BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Tales of a Librarian: A Tori Amos Collection

Average Rating 5
( 79 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(67)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 67 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I love Tori Amos!

    I have been a huge fan of Tori Amos for eleven years now. What can I say about the ablum I love her songs, she will always continue to inspire me and the Dvd is great with it, I always her performances.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    TORI ROX, BUY THE CD

    This cd is sooo good and it really shows how good of an artist she really is, her lyrics and voice are amazing, and this album is great because it shows all of her best work, i recently just got this cd for christmas and thats the first i'd ever heard of Tori, now, 1 month later i have 5 more of her cds, she is really awesome.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A portrait of a musician's life

    This album embodies the essence of Amos's journey through life told through her songs. She is what most other "recording artists" strive to be, musicians. In an era of "Recording Artists" it is refreshing to see their are still some legitimate artists such as Tori still in the industry. Her work exposes you to the person she is and has become. To truly experience Tori, you must see her live. She can occupy a theater that seats 5,000 people with just her and her piano. She has a relationship with her instrument that cannot be described with words. When she sits down and plays she becomes consumed by the music she creates with her instrument. Music has been like a warm blanket that has kept her warm at her coldest moments and allows her to share her lifes joys and sorrows with her audience. I have been very privileged to experience this first hand in San Diego, where she did 2 shows in one night, back to back. Her voice and music takes you on a rollercoaster ride of emotions but it is a ride that you will never forget. I have long been a fan for over 10 years and will continue to be. Her music is true to the person she is, never comprimising her artistry for profitability. She has succumbed to her art. As she has said "You do not choose music, it chooses you". I myself am a musician, a classically trained vocalist. It is refreshing to see that some contemporary artists can still write such complex music, being true to theory while adding ther own personal nuances. The CD is a brilliant presentation of a world-class artist.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Simply Amazing

    Opening with the song "Precious things". This retrospective of the career of tori amos is a must have for any fan, new or old. Tori handpicked 20 songs from extensive catalog, plus two newly recorded b-sides. Personally, I think the tracks were very well chosen and truly showcase her musical talent to the fullest. In addition, Tori has given us a glimpse into her pre-show soundchecks and career spanning photo albums. Overall I would rate this as one of her best albums to date. If you haven't experienced Tori yet, This is definately the album to check out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    This Cd is great!!! Buy it!!!

    This Cd is great for everyone, from longtime Tori fans to people who have never heard of her. It has so many great songs and you can listen to the whole cd all the way through without skipping bad songs. The bonus dvd is an excellent way to see Tori and how deep and real of a person she is.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Red heads rock

    This CD is quite amazing. Don't have to be a hardcore fan to realize it. Excellent songs.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Love it.

    The Cd and accompanying dvd are awesome me and my 5 yr old daughter have been listening to it all week.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Tales of a Librarian

    Great CD for Tori lovers enjoyed the bonus DVD. Would make a great gift for the holidays.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Classic, Classic, Classic

    This album will quite possibly be the bridge between those who only like Tori Amos, and those who truly LOVE her. All of the 19 Classic Tori Tracks have been remixed and reconditioned, with a refreshed and renewed sound quality and depth. There are even a few new songs, organized among the classics in a surprsingly smart and fun way--Hence the title, "Tales of a Librarian." Included is a DVD with a live performance sound check and photo galleries. This is an excellent Album, a wonderful way to achieve an anthological review of an artist with true Originality!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Wonderful Purchase

    This is a great cd. It has a lot of Tori's greatest hits. A definite must for any Tori fan.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Great Collection

    This CD is a great collection and a must-have for new and old Tori fans!! The 4 new redos of b-sides on the CD are GREAT!! I also thought the remix of Professional Wido was very cool it made me shake my booty! The DVD footage of Tori's soundcheck makes you feel like you are at your very own private Tori Concert!! I loved it all!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Beautiful collection of Music .. Tori is amazing

    Two words.. Musical Genius !

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    awesome

    Even if it's a 'best of' collection, it definitely is worth getting. Each track has something different from the original.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Tori Rocks!!

    Gotta have this one it's perfect!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Great Collection!

    I must admit, I love anything Tori, but this cd went above and beyond my expectations. A ton of her greatest songs are here, plus a couple b-sides and new ones. If you're looking to have all your favorite Tori songs on one cd, this is it. The bonus dvd is also awesome. I must say this is a must-have for any Tori fans!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Essential Tori

    If you are a Tori fan you should have this! Snow Cherries From France alone makes it worthwhile. The remixing and remastering allows you to clearly hear differences in the songs, more strings and background vocals. The DVD is nice as well, but the CD makes this a must-have!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    'tucked inside the heart of every nice girl'

    so i love tori. my favorite artist so of course i love this new cd! her music puts me at ease. whenever i'm upset i put her in and she relaxes me. tori is one of the hardest working women artists i'm lucky to say that i know. she deserves all she gets.. go buy this cd

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Excellent collection

    An excellent collection from an excellent artist. Tori is great to listen to and this is a must "hear"!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    "Play it again Sam"

    Every sucessful artist at one time or another releases a 'best of." In Tori's new 11-18 CD/DVD release: Tales of a Librarian ms Amos gives a different perspective into her enigmatic works of composure and a deep sense of self as Tori seems to continue the process of familiarization with what I deem timeless composures of piano and voice, comperable indeed to works of great masters such as Mussorgsky's and his work "Pictures at an exibition," revealing a mood of change with the subtle and then resounding measures of ones,truly of our, inner depths, as reflected over ones life procession of events.Clearly Tori follows an infinite sucession of emotions as she graces the ivory keys and trancends her voice as the change of seasons call.. 'Winter' is one such journey, as she delights us with her search through her card catalouge; as if to be The Librarian assisting us with our search of lifes meanings and the ghosts generated as time passes..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Tori Does it Again, A "Bliss of Another Kind"!

    A Musically Aesthetic pleasing array of sounds performed by the legendary Goddess herself. The songs in this wonderful collection are examples at Tori at her finest! A perfect choice for any long time fan, curious listener, or even for the newest Tori lovers. Amos’s solid sounds, smooth delivery, and diverse style will please even the worst critics. Alongside the CD that includes twenty of her greatest hits comes a DVD including a lyrics list, photo gallery, and video of her final soundest of her summer tour. The stunning artwork and photography on and in the package are sure to satisfy and impress all! Once again Tori has outdone herself, with her first ever Compilation CD, a review of over a decade in Tori Amos music and history.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 67 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4