Customer Reviews for

Tales of a Female Nomad: Living at Large in the World

Average Rating 4.5
( 40 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(25)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

The best traveling book Ive read

From the moment I finished the first page I was hooked. The whole time I was reading I felt as if I were there with Rita, it encouraged me to go traveling. A week after I finished the book I packed up what I had, and went on a trip that lasted nearly a month, it was w...
From the moment I finished the first page I was hooked. The whole time I was reading I felt as if I were there with Rita, it encouraged me to go traveling. A week after I finished the book I packed up what I had, and went on a trip that lasted nearly a month, it was wonderful. When I got to my destination 'In the San Juan Islands' nearly 700 miles away from home I took on a new outlook on traveling and geting to meet people.

posted by Anonymous on July 26, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

11 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Interesting Stories. Annoying Style

While I admire the courage of her travels, I found this book to be very irritating. She overstates the whole; "I am an independant woman who doesn't need a man so I can live my life how I want. So there." After a while it sounds like a cliche 1972 Woman's Lib manifesto....
While I admire the courage of her travels, I found this book to be very irritating. She overstates the whole; "I am an independant woman who doesn't need a man so I can live my life how I want. So there." After a while it sounds like a cliche 1972 Woman's Lib manifesto. She is a very self absorbed baby boomer. Another annoying tactic she uses is by just putting on a native dress she proclaims herself "one of them." Sorry, sister but you ain't. I've sat in Jamaican slums smoking ganja with Rastas playing Bob Marley songs on a guitar. Does that make me a Rastafari? No. It makes me a friendly visitor. There is also a simplistic left wing political view throughout. Anyone who is a little well off is thinly veiled as am imperialist, capitalist, slaver. Poor people are good. And as far as the Nicaraguan Sandanista "they are the people!" No mention of the pesky problem of their viscous human rights violations.

posted by Gristle_McThornbody on February 3, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 41 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2010

    Interesting Stories. Annoying Style

    While I admire the courage of her travels, I found this book to be very irritating. She overstates the whole; "I am an independant woman who doesn't need a man so I can live my life how I want. So there." After a while it sounds like a cliche 1972 Woman's Lib manifesto. She is a very self absorbed baby boomer. Another annoying tactic she uses is by just putting on a native dress she proclaims herself "one of them." Sorry, sister but you ain't. I've sat in Jamaican slums smoking ganja with Rastas playing Bob Marley songs on a guitar. Does that make me a Rastafari? No. It makes me a friendly visitor. There is also a simplistic left wing political view throughout. Anyone who is a little well off is thinly veiled as am imperialist, capitalist, slaver. Poor people are good. And as far as the Nicaraguan Sandanista "they are the people!" No mention of the pesky problem of their viscous human rights violations.

    11 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2012

    Inspiring

    This was excellently segmented for busy readers that do not have long stretches of time to sit and read an entire chapter. It was an exotic vacation I could actually afford. Highly recommended for travelers, humanitarians, and those of us who feel like we've abandoned our dreams. Written in a simple, yet sensitive, style that brought me into her experiences.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2008

    The best traveling book Ive read

    From the moment I finished the first page I was hooked. The whole time I was reading I felt as if I were there with Rita, it encouraged me to go traveling. A week after I finished the book I packed up what I had, and went on a trip that lasted nearly a month, it was wonderful. When I got to my destination 'In the San Juan Islands' nearly 700 miles away from home I took on a new outlook on traveling and geting to meet people.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Getting Around the Planet on the Cheap

    This book did not begin for me until Ms. Gelman arrived in the Galapagos Islands and achieved "total freedom." From this point forward, I was intrigued with how ingenious she was about getting hosted by various government entities, and families about the globe using her children books as her calling card. Trusting in herself and her instincts and in the kindness of strangers, she takes exotic and exciting treks for a fraction of the cost it would take the average person. Being an amateur anthropologist, she craves to live with families of indigenous tribes and even spends sometime living on an orangutan preserve getting to know the nuances of her fellow primates. I am not given to such intimacies, but I enjoyed receiving her insights. Though a thoughtful, caring traveler, I did want her to interfere when the activities she described that were of an environmentally threatening nature. Her stance is one of objective observer that reports on a circumstance, but does not take action that would lead to change. This is more a memoir than a travel narrative relating more about her personal interactions with family and friends, dinners she ate and less about describing the places she visits. Still, an enjoyable informative read that made me want to move to New Zealand and try every green mussel recipe she talks about in her book.
    Linda Ballou
    Author of Lost Angel Walkabout-One Traveler's Tales

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2013

    Excellent!

    She makes me want to see the world because through her eyes I can see there's more love out there than what I previously believed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2006

    Good adventure, but she thinks so highly of herself

    I enjoyed reading about the adventures. It was an inspirational book, and definitely made me want to pack up and go. I did, however, get tired of her bragging. She acts like she is the only person who has ever taken off on an adventure. Although it's commendable that she did it at her age, she didn't need to go on about how great everyone thinks she is.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2005

    Aw! Why did this book have to end so soon?

    I really, really liked this book! One testimonial says, '...I just inhaled your book. I could not read it enough.' That is how I feel. I wish it had been a lot longer. I wish that she would have gone into even more detail. I wish that there would be a sequel. What has she been doing since the book ended? I am intensly curious!!!!! An intersting facet is that her episodes are not seen through rose colored lenses. She is an ordinary woman. When faced with these extraordinary circumstances, she experiences lonliness, self-doubt, fear, etc...just as we would. In addition, she experiences the guilt of leaving her loved ones behind just as most women would. She mentions that when meeting married couples in the US, she feels negative emotions from the husbands. She realizes, with surprise, that they do not like their wives' fascination with her lifestyle. The husbands do not like their wives asking her questions. They do not like hearing the enthusiasm in their voices as they discuss Rita's experiences. It comes as no surprise that I recommend this book! :-)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2012

    Amazing

    Bet many people would like to be a nomad.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2011

    Interesting reading, well written

    The author, at the age of 48, decided to live in various countries around the world, with the local population as one of them. She no longer has a fixed address and has been living out of a suitcase so to speak for decades. Her adventures are interesting and her writing is good but something did not entirely engage me. I'd give it a B.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2010

    Amazing!!!! Must Read!!!

    this book feeds your soul. its in depth and invigorating! Makes you want to give everything up and travel the world to reconnect with all things lost in te real world. It has been in my top 20 since it was published and thats hard to attain...a serious MUST READ!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 14, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Travel Writing at its best!

    This is the best travel writing book I have ever read. Forget "Eat, Pray Love"! This is better by far! It is what Under the Tuscan Sun could have been if Frances Mayes really got divorced (as happens in the fictionalized movie) and travelled beyond glamourous Tuscany. Rita Golden Gelman really gets out there. She rids herself of worldy possesions, takes risks, goes alone to places most of us would never dream of, and above all enriches her life and finds new purpose later in the game. This book doesn't tell of vacations. It tells of immersing oneself in different cultures so as to grow and learn from them. It tells of letting one's guard down and really living without reservations. As a bookseller, I highly recommend this book to all customers!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2008

    Embracing the Passion for Life

    I loved reading about Rita's travels and adventures in life. Life is too short. You have to run out and enjoy everything about it. Rita teaches us to embrace life to the fullest, as well as humanity. She teaches a common respect and friendship with others when it comes to finding a familiar ground (such as cooking). We can all make friends all over the world, even if we don't speak the same language. I've dusted off my passport and started planning my various trips around the world. This year: Montreal, Ireland, Czech Republic and Switzerland. Next year: Buffalo, NY, Bali and Morocco.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2008

    A Great Adventure

    This book captured my imagination. I found myself leaping from one page to the next just to find out the next place that she would discover. I find it remarkable that this successful women of luxury as she put it so boldy enters into the world of the unknown with such gusto and enthusiasm. I not only found myself personally woven into her experiences with the people, the Orangutan's, the land, the food, the culture but also her family. If you live the Nomad lifestyle or are in search of it you will find this book very inspiring.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2007

    dreamer

    I lived vicariously through her, amazing read, takes you miles away

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2005

    not plausible

    The premise was good but the experiences often not believable. As a recent traveler to Oaxaca I doubt that she was hitchhiking on that road nor invited to live in a Zapotec home without a complete command of their language--she has a good imagination

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2005

    Perfect for anyone who loves cultures or loves to travel

    This book is any easy read that will restore your belief in serendipity and general goodness of people throughout the world. I too love to live in other places and live not like a tourist. This book chronicles one amazing woman's various choices of living places. If you long to travel, long to see the world and embrace other worlds, this is a great book to get you completely excited for the trips. I can barely sit still now!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2005

    Inspirational, empowering, and fun!

    As an American woman who 'rushed through' backpacking trips in the past, this was a thoroughly enjoyable read. It's so great to know that just because we hit speed bumps in the road, that the journey doesn't have to end. You can keep up with Rita's ongoing journey on her web site too. After reading this book, I feel compelled to thank you her for sharing her life, and to spread the word around. Enjoy!! :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2005

    Gutsy

    It takes courage to make such a journey alone. I'd like to think I could do such a thing, knowing full well I couldn't. But oh, what an inspiration to read of someone who did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2004

    Fascinating

    Have read other travel books, but this is the first by a woman who has discarded possessions and is without a permanent home. Truly unusual and spectacular. She word paints exotic, memorable experiences. Highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2003

    Fantastic and courageous

    This book is engaging from the very first page, the author is very "real" about her emotions and observations in a very down to earth manner. I found it very easy to relate to her experiences, regardless of location because they are "human" experiences. I appreciate her humor in circumstances such as finding acceptance in a small village and her sense of humor is apparent. It's a fantastic book for women looking for a boost of encouragement to explore the unknown corners of the world.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 41 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3