Customer Reviews for

Tales from a Not-So-Fabulous Life (Dork Diaries Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 2038 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1536)

4 Star

(209)

3 Star

(103)

2 Star

(58)

1 Star

(132)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

127 out of 163 people found this review helpful.

All my friends love it!!

I got this book and my friend picked it up,read a page and said "I need this book".This book was brilliant with some humor added in there.I reccoomend this to the girls who read dear dumb diary but need something more advanced now.

posted by pretty_reading_girl on August 15, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

14 out of 39 people found this review helpful.

Worst book ever

This book is copying diary of wimpy kid. In the beginning of diary of a wimpy kid, he talks about his mom getting him a journal and how he doesnt want it, and that is EXACTLY how this book starts. And the main character, Nikki, is super ungrateful, negative, shallow, a...
This book is copying diary of wimpy kid. In the beginning of diary of a wimpy kid, he talks about his mom getting him a journal and how he doesnt want it, and that is EXACTLY how this book starts. And the main character, Nikki, is super ungrateful, negative, shallow, and she only thinks about herself. This is your typical tween book- girl goes to new school, has no friends, has a crush, hates the popular girl. It was too much like other books and movies out there. The author was obviously trying very hard to sound like a teenage girl and she failed. And also everything was super exaggerated. At my junior high school, its true that some people are more popular than others, but there is no "queen bee" like Mackenzie-there isnt one person who everyone knows and who is mean to everybody. Most people have a lot of friends because they are nice. Nobody goes down the halls shouting insults about peoples clothes. I thought it was dumb that Nikki hated Mackenzie because she was mean but Nikki is really mean. The humor, if any, was dumb. (Im so broke, i have a milkshake at McDonalds on layaway!!!) If you want to read a funny diary about a girl, try the dear dumb diary books- they are hilarious!!!! :)

posted by Anonymous on February 5, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 103 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2012

    Very funny for ages 7-10 :)

    Very funny for ages 7-10 :)

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2012

    It was alright

    This book was okay, but it was exteremely predictable and stereotyped. Very idiotic and misleading as to the life of a teenager. No high schooler acts and thinks like Nikki, not one bit.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2013

    Geat book

    If you ar a girl u should try and read it cause it shows u how life can be hard im in six grade and my life is pretty hard

    I am a girl and i think this will make u to buy it don't buy the sample cause it is terrible

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2012

    Best book ever.

    Funny and lots of droma. Mc is so meen.LOL

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2012

    Ok

    This is an imitation of "diary of a wimpy kid" I'm 13, and this is a book i would have loved if I was 7. Its a cute read, but is mostly for girls who care about what popular snobs think about them and despretly want an Iphone. For $10, I dont think its worth it. Its not up to my level of reading, but like I said cute for 7 year olds. But at 13, not worth my time or money.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2012

    Okay :-/

    I read this book while i was sick. I feel like it is too close to diary of a wimpy kid. Dont get me wrong, it was a good boom, ive just read better.

    I recomend the percy jackson series and warriors
    I <3 Hedgehogs!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2015

    Sexy badboy

    Hey is there any girls that want to date a sexy badboy im free but first u have to be between the age of 12-15 u have to put down ur phone #what state ur in and any good texting sites so we can date

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2014

    B

    It was okay but lame

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2013

    Jtlover;)

    Eh... It was kind of like diary of a wimpy kid... but its great for pre-teen girls.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2013

    Ghnhvbcbh

    Gghhhhhjkfdbubkgbjgvdhcfbigxdh xjdjkhdjdjd jjjjjjjjjjf

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2013

    Hi

    This a bok i love

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    Age review

    I would suggest this to 2nd through 4th graders.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2012

    Mixed opions

    These r great books dut my one issue is there us nevera real poroblemm they r all cooked up i nikkis mind like cone on create a real conflict. Also girl brandon likes u come on grow up and ask him out. Plus... i just realized these books are really not that good

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2012

    Interesting, funny and mean

    Nikki Maxwell and Mackenzie Hollister are total rivals Rachael ReneeRussel has a talent And totally love funny dialouge almost forgot love the drama,exictment,love and rivalry

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2012

    Absolutely fabulous;)

    A dorky girl who wishes everything would go her way. Starting wirh an iPhone, the populars, and maybe more along the way. A dork with a fab heart! Recommended for kids at all ages! I gaurantee its a laugh at every page;)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2012

    Funny

    This is a great book for those who love comedy. It is packed full of hilarious things that happen. I would recomend it to anyone from ages 8-12. Give it a try.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2012

    Wow

    It was good but if u want a really good book read the hunger games best book ever

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2012

    Good book

    Yeah it was kinda a replica of diarie of a wimpy kid have to agree that one with yall. But it still was a really good book!!!! :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2012

    Dork diaries

    It was great but need to be more detailed an quirkier

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2012

    Dork diaries, the best book to read for 10 year ols Dork diaries, the best book for 10 year old girls to read

    It is a really good book for girls my age, 10 years old. I definetely will continue the series. I think its a really good book for people to read if they want a laugh or so.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 103 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6