Customer Reviews for

Tales from the Yoga Studio

Average Rating 4
( 21 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2012

    Cute and fun

    I burned right through this lighthearted and fun

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 26, 2011

    Absolutely Delightful!

    Best book I've read in a long time! Can't wait until the next one!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Tranquility is a theme throughout this book

    Tales from the Yoga Studio installed two desires in me. 1) Must learn yoga. 2) Move to a quaint retro southern Californian town. Tranquility is a theme throughout this book, even during the poignant pieces. The very descriptions Rain Mitchell uses make you feel as if you right there in the scene, seeing, feeling, and experiencing everything the characters do. Both yoga fanatics and those who have never tried a downward dog in their lives will appreciate the way in which yoga and zen is woven into the story.

    Lee, Katherine, Graciela, Imani, and Stephanie have very different lives and come from very different backgrounds. But their love of yoga and the changes it manifests bind them together. Their stories are narrated in turn, a symphony of joys, broken hearts, painful decisions, and subtle epiphanies. They help and support each other in the way only girlfriends can.

    In this sense, Tales from the Yoga Studio reminds me a great deal of Little Earthquakes by Jennifer Weiner. In fact if you like reading Jennifer Weiner, Sarah Pekkanen, or Kristan Hannah, I think you will love this book.

    Conclusion:
    A dash of chick-lit and smidgeon yoga how-to, Tales from the Yoga Studio is a heart-warming and fun read. Cheering these women on, you will feel as if they were your best friends. I recommend you try it for yourself.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2011

    An Easy Read Based On Women's Friendships

    Cover-The cover promotes a sense of peacefulness, friendship and a oneness with others. I was automatically drawn to this cover when I first received the book and am still drawn to this cover.-Plot-We're all familiar with story lines where there is unity among a group of women (i.e. Sex & the City, Waiting to Exhale, Steel Magnolias), which was portrayed throughout this book. Though their stories were interwoven, you got a feel for them outside of the group as well. You understood what brought them together and united them ... other than the Yoga Studio ... =)-Characters-Lee is the teacher at Edendale Yoga. I found her to be nice, but overly so. She ignored obvious signs of betrayal because she chose to be "blind." Purposeful ignorance tends to get on my nerves, especially when it's a woman being purposefully ignorant. Katherine is Edendale Yoga's masseuse. She is grateful to Lee for helping her during some rough times. Katherine is funky and fun, but a little too hard on herself sometimes. She tends to sabotage any decent relationship that comes her way. Will she ever be able to get over her past? Graciela is gorgeous and an excellent dancer. She winds up at the Yoga Studio due to an injury that she's trying to heal before an audition for a famous singer's video. Graciela is hard-working and much more tolerable that I would be. She has poise and appears to be a wonderful friend.-Overall-This was definitely an easy read. It is geared towards women and promotes women's empowerment. I would recommend this to women (and possibly men???) who enjoy stories about women's relationships reminiscent of those mentioned above.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    8 out of 10 stars!

    Blurb: The yoga studio is where daily cares are set aside, mats are unfurled, and physical exertion leads to well-being, renewal, and friendship.
    In Los Angeles, yoga teachers have become celebrities and designer tank tops can cost a small fortune. Still, many students flock to the relatively unglamorous Edendale Yoga in the hip, out-of-the-way Silver Lake neighborhood. It's here where Lee uses her extraordinary teaching skills and unusual empathy to help students gain control of their bodies and possibly their lives as well.
    Katherine, the studio's resident masseuse, is trying hard not to sabotage what could be the perfect relationship.
    Graciela is a dancer on the cusp of getting her breakthrough job, assuming she can overcome a suspicious injury.
    Imani, a happily married and successful actress, struggles to get beyond the one big loss she can't seem to forget.
    Stephanie, a talented screenwriter and development girl, might be driving herself to the breaking point.
    But will Lee's students have learned enough from their beloved teacher to help her when she faces financial problems and a marital crisis of her own?
    Tales from the Yoga Studio is a warm, funny, and gripping novel about the gift of connection and the joys of discovery, featuring five amazing women you will never forget.

    What Stephanie Thought: Vivid descriptions and easy-to-relate struggles are brought alive in Rain Mitchell's debut novel. The lives of five women are intertwined thoroughly, each one with varying, realistic concerns. I loved how each woman was a small part of me, and not just me, but every woman in this common world.
    Katherine is my intrinsic factor. Always true to herself, she won't let anyone fool her, and risks hurting her own heart in the process. In Graciela, I find my own vulnerability, one that is too unsure to speak out, but is never still never completely satisfied. Imani represents my success, my smiling face that only the public sees, and she also contains the rapid deterioration of my self and body that only I know of. Stephanie (aside from our same names!) is my weakness, my breaking point, but also my determination, as well as my will. And Lee, she's everything I want to be, my zen, my composure, and my selfless strength. Each woman is beautiful because each woman is a part of me, which was what spoke out most about this book.
    Tales from the Yoga Studio is the kind of story that brought new revelations and surprises within every page, thanks to Mitchell's precisely-composed, lyrical prose. A lot of it was very tongue-in-cheek too, which was entertaining. The only reason I am not rating Tales from the Yoga Studio higher is because I felt some parts were too long and dragged out. There were several times while reading, where I would flip back and see how many pages I had left to read -- I was sort of bored. But that set aside, it was a fantastic, too-good-to-be-true story that every woman can relate with because essentially, it is a book about every woman and what is really in her neglected heart.

    Stephanie Loves: "'Whatever comes up for you in these [yoga] poses,' Lee says, 'try to let it go. Maybe anxiety? Maybe sadness? Anger? They're just thoughts. Let them go. They only control you and have power if you let them. They're parasites -- they can't live on their own.'"

    Where Stephanie Got It: Received from FSB Media for review.

    Radical Rating: 8 hearts- Would recommend to lots of really good friends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2011

    Relax, Relate, Release

    The women that visit Edendale Yoga do so because there's something about medical student turned yoga instructor Lee. Somehow she intuitively knows what each person in her class needs, even if she's unsure of what she needs herself. Through Tales from the Yoga Studio debut author Rain Mitchell introduces us to every day women from all paths of life who may have never met had it not been for yoga.

    A recovering addict with an unstable path, masseuse Katherine has enjoyed her time working at Edendale Yoga and values her friendship with Lee, even if she questions her marriage to Alan.

    Graciela comes to the studio in search of healing for an injury. If she's able to overcome it, she may have a chance to audition for a video that could change her life.

    Imani has been in hiding since she suffered a miscarriage months ago. Though she's a successful actress and wife, she longs to be a successful mother.

    Stephanie is driven and determined to be the best screenwriter and developer possible. Her abrasive ways tend to rub people wrong and when she finds her world crumbling, she believes she has no one to turn to.

    In their own ways, and sometimes without knowing it, the women of this book reach out to each other and build them up. This was impressive work from a first time author and truly a feel good read.

    What did you like about this book?
    The author introduces elements of yoga without making the book about yoga. In fact, even though the women meet through their time at the studio, most of their interaction takes place away from it.

    What didn't you like about this book?
    I appreciated the introduction to each character, but I didn't feel like I got a chance to really know them since there were so many of them. I realize that this is the first in a series, so perhaps as more is written, each character will be explored in greater depth.

    What could the author do to improve this book?
    Dig deeper. We barely touched the surface with these ladies. There's so much more to be told about each of them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Tales from the Yoga Studio is an enjoyable contemporary tale

    Lee owns the Edendale Yoga Studio in the Silver lake section of Los Angeles; she also works as an instructor. She likes giving back to her students by helping them achieve their desires though she gave up on one of hers when Alan the artist left her and now has doubts about what to do as a chain wants her studio and is offering her quite an incentive package. Without prying, Lee looks deep into the souls of her long time pupils as their lives converge at her studio.

    Lee encourages Stephanie already an overachiever to seek solace in her accomplishments. She believes Graciela the artist is a talent especially when the woman does not fear baring her soul to others. The Yoga guru knows Imani the actress conceals secrets that Lee hopes do not cripple her with shame. Finally there is her BFF loyal Katherine. She will be there for each them especially when they confront the agony of defeat

    Tales from the Yoga Studio is an enjoyable contemporary that provides deep insight into yoga and running a studio with friendship. Each of the five women will learn truths about themselves and the others. Character driven, fans will appreciate this warm tale as Rain Mitchell brings more than just yoga and friendship to the wonderful story line; the author will persuade readers yoga is an art form that touches the hearts of those who participate; so get up and join.

    Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2