Customer Reviews for

The Talented Mr. Ripley

Average Rating 4.5
( 36 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Ripley is like no other character

The only bad thing is I saw this movie before I read the book so I knew what was going to happen. This was a great book and I love Patricia Highsmith's writing so easy yet elegant. There isn't really a bad thing about this book. I plan on reading the other 4 books conne...
The only bad thing is I saw this movie before I read the book so I knew what was going to happen. This was a great book and I love Patricia Highsmith's writing so easy yet elegant. There isn't really a bad thing about this book. I plan on reading the other 4 books connected to the ripley and you should to!

posted by Anonymous on July 20, 2002

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

The Talented Mr. Ripley by Particia Highsmith is the story of To

The Talented Mr. Ripley by Particia Highsmith is the story of Tom Ripley, a twenty-five-year-old con artist and forgerer. He is approached by Mr. Greenleaf and asked to travel to Italy to try to persuade his son Dickie Greenleaf to return to America because he has been ...
The Talented Mr. Ripley by Particia Highsmith is the story of Tom Ripley, a twenty-five-year-old con artist and forgerer. He is approached by Mr. Greenleaf and asked to travel to Italy to try to persuade his son Dickie Greenleaf to return to America because he has been gone a long time and Mrs. Greenleaf is ill. Although Tom had met Dickie only once, and tells Mr. Greenleaf as much,Mr. Greenleaf insists and offers to pay all his expenses. Wanting to get away from his dead-end life and start anew, Tom accepts. Neither of them knows that their arrangement will lead to multiple crimes.
Entertaining storyline. However, it was a long read. The pacing was good but it sometimes read like one of the classics we had to read in English class at school. Description was heavy but not burdensome. The life of these well-off Americans living in Italy was slow and lazy so I guess the story was matching that kind of living. Interesting plot device.
This is the first crime novel I've read outside if Agatha Christie. There are sequels but I doubt I will read them. I have yet to see the movie.
I originally gave the book 4 stars because the writing is superb. Ms. Highsmith describes Italy beautifully. The crime part is a little farfetched in places. But I chalk that up to the time period which I guess is around the 1950s. With all the advances in crime scene investigation, it's hard for me to roll my mind back to a time where detectives just took people's word for it. Also there was a certain amount of deference to Americans living abroad. So because of that I downgraded to 3 out of 5 stars.

posted by AuthorMomCC on April 4, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted April 4, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    The Talented Mr. Ripley by Particia Highsmith is the story of To

    The Talented Mr. Ripley by Particia Highsmith is the story of Tom Ripley, a twenty-five-year-old con artist and forgerer. He is approached by Mr. Greenleaf and asked to travel to Italy to try to persuade his son Dickie Greenleaf to return to America because he has been gone a long time and Mrs. Greenleaf is ill. Although Tom had met Dickie only once, and tells Mr. Greenleaf as much,Mr. Greenleaf insists and offers to pay all his expenses. Wanting to get away from his dead-end life and start anew, Tom accepts. Neither of them knows that their arrangement will lead to multiple crimes.
    Entertaining storyline. However, it was a long read. The pacing was good but it sometimes read like one of the classics we had to read in English class at school. Description was heavy but not burdensome. The life of these well-off Americans living in Italy was slow and lazy so I guess the story was matching that kind of living. Interesting plot device.
    This is the first crime novel I've read outside if Agatha Christie. There are sequels but I doubt I will read them. I have yet to see the movie.
    I originally gave the book 4 stars because the writing is superb. Ms. Highsmith describes Italy beautifully. The crime part is a little farfetched in places. But I chalk that up to the time period which I guess is around the 1950s. With all the advances in crime scene investigation, it's hard for me to roll my mind back to a time where detectives just took people's word for it. Also there was a certain amount of deference to Americans living abroad. So because of that I downgraded to 3 out of 5 stars.

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Crazy shennanigans!

    Most stories need a hero and a villain. Mr. Tom Ripley is suprisingly both. A true gem is this novel. Pay close atenttion to the discrepencies that contrast book and movie. Ripley's sexualallity is not questionable (to me) - his threshold to avoid detection and capture are. Is there anything he won't or can't do? Balls to the wall! I have read over 120 books and this one has the most suspense.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2010

    One of the best American novels of the 1950s

    The Talented Mr. Ripley is a superb novel that in an elegant, restrained and utterly believable fashion explores the mind of a psychopath. It also makes excellent use of its postwar Italy setting. A must read for anyone interested in 20th century American fiction. Very highly recommended!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2002

    Ripley is like no other character

    The only bad thing is I saw this movie before I read the book so I knew what was going to happen. This was a great book and I love Patricia Highsmith's writing so easy yet elegant. There isn't really a bad thing about this book. I plan on reading the other 4 books connected to the ripley and you should to!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2001

    Wow

    I can barely ever find a book I like, and I almost cried when I finished this and it's two sequels. I usualy don't like anything remotely creepy, but I love this book. I have not seen The movie, and doubt completely that it does the book jus

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2000

    The Best Book I Have Read in Months and Months

    I read this book at the beach over the long Memorial Day weekend. This is the first book I have read in a long time that I absolutely could NOT put down! Ms. Highsmith's ability to evoke vivid images with her compelling prose...magnificent! I have not seen the movie but I have heard that it is awful...not true to the book at all. That's a shame because the whole time I was reading the book I kept thinking how beautifully and easily it would adapt to a screenplay. Ms. Highsmith truly made me feel as if I were THERE with Tom in Italy. I read of Tom Ripley's sociopathic exploits with morbid fascination...this man was completely devoid of any morality whatsoever...and to think that Ms. Highsmith actually made me 'root' for him!!! I only have one thing to say...READ THIS BOOK!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2013

    A +

    Great read

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 14, 2011

    Manipulative

    So manipulative! I love it! I don't want to ruin the ending for anyone but I loved the ending and I did not think things were going to go that way for him. It's like a happy ending, but for the bad guy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2014

    :-(

    DONT LIKE IT

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Meh

    Just when I was getting really bored with this book, the main character killed someone. Cool!

    My mother recommended this to me. When my mother recommends books or movies, she gets downright insistent. She does not give up. I had seen the movie based on this book and liked it pretty well, so I thought, "Sure, why not." And mom compared Highsmith to Ruth Rendell, IMHO a goddess. And mom was in town a few days ago. So I picked it up and started reading.

    If I had a peaceful, quiet, slow-paced life, with plenty of time to contemplate and think, I'd probably like this book better. Unfortunately, I don't have that sort of life. I think I've developed adult-onset ADD; I've largely lost my powers of concentration. The way my life is now, I just don't have time for books that don't get to the point fairly quickly. This book has a lot going for it, but I'm afraid it's destined to end up on my "started-but-didn't-finish" shelf.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2009

    A Wonderful Book

    Though I don't hook on to books too long but this book proved otherwise . Because it was a week day and I had to work the next day I was sort of 'forced' to stop reading . This evening I wl be rushing home to continue !. To everyone just pick this book up and start reading especially for those who don't have the habit of reading . It may help you to create a reading habit ........ trust me it is A Wonderful Book .

    K.Sam

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2001

    Haunting

    This book is very creepy and haunting. Its amazing how Tom gets away with everything that he did. A wonderful story!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2000

    Great psychology

    This is an excellent psychological and philosophical thriller. I think a lot of people who disliked it did so because they were expecting something else. It's not a mystery, in the sense that you are watching a crime being solved. Rather, you get to watch the transformation of a likeable guy into a cold-blooded killer. Ripley is a wonderful character because he is so bold, so inhuman in many ways, but capable of funny little kindnesses. He doesn't seem to have any morals, but he has a profound sense of aesthetics. A friend of mine aptly described him as protean. <p>I think everyone has a bit of Ripley in themselves, and this book lets you get your chills and vicarious kicks in the same place.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2000

    The Not So Talented Mr. Ripley

    The only thing I liked about this book was the fact that Matt Damon played Mr. Ripley in the movie. I thought the author left too many questions unanswered in the book. I was upset by the ending and by the activies of our dear friend Mr. Ripley throughout the book. This was definitly a book I COULD put down and when I finally did I could barely pick it back up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2000

    Sneaky

    The book is very interesting, in a sense that I didn't get board with it or anything. It has twist and turns all thoughout the book. Its a deffinet good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2000

    The Talented Ms. Highsmith

    Patricia Highsmith captured me in this gripping story about Tom Ripley. This book was one of the best books I've read in a long time.I saw the movie because I love Matt Damon and let me tell you the book was much better then the movie, but don't listen to me read it yourself.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2000

    A Must Read

    Once I started reading this book, I could not put it down. It is one of those pieces of literature that if you put it aside for a while, you will have missed something. My sister and I read it at the same time and it took me two days (day and night) and it took her a week. I found it very hard to put down and you get so much more out of it than the movie (although Matt Damon does look GOOOOD!!!). I recommend this book to anyone who has the ability to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2000

    Whoa...

    It has been years since I read a book that I can't stop reading. Whoa. I think maybe everyone can enjoy this book because of the mystery in it and shows how talented Tom Ripley is.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2000

    Good, but missing something

    'The Talented Mr. Ripley' is a very well-written book, and enjoyable, but it lacks a character for Tom to spar with. Everyone is so stupid or self-involved that no one really comes close to the truth. Tom is such a master manipulator that you never feel that he is in any danger of being found out. It would have done better if it had that. If you are going to read this, you should see the movie as well. They balance each other out in that each one has what the other lacks. But if you only do one, read the book, because it offers a deeper look inside Tom's mind

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2000

    This book was very-very good!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I've read Patricia Highsmith's The Talented Mr. Ripley in three days and it was a very good book. I recommend that everyone should read it!!!! I can't wait to see the movie!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2