Customer Reviews for

Tales from the Dad Side: Misadventures in Fatherhood

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted October 4, 2009

    Tried to hard to be funny

    My husband bought it to read actual tales from a father's point of view. Instead he got a wannabe comedy routine.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2009

    Dad Side

    Steve Doocy is great! Highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2008

    Great Read

    > <BR/> <BR/> <BR/><BR/><BR/> <BR/> <BR/> <BR/>Want to change your mood. Buy Steve's book "Tales from the Dad Side". Bought it saturday at LSU. Really helped me get out of the dumps. I laugh so hard I was crying and that was just on the foreword and the 1st chapter. After the game instead of a beer to drain my sorrows I just picked up the book to get a good laugh. You will find yourself laughing out loud. Giving the book to my son. But I am going to get another one for myself for anytime I need a quick pick me up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 25, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Not just for Dads!

    Mr. Brady has nothing on Steve Doocy! I think he may just be the best father on earth after my Dad and Hubby of course. This book is a fabulous family must read. It is touching and yet humorous. I love how he has a humorous spin on life as as Dad. We are raising two kids of our own right now and it is wonderful to finally read things from fathers point of few. The best part of the book is that it is so real! I am happy to finally read a book from the Dads Side. <BR/><BR/>Mom in the Midwest

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Steve's Book is a MUST READ for the Whole Family, not just Dads!

    I did it to myself again - I bought a book authored by Steve Doocy and chose an evironment inappropriate for bursts of laughter when I cracked it open for the first time. <BR/><BR/>It was during the 2nd half of the last game of the World Series, while sitting on the couch with my husband suffering from a cold. We're Tampa bay residents and Rays fans; the picture is now complete. <BR/><BR/>Knowing Steve Doocy's entertainment factor from his first book, I read "Tales from the Dad Side" as a non-Dad. Don't let the title fool you: Steve's Doocy's book applies to practically every family member you know - including yourself! <BR/><BR/>The fits of laughter started with Steve's choice of activities following the birth of his son Peter (God bless you, Mrs. Doocy!) and continued beyond his experience at the spa/salon with his two daughters. The humorous and heart-felt recounts take the reader all over the world: from Steve's hometown, to a volcano in Hawaii, to Ireland and many stops along the way. <BR/><BR/>Sidenote, after reading this book, you will definitely take on a different view of parmesan cheese and the Blarney stone! <BR/><BR/>For me, Steve's book comes at a time when we need as much laughter and positive family experiences as possible in our lives. I quickly turned to Steve's book while our Rays lost the world series, the market continued to tank and the Presidential election kept us up for several nights leading to and including election night. <BR/><BR/>This book shows us the 'behind the scenes' Steve Doocy we watch every morning on Fox & Friends. If nothing else, we now know the greatness behind Steve's success (in addition to his hard work and humor): his family! <BR/><BR/>This is a must read - once you start, you will find yourself soaking in pages at a fast pace while reflecting on the quirks and laughs supplied by your own family. <BR/><BR/>Thank you Steve and THANK YOU Doocy family! <BR/><BR/>Erika Grace <BR/>Tampa, Florida

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 7, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    An Average Dad

    Steve is a great story teller and just an average dad. He's a man that loves and defends his family, even to his own embarassment! (How many dads will go to the salon with his girls?) <BR/><BR/>The most touching stories of his book were about his father. Calling his own dad a legend and honoring him with a trip were stories that brought tears to my eyes. <BR/><BR/>This book was a fun, easy enjoyable read. Any dad will love the stories and will probably nod in agreement at the stories Steve tells.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 7, 2008

    Blissfully Funny

    I just read this fantsticly intresting book about things from a slightly diffrent point of view...I don't want to give too much away but I will say this I hope you spend every morning with Steve Doocy on Fox and Friends (sky ch 509 for those in europe) and I hope you buy this wonderfully funny and inresting book and spend a good few nights snuggled up having a few laughs at Steves expence! Go on get out ur cards and start ordering...I kno I'll be ordering his other books right now!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 3, 2008

    This is a wonderful book!

    I read Steve Doocy's new book "Tales From The Dad Side" & just loved it. I couldn't put it down & hated when I finished it. It was very entertaining, funny & inspirational. I highly recommend it & have told others about it. I will be buying it for other family members for Christmas gifts. All dads, especially with children still at home, should read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Finally! A Positive Book on Dads.

    Watching Steve on the morning show Fox and Friends I learned about this fatherhood book. As positive books about fathers are rare as Acorn organizers at a Country Club, I was excited about this book's potential. <BR/><BR/>I was not disappointed. As a father of five that have now flown the coop, I could certainly relate to most of the tales. Steve wrote this in a very humorous and easy to read flow. I finished it in two readings and have now passed it to a friend of mine. <BR/><BR/>If you enjoy good, clean fun along with that rare positive view of fatherhood, I would recommend this book. If you prefer the dark side and think that all dads are deeply flawed, I "highly" recommend this book. <BR/><BR/>I hope you found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    A must read for DAD'S AND MOM'S. Steve Doocy has done it again. HILARIOUS!

    Both my husband of 44 years and I have read the book and thouroughly enjoyed the laugh a minute humor and family stories of Steve Doocy.<BR/>Don't let this one pass you by!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1