilation point. Talia, to me, is a very believable, and realistic heroine. She's acting age appropriate and still being smart about her choices. I easily put myself into her shoes and found that if I was a teenager again, I wouldn't mind being her!

    This was a high paced thrill ride that kept moving right out of the first page, and didn't stop even when I flicked to the last page. If you are a fan of Divergent, Hunger Games, and The Maze Runner I highly recommend you add this to your reading library.

    *I received a copy of this book from Lovers of Paranormal Group on Goodreads via the Author in exchange for an honest review.*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2013

    A combination of natural disasters and leaking nuclear power pla

    A combination of natural disasters and leaking nuclear power plants have brought the world to a post apocalyptic state. Initially caused by leaking nuclear material, some humans were born with Talents, mental and psychic abilities of varying strengths. The country is divided on the issue of mandatory testing and training. Renegades have taken control of several southwestern states and seek to expand their influence. This is the world in which Natalia Lyon lives.

    Hidden in a closet by her mother, ten year old Natalia Lyon witnessed the brutal slaying of her parents causing her to unleash formidable mental powers killing the entire team that attacked her family. She is rescued from the carnage and taken in by the director of the McDonough school for the Talented, Danbury "Mac" McDonough and his wife. All she wants in return in revenge for the death of her family.

    Seven years later, Talia Lyon has graduated from the McDonough school for the Talented and has been accepted as a pledge for elite Hunter Training. She's one step closer to achieving her goal, killing Ian Crane, the man responsible for sending the team to kill her family.

    Accepted as the third and final member of a team, Talia becomes confused by feelings for team member Erik, especially since she loves Donavon. As training intensifies, Talia learns that even being a mind reader won't give you access to all the secrets someone else is hiding. Not everything or everyone is what they seem to be as she faces at least one betrayal.

    This is as much a paranormal romance as an action story with secret missions. A nice mix of psychic, extreme mental acuity and morphing (shapechanging) abilities. A country divided is at war with itself. This book was an easy read for me. Davis provides some of Talia's memories in places that flow well with the story along with enough history of this worldscape to understand why things are the way they are.

    If you're looking for a "blood and gore" action story, this won't be the book for you. Both the action and romance of this story are suitable for teens or a YA audience. Talented is the first book I've read by this author. Though not quite as riveting as some books, I would still read it again.

    This book is available free for Kindle at Amazon and for Nook at Barnes and Noble.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Talented by Sophie Davis is the first in the Talented series. Na

    Talented by Sophie Davis is the first in the Talented series. Natalia Lyons is only eighteen, but at the McDonough School for the Talented she is an exceptional Mind Manipulator (she can read and influence others’ minds). Her only goal is to enter the Hunter program with TOXIC, a government agency, and avenge her parents’ deaths. 
    The book takes place during her Senior year which is her Pledge year, where she trains with a team and prepares her for her solo mission that will determine whether she graduates and becomes a Hunter. It doesn’t help that she is one of only a few female Hunters. Things are also complicated when Talia’s love life begins to interfere with her training.
    Talented flows well and Talia has an easy voice to follow, so it is an easy read. Talia’s character is tough, yet vulnerable enough to identify with. I was able to get a pretty clear idea of who she was. The supporting cast is decent although some secondary characters didn’t differentiate in my mind. I would have liked a clearer image of Donovan, her best friend and boyfriend, who is also a Hunter with TOXIC. When I finished the book, I had to go back and skim to remember what Talent he had.
    The setting is detailed and convincing. It takes place in a future where the Talented have telekinesis or can morph into animals among other cool “powers.” I was impressed with the details of everyday life as well as government involvement in the setting and the plot. I think it is the details that give this book credibility. There were several times that I felt like, “Oh, I didn’t think of that. Good point.” These were things that I would’ve easily overlooked, but then after thinking back I would want clarification on. The author was really on top of these minute details.
    Talented also has a lot of action in it and the scenes are clear and well paced. It has you glued to the page throughout. There are places where it slows as we follow Talia through training and such, but it overall keeps a good pace.
    The dialog is realistic and playful or intense when it needs to be without being theatrical. There is a good deal of dialog that occurs in Talia’s mind. I thought it was handled pretty well. There are only a few parts that seemed weird about it.
    I didn’t give it 5 out of 5 because there are times that the plot does push it a little bit and there is a revelation that I did not agree with. However, I enjoyed this story and I’m looking forward to the next book in the series to see how Talia handles all the information she gained in this first book. I recommend this book to readers who like science-fiction, romance and espionage. There are some really cool gadgets in there.
    Rating 4/5

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2013

    I absolutely love the creativity of the Talented world and the p

    I absolutely love the creativity of the Talented world and the plot has such great twists and turns!!!!  There's tons of suspense, great characters with much yummy chemistry!  I will warn you that this book takes some time to really take off.  Honestly, the first 20% had me worried.  Dystopian novels do have a great deal of world building needed, but combine that with too much "telling, not showing," and you're off to a slow start.  but once this book picks up, man, it's tough to put down!  By the end of the book, your jaw is dropped and you're stuck with one word ... "wow!"  Now that ending is indeed a huge (but not completely inconclusive) cliff hanger, so you may just wanna go ahead and grab the next two books in the series while you're at it, cuz the end just left me begging for more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2013

    Love this book, and can't wait to finish the rest of the series!

    Love this book, and can't wait to finish the rest of the series! Granted, there are a lot of gramatical mistakes, and missing words (as there seems to be with just about every book I read these days), but the story is certainly interesting and original, love the plot, and love the characters. First book left me wanting more and more, can't wait to finish the series :D

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2