BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Tales from the Bed: A Memoir

Average Rating 4.5
( 13 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted April 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Enjoyable reading.

    I enjoyed reading about the ups and downs of Jennifers disease b/c I myself have lost 2 close people to me to cancer. I wanted to know what the thought about, wished, and wanted to changed. She seemed to be a very loving woman and so are her sisters. I would loved to have known her. I would definitely recommend this to a book club or to someone who is having a tough time dealing with a sickness. She helps you to see the "light at the end of the tunnel" for lack of a better word.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2005

    Wow What a book!!

    Moving and intriguing, you will not put this book down. Emotional and life changing for the reader. Bravo to the Author!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2005

    GREAT GREAT Book!!!!!

    This book is so moving and inspiring. It makes you laugh and cry all in the same sentence. It's a cannot put down book. A MUST READ!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2004

    BEAUTIFUL WRITING--READS LIKE A NOVEL

    I picked this book up in the bookstore, and I just couldn't put it down. It reads like a novel--it's funny, heartwarming, inspiring. The stories of the three sisters remind me of stories in my own family. I hope my own kids have such close bonds when they are grown up. I recommend this highly--it's just a great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2004

    Life-changing, beautiful, heart-breaking and funny!

    I saw an ad in a magazine for this book and for some reason felt compelled to buy it. I had no idea that the story of a stranger could move me so much. This beautiful, beautiful book has given me incredible strength to live my life to the fullest and to embrace my loved ones with all my might.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2004

    Masterful and deeply moving!

    This book may very well change your life--I know that it has indelibly changed mine. The last chapter is one of the most moving things I have EVER read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2004

    Read with caution

    This book is very simply written, although it is not wrought with grammatical errors. However, it is full of misinformation that may confuse people living with ALS and their families. The book refers to a home health aide as a nurse. The two have very different roles and educational levels and must not be confused. It also is fraudulent to have a home health aide provided by Medicaid cook for a family and to perform any services not related to the patient as described in this book. One should not purchase a wheelchair by going directly to a showroom as described in this book, but should have a thorough examination by a health care provider, preferably a physical therapist, to prescribe the correct chair. A physical therapist would write a letter of medical necessity to the insurer for the wheelchair to be covered rather than the patient paying out of pocket for an inappropriate chair as described in this book. My own patients who are on Medicaid and struggle to live with degenerative diseases would be irritated to read of this woman's and her family's indulgence. I have known no patient on Medicaid who sleeps on satin and cashmere bed linens. They don't name drop celebrities and take private jets to vacation in Puerto Rico. The book even includes errors of personal nature. The author states her mother and sister Alison accompanied her to her appointment when the neurologist diagnosed her. But she recalls crying in the hall with her other two sisters at the time of diagnosis. The description of a family that pulls together at a time of need is nice but patients may find the misinformation confusing and the disconnection with their own situations distressing. The ALS Association and health care providers offer better information on the science, nature, and recommended care of the disease.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2004

    A stunning portrait of dignity and courage

    Never have I read a memoir--written by a relatively young person--that reveals such maturity and perspective. At the age of 35, Ms. Estess was diagnosed with Lou Gehrig's disease (always fatal w/ no treatments or a cure), just as she was in the process of showing the world who was boss. Eventually she became paralyzed from the neck down, while her keen intellect stayed intact and focused like a laser beam on the most important things in life. Instead of going gently, instead of 'letting go,' she managed to grab ahold of this often unfair world and, from her bed, wring love, devotion, humor and dignity out of a most tragic situation. What an inspiring story! Buy it--you will not be disappointed!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2004

    Wonderful summer read - inspiring and filled with love!

    I just read Jenifer's wonderful memoir, TALES FROM THE BED and thought it was one of the most beautiful stories I've read in years. With all that was changing in Jenifer's life, she had her sisters and still had hope, and remained funny, heartwarming, and inspiring. You can feel the love that she had for life pouring through the pages. I hope that you'll give yourself the gift of reading Jenifer's wonderful story and the legacy she left behind. For those of you who like reading the 'chick lit' books that are popular these days, this one is truly what chick literature is all about, and it's a true story. It's as touching and humorous as one would expect, and gives so much more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2004

    Tales from the Bed: On Living, Dying, and Having It All

    This book had me laughing out loud and crying at the same time. The writing creates such vivid images that I felt I was right there on the bed with Jenifer. The wisdom of Jenifer's words will stay with me for a long time to come.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2004

    Tales from the Bed: On Living, Dying, and Having It All

    Tales from the bed is one of the most beautiful books I have ever read. The words take me back to my own childhood...love shared with my own sisters. Jenifer teaches us that love can see us through all that life throws our way--the good and the bad. I will recommend to all my friends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1