BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Tales and Poems of Edgar Allan Poe

Average Rating 4
( 49 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(29)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

25 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

Awesome collection!

I just bought this book after wasting 99 cents on another one that didn't even work and this one is the real deal. The table of contents works perfectly and it's just a great collection of Poe's works. If you love Edgar Allen Poe as much as I do, buy this one with con...
I just bought this book after wasting 99 cents on another one that didn't even work and this one is the real deal. The table of contents works perfectly and it's just a great collection of Poe's works. If you love Edgar Allen Poe as much as I do, buy this one with confidence.

posted by gtoJC on December 2, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Garbage total ripoff do not buy

This book is formatted horribly and does not contain the complete works.

posted by 10876534 on January 26, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted December 2, 2011

    Awesome collection!

    I just bought this book after wasting 99 cents on another one that didn't even work and this one is the real deal. The table of contents works perfectly and it's just a great collection of Poe's works. If you love Edgar Allen Poe as much as I do, buy this one with confidence.

    25 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2011

    its one of the best books out there!!!

    well i will have to say that Edgar Allan Poe is one of the best poets in history in my opinion, but this book may frighten you or grad your attention after the first page, its an aquired taste figuratively speaking, but it is one of the best books you will ever read if you are in too that type of thing like i am, so buy the book or check it out its worth it! trust me!!

    12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2012

    A definite buy....

    Edgar Allen poe has been scaring people for generations. I bought this because I want to be frightened. Gives me goosebumps just thinking about the Tell Tale Heart.....I highly recommend this as a manditory buy.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2012

    Garbage total ripoff do not buy

    This book is formatted horribly and does not contain the complete works.

    6 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2012

    Goood boook

    You get 771 pages for 3 dollars. One of my friends loved these books, and he is super smart. I wondered where he got such a large vocabulary for being fourteen. I have to look up four words on every page, now i know why he knows so much.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    NOT Edgar Allen Poe

    Not sure whst this is but it is not what it says it is.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2012

    Not good

    Parts of story missing

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2012

    Great

    All of the Edgar Allen Poe that you will ever want or need.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2012

    Really good

    The poems are all there an all in all is a good read

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2012

    Looks good, easily navigable, but has some unfortunate typos. On

    Looks good, easily navigable, but has some unfortunate typos. One of Poe's most famous stories is mis-titled, "Ligieba." I should have taken a sample first.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2014

    Master

    Nough said

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2013

    Whhhaaaaaaaattttttt

    How can someone call a book from the great edgar allen poe garbage?.....i love this book...but it wont doload....*super sad panda*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2013

    SUPER-GIIRL to august 11th 2013

    Dude you shouldn't be like
    "Wahhh wahh this garbge wahhh."
    You should say.
    "HOLY CRAP LOOK AT THIS A BOOK IS FREE ??? SICK! IM GETTING IT!"
    And come on lets just be idiots about this

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2013

    Garbage!  This is false advertising to the Nth degree.  The book

    Garbage!  This is false advertising to the Nth degree.  The book advertised is "Edgar Allan Poe: Complete Tales and Poems" but once purchased I found out this is not the book I'm being sold.  The book I received was "The Essential Tales and Poems of Edgar Allan Poe"  This is not his complete works.  Many of my favorite poems and stories are nor included.  The Overview on my nook, where I bought the book, had no description, just the cover.  I had seen and flipped through the advertised book at a B&N location so that is why I bought it.  I see here on the computer, when I access the store, the overview states that it is not all the stories and poems, but again, on my nook that overview does not appear.  This is a B&N Published book and the should be ashamed of them selves for practicing such bait and switch tactics on people.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2013

    Whoever wants to help me with the comment below me do so!

    Any one that knows poetry u r welcome to help me

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2013

    unreadable ?

    Unreadable

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2013

    I was born in the wrong centuy

    I was born in the wrong century i wish i was born in the 1800's

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2013

    Good

    So far i have had great quality, and given that this collection was free, well its great. Poe has been substantionally influential in my writing and has a guiding hand in the creative process. Thanks Poe.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2013

    Awsome

    Awsome

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2013

    Nope

    Im sorry this book confuses me i love horror books but im only 11

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3