BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Tales from a Not-So-Fabulous Life (Dork Diaries Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 1970 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1478)

4 Star

(204)

3 Star

(102)

2 Star

(59)

1 Star

(127)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

120 out of 152 people found this review helpful.

All my friends love it!!

I got this book and my friend picked it up,read a page and said "I need this book".This book was brilliant with some humor added in there.I reccoomend this to the girls who read dear dumb diary but need something more advanced now.

posted by pretty_reading_girl on August 15, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

14 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

Worst book ever

This book is copying diary of wimpy kid. In the beginning of diary of a wimpy kid, he talks about his mom getting him a journal and how he doesnt want it, and that is EXACTLY how this book starts. And the main character, Nikki, is super ungrateful, negative, shallow, a...
This book is copying diary of wimpy kid. In the beginning of diary of a wimpy kid, he talks about his mom getting him a journal and how he doesnt want it, and that is EXACTLY how this book starts. And the main character, Nikki, is super ungrateful, negative, shallow, and she only thinks about herself. This is your typical tween book- girl goes to new school, has no friends, has a crush, hates the popular girl. It was too much like other books and movies out there. The author was obviously trying very hard to sound like a teenage girl and she failed. And also everything was super exaggerated. At my junior high school, its true that some people are more popular than others, but there is no "queen bee" like Mackenzie-there isnt one person who everyone knows and who is mean to everybody. Most people have a lot of friends because they are nice. Nobody goes down the halls shouting insults about peoples clothes. I thought it was dumb that Nikki hated Mackenzie because she was mean but Nikki is really mean. The humor, if any, was dumb. (Im so broke, i have a milkshake at McDonalds on layaway!!!) If you want to read a funny diary about a girl, try the dear dumb diary books- they are hilarious!!!! :)

posted by Anonymous on February 5, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1986 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 100
  • Posted August 15, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    All my friends love it!!

    I got this book and my friend picked it up,read a page and said "I need this book".This book was brilliant with some humor added in there.I reccoomend this to the girls who read dear dumb diary but need something more advanced now.

    120 out of 152 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2011

    Great

    I loved this book it was super funny i recommend it to people ages 9 to maybe 15

    98 out of 129 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2011

    A must read for girls!!!!!!

    Best journal book out there for girls!The book is funny and is east to relate to!!! Great for girls of all ages!It will always be one of my favorites!

    76 out of 98 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2010

    Cant Put Down

    My daughter is 7 & just got this book she hasn't been able to put it down. She's very girly & liked the whimpy boy series but wished he was a she when we spotted this book it was great & she is enjoying every moment. I would recommend this to any little girl...

    64 out of 81 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2011

    Love love love this book!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!#10000000000

    This is the funieist book ever I rank it #1000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000

    57 out of 107 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    great

    this book was very good. love the illustrations. Can't wait to read the next.

    54 out of 70 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2010

    Excellent & Recommended

    Bought for my 6th grade daughter to due her monthly book report on. She not only enjoyed it, but also had a blast reading it. She laughed throughout the whole book and is looking forward for the next one to come out.

    48 out of 62 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2012

    I love it!!!!!

    A must read,good funny book we can all relate to.

    (:

    34 out of 52 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 21, 2010

    This is THE most......

    I have read this book and it is amazing to me. It is one of my favorite books. I usually bring it every where!

    31 out of 48 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2011

    Really liked

    Dork diaries is a great and funny book. Its great for children around preteens. I really liked this book.

    30 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2009

    Really cute book!

    I picked up this book yesterday, and it's really hard for me to put it down! The characters are cool, and Nikki, the main character, is a character that most likely all girls could relate to. The author (writing as Nikki), writes with charm and hilarity. The illustrations are super cute, and the whole diary-style set-up makes for a quick, entertaining read. I recommend this book to girls ages 11 and up. It's really good!

    26 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Perfect for teens, tweens & YA lovers.

    Eighth grader Nikki Maxwell candidly shares with us the journaling of her no-so-fabulous days at her new private school Westchester Day School. Nikki's father, being the new exterminator, earned her a scholarship to a school where she doesn't fit in with the rich and snobby CCP (Cute, Cool & Popular) clique led by the snarky Mackenzie.

    Nikki knows that in order to dazzle the new crowd into accepting her she needs a new iPhone but her `rents stubbornly refuse to buy her one. Her Mom even goes so far as to tell her that if she really wants one she'll have to save up and buy it with her own money. Ugh!

    Just when everything seems to be doomed the school announces a school-wide art competition where the first prize is $500!! Nikki knows she's totally got this since she's an artist with plenty art camp experience. Nikki runs to the school office to sign up and who does she run into??? None other than Mackenzie. No way is she brave enough to compete against the queen bee of WDS. Can she turn one disaster after another into triumph?

    Dork Diaries is simply fabulous! I've been in Nikki's shoes a time or two as I changed schools 8 different times while growing up so I can totally sympathize with being new girl on the block. At least my Dad didn't drive me to school with a giant roach on top of his van.

    The entire book is Nikki's diary filled with hilarious stories and amazing drawings (also illustrated by Rachel Renee Russell). It's the perfect read for young girls who agonize over not being part of the in-crowd like I used to. Nikki goes from the zero to a hero and then finally settles nicely into her niche as a typical teen. I recommend this read for all YA lovers.

    26 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2011

    Smk

    Awesome !

    25 out of 48 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2011

    OUTSTANDING!!!!!!!!

    This book is an outstanding!
    Once you read it you cant stop!

    22 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2011

    Good!!!!

    This is an amazing book and im 9 and i would totly recomend this book

    21 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 13, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    This book is awesome

    i love this book it is awesome. it's a really good book. the author actually understands the reader. once you start reading the book you cant stop. it's just so interesting. I hope that there will be another Dork Diaries!!! :-)=)

    16 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    This book rocks!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I love it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!*
    *a lot

    15 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2012

    Worst book ever

    This book is copying diary of wimpy kid. In the beginning of diary of a wimpy kid, he talks about his mom getting him a journal and how he doesnt want it, and that is EXACTLY how this book starts. And the main character, Nikki, is super ungrateful, negative, shallow, and she only thinks about herself. This is your typical tween book- girl goes to new school, has no friends, has a crush, hates the popular girl. It was too much like other books and movies out there. The author was obviously trying very hard to sound like a teenage girl and she failed. And also everything was super exaggerated. At my junior high school, its true that some people are more popular than others, but there is no "queen bee" like Mackenzie-there isnt one person who everyone knows and who is mean to everybody. Most people have a lot of friends because they are nice. Nobody goes down the halls shouting insults about peoples clothes. I thought it was dumb that Nikki hated Mackenzie because she was mean but Nikki is really mean. The humor, if any, was dumb. (Im so broke, i have a milkshake at McDonalds on layaway!!!) If you want to read a funny diary about a girl, try the dear dumb diary books- they are hilarious!!!! :)

    14 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    Cool book

    I liked this book because is was good

    14 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2011

    awesome!!!!!!!!!!!

    you should totally get it it is so awesome you can read it over and over!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    14 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1986 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 100