Customer Reviews for

Tales from a Not-So-Fabulous Life (Dork Diaries Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 2016 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1521)

4 Star

(205)

3 Star

(102)

2 Star

(58)

1 Star

(130)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

123 out of 158 people found this review helpful.

All my friends love it!!

I got this book and my friend picked it up,read a page and said "I need this book".This book was brilliant with some humor added in there.I reccoomend this to the girls who read dear dumb diary but need something more advanced now.

posted by pretty_reading_girl on August 15, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

14 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

Worst book ever

This book is copying diary of wimpy kid. In the beginning of diary of a wimpy kid, he talks about his mom getting him a journal and how he doesnt want it, and that is EXACTLY how this book starts. And the main character, Nikki, is super ungrateful, negative, shallow, a...
This book is copying diary of wimpy kid. In the beginning of diary of a wimpy kid, he talks about his mom getting him a journal and how he doesnt want it, and that is EXACTLY how this book starts. And the main character, Nikki, is super ungrateful, negative, shallow, and she only thinks about herself. This is your typical tween book- girl goes to new school, has no friends, has a crush, hates the popular girl. It was too much like other books and movies out there. The author was obviously trying very hard to sound like a teenage girl and she failed. And also everything was super exaggerated. At my junior high school, its true that some people are more popular than others, but there is no "queen bee" like Mackenzie-there isnt one person who everyone knows and who is mean to everybody. Most people have a lot of friends because they are nice. Nobody goes down the halls shouting insults about peoples clothes. I thought it was dumb that Nikki hated Mackenzie because she was mean but Nikki is really mean. The humor, if any, was dumb. (Im so broke, i have a milkshake at McDonalds on layaway!!!) If you want to read a funny diary about a girl, try the dear dumb diary books- they are hilarious!!!! :)

posted by Anonymous on February 5, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 2032 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 102
  • Posted July 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    BEST BOOK EVER

    THIS IS THE BESTEST BOOK EVER!!! IT TALKS ABOUT BIG STARS THAT ARE NOW AND OTHE THANGS

    13 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2012

    Happy

    It shows you happy things like being popular and unpop and that if u r like 14 do not get help from parents that calls u boo boo but in real life listen to your parents not good words for kids 1-8 years

    10 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2011

    Good book

    This is a realy good book it talks about family relationships and school and what to except. So i reccomend this book to you my friend.

    Thanks for reading my review!!

    9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2012

    BEST BOOK EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I love dork diaries! It is like dairy of a wimpy kid for girls!!! I know its alot if of money but its worth it!!!!!!!! You will love dork diaries!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!p

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2011

    Great book

    If you like Diary of a Wimpy Kid and you are a girl, you will really like this book! Its funny and entertaining

    8 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2011

    Let me tell u what i think about this book.....

    I think this book is..............
    ?..........
    ?................................................................................. THE BEST BOOK EVER WRITEN. I suggest this book to girls ages 14 an under. And if u like teen drama u will love this book :):) :)

    8 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2012

    WOW!!!

    I feel sooo much like Nikki J. Maxwell!!! My life is almost exactly like Nikki's!!! This book is soooo realistic. Ok so I'm a 12 year old girl living a dorky life with cooku parents. I get bored one day and so I grab a book of my bookshelf and I started reading it and then BABAMM I am just like sucked into the book like dirt in a vacuum cleaner. And geuss what book I was reading. Yup. I was reading Dork diaries. I read and read and read that book to the end. And before you know it I have lots of friends,and a sweet boyfriend named Brad Decklin. My name is Mia Shelltek and life is great now and it is all because of Dork diaries.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2011

    Best

    Best flipping comic book since Diary of a wimpy kid By:Jeff Kinney

    7 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2011

    Great book!

    Omg this is one on my favorite books

    7 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2011

    Dork Diaries

    I did not read this on the NOOK but it was a FABULOUS book. I think it is great for any age group! (:

    7 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 10, 2011

    Dork diaries

    Highly recommended it was awesome

    7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2011

    Dork diaries

    Best book ever read in life

    7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2012

    I Love this series!

    This is a good book about a girls social life. I think boys should NOT read this book.

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2012

    AWESOME

    I LOVE this book

    6 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2012

    :-)

    I LOVE THIS SEIRES!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! YA!!!!!!!!!!!!!SO EX-ED FOR THE FOUTH ONE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!LOVE IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!READ ALL OF THEM!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!SAVING UP FOR FOURTH ONE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!DORK DIARIES ROCKS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!GO! NIKI MAXWELL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2012

    SOOO GOOD GRET READ read my comment

    OMG I FOYND MYSELF FALLING INLOVE WITH THESE BOOKS? CAN WAIT TILL NUMBER FIVE!!!!!! SUCH A QUICK READ REALLY. GREAT READ IT REALLY READ IT. LOVE IT ;•)

    6 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2012

    My favorite

    I love this book because...... It is like the diary of a wimpy kid, except a girl vergin. Plus if your a girl i'm you will sure relate to these books. They also have a funny twist to them. I think that these books would be good for anyone!
    8-)

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    Sab13

    Love this book

    6 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2011

    Well...

    I think its a copy of diary of a wimpy kid, but with a girl instead of a boy.

    6 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2011

    Favorite book ever

    This was a greet book and if you read them you should start with the first book or you will not understand this book!

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 2032 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 102