Customer Reviews for

Tales of the Greek Heroes

Average Rating 3.5
( 20 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted February 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A book that is thrilling and yet very educational.

    It's a great book, though it doesn't include some of the older more important stories. I like how the author explained the gods and goddesses. I could really imagine the people and plants in most of the stories.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2009

    great tie in

    i bought this for my son who fell in love with the percy jackson series by rick riordan. after reading all the books he wanted more information about all the mythology. this book has been a great was to further the intrest the lightning thief sparked.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    way good!

    Tales of the Greek Heroes is a good book overall, but can be confusing at some times with the author giving information about something that will happen in another chapter that's like 50 pages away. It may also be confusing with the mass of characters within 1 chapter.Also at the end of the book you find out that you have to buy The Tale of Troy, a continuation of this book. If you love myth's you will love Tales of the Greek Heroes because there is so much action on every page.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    The Original Superhero Tales are Still the Best!

    This is a great introduction (or simple reintroduction) to the myths and legends that we all have seen time and again on film or TV. The ancient Greeks were the original creators of the superhero genre, and the enduring tales they passed to us still serve to thrill, educate, and entertain. This collection is straightforward in its presentation and very fast paced. It is also much more readable then many other books of mythology you will find. Besides just being fun to read, the book can serve as a handy reference guide to the Greek Myths. Highly recommended. Buy this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2009

    Boring

    I hated this book it was boring

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I didn't like this book much.

    This was an okay book but not as good as other greek mythology books I have read. This book is about the heroes in ancient greek mythology and the great deeds they accomplished. Included in this book are heroes like Jason and the Argonauts, Hercules, and Perseus. This book covers everything from Hercules ten labors to the defeat of Polyphemus. I enjoyed this book because of the good character structure and all the action. I disliked this book because it was not very informative or discriptive. In this book the author is somewhat mysterious and hard to understand in some parts. For example, when Jason was gathering his Argonauts, when it introduced one of them it said he was at the great boar hunt before the great boar hunt ever took place. In this case you did not know who the man was or what the great boar hunt was. Also, in the parts with little action it bored me easily. A book that I know as similar to this one are the books in the Percy Jackson and the Olympians series. This series is about a thirteen year old boy who finds out that his best friend is a centaur and he is the son of Poseidon. These are reasons I did not like this book.

    P.S. The Percy Jackson and the Olympians series is good.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2008

    A Great Start

    This book wonderfully describes the Gods, Greek Heroes, and their interractions. It does not go into the detail it could, but it is a great resource for someone starting out at reading Greek Mythology.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1