BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Tales from a Not-So-Fabulous Life (Dork Diaries Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 1974 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1481)

4 Star

(204)

3 Star

(102)

2 Star

(59)

1 Star

(128)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

120 out of 152 people found this review helpful.

All my friends love it!!

I got this book and my friend picked it up,read a page and said "I need this book".This book was brilliant with some humor added in there.I reccoomend this to the girls who read dear dumb diary but need something more advanced now.

posted by pretty_reading_girl on August 15, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

14 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

Worst book ever

This book is copying diary of wimpy kid. In the beginning of diary of a wimpy kid, he talks about his mom getting him a journal and how he doesnt want it, and that is EXACTLY how this book starts. And the main character, Nikki, is super ungrateful, negative, shallow, a...
This book is copying diary of wimpy kid. In the beginning of diary of a wimpy kid, he talks about his mom getting him a journal and how he doesnt want it, and that is EXACTLY how this book starts. And the main character, Nikki, is super ungrateful, negative, shallow, and she only thinks about herself. This is your typical tween book- girl goes to new school, has no friends, has a crush, hates the popular girl. It was too much like other books and movies out there. The author was obviously trying very hard to sound like a teenage girl and she failed. And also everything was super exaggerated. At my junior high school, its true that some people are more popular than others, but there is no "queen bee" like Mackenzie-there isnt one person who everyone knows and who is mean to everybody. Most people have a lot of friends because they are nice. Nobody goes down the halls shouting insults about peoples clothes. I thought it was dumb that Nikki hated Mackenzie because she was mean but Nikki is really mean. The humor, if any, was dumb. (Im so broke, i have a milkshake at McDonalds on layaway!!!) If you want to read a funny diary about a girl, try the dear dumb diary books- they are hilarious!!!! :)

posted by Anonymous on February 5, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 128 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2012

    Worst book ever

    This book is copying diary of wimpy kid. In the beginning of diary of a wimpy kid, he talks about his mom getting him a journal and how he doesnt want it, and that is EXACTLY how this book starts. And the main character, Nikki, is super ungrateful, negative, shallow, and she only thinks about herself. This is your typical tween book- girl goes to new school, has no friends, has a crush, hates the popular girl. It was too much like other books and movies out there. The author was obviously trying very hard to sound like a teenage girl and she failed. And also everything was super exaggerated. At my junior high school, its true that some people are more popular than others, but there is no "queen bee" like Mackenzie-there isnt one person who everyone knows and who is mean to everybody. Most people have a lot of friends because they are nice. Nobody goes down the halls shouting insults about peoples clothes. I thought it was dumb that Nikki hated Mackenzie because she was mean but Nikki is really mean. The humor, if any, was dumb. (Im so broke, i have a milkshake at McDonalds on layaway!!!) If you want to read a funny diary about a girl, try the dear dumb diary books- they are hilarious!!!! :)

    14 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2012

    AWESOME

    I LOVE this book

    6 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2014

    Wat is dis book

    This book is completley stupid and unrealistic.
    First, nikki is so snobby and stupid. All she cares, no thinks about is her clothes, her crush, ( I have one but all nikki thinks about is her crush!) And how her familiy is retared!
    What the freak? Who calls their mom brain dead? And nkkki is so selfish! She only wants a phone! Because "all" the "cool"
    Kids have one. Also the author was trying to be a middle schooler and she did not sucseed. Also this book had swears all over it! Like "girl, ima gonna slap yo face off yo little @#$%&!" This is not a book for kids.it is so stupid. And also the author could have been more creative with the plot and the characters names. There was also no character deveelopment at all. The last sentence in most of the books is: omg I am such a dork!
    It was like the author didn't know what to say at the end

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2013

    It sux

    Boooo :|

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2013

    To:clubbunny

    For your recent masage that your annt died i am very sorry for the los. :-( -Christina

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2013

    Clubbunny

    My aunt just died monday january 14 th btw im julee (code name)

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    READ OR NOT...I DONT CARE

    I am going to try this series i'm not really a big fan of Diary of a wimpy kid books,or these but eh what the heck worth a try. YOlO ye'know? YOLO- You Only Live Once for people that didnt know what yolo ment

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2012

    Cusswords!

    Cusswords everywhere are in this book don't buy or let kids read it!

    2 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2011

    THI REVIEW IS WRITTEN BY A 10 YEAR OLD

    I do not really like this book, the book is just a waste. The book is not the same as diary of a wimpy kid, but it is sorta a copy from that serie. Its a whole lot better and a lot less werid I like this author but this series is bad i tell you bad!!!!!!!!!!

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2011

    Bitch book

    This book is crap if you ask me

    2 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2011

    Luv it

    This book is super duper exellent! :)

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2011

    ...

    Worst book ever.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2011

    Not so good

    I bought this book for my 5yo daughter because her older 7 yo brother was into the diary of a wimpy kid series. I figured it'd be a little too old for her but I was reading it to her and could edit things out, or shorten things up for her.
    The language in the book was atrocious, had to edit words out like "skanks" and sentences like "wipe that smirk off yo' face before I slap it off, you little #@$%&!"
    Also she goes on to talk about how much 'cooler' it is to buy mall clothes, rather than shop at store like jc penney, sears, target, and wal-mart.
    Like I said I knew it was too old for my daughter, but I just think it's trash... even for older readers. not the kind of messages I want my kids to be reading...

    2 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2014

    Ugh

    As a teen I always hated the social BS that is high school and it still irratates me when the latest high school sitcom comes out so I didn't have high hopes. My opinion, THIS BOOK IS AWFUL! THE CHARACTERS ARE CLICHE, THERE IS NO DEVELOPMENT AND ITS JUST STUPID! Sorry to any fans of this book, but this is just terrible. If you want something funny yet compelling just read the Hetalia comics.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2014

    M

    Nikki is rude and is incredibly stupid. There is no such thing as a mean girl who yells out things that are horribly offensive things in a middle school hallway, without getting into trouble. No younger sister is that dumb and selfish. I can see were brianna got her selfishness from. I'll give you a hint. Her name is nikki maxwell! I thought this book was supposed to be a non-fiction book. It obviously isn't though!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2013

    This book is stupid

    This book inipropreate and it is realy weard and for like kids that it is realy dumb

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2012

    Fuck

    These books are God damn rip-offs!!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2012

    This freaking book copy diary of wimy kid

    This book copied diary of wimpy kid

    1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2012

    Not very good.......

    I thought it would be better..............

    1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2012

    Pleze

    Can someone tell me what this is about? Pleze

    1 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 128 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7