Customer Reviews for

The Talisman

Average Rating 4.5
( 400 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(256)

4 Star

(84)

3 Star

(34)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(14)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

One of my favorite books ever

I read this book a few years ago and I couldn't put it down. I swear I read for two days straight. I was never a big Stephen King fan, because I find his work to be a little creepy for me, then my friend lent me this book and was amazed when I handed it back to him th...
I read this book a few years ago and I couldn't put it down. I swear I read for two days straight. I was never a big Stephen King fan, because I find his work to be a little creepy for me, then my friend lent me this book and was amazed when I handed it back to him three days later and said it was the best book I had ever read!

posted by Themetra on December 4, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

You

Get the free sample and this guy is weird.

posted by Anonymous on December 27, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 401 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 21
  • Posted February 11, 2012

    I loved it!

    I am a huge Stephen King fan and this is an oldy but a goody to me! Just reread this on my Nook and was really happy to revisit this story!

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 4, 2009

    One of my favorite books ever

    I read this book a few years ago and I couldn't put it down. I swear I read for two days straight. I was never a big Stephen King fan, because I find his work to be a little creepy for me, then my friend lent me this book and was amazed when I handed it back to him three days later and said it was the best book I had ever read!

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2012

    The Talisman is a top favorite of all the books I've read and no

    The Talisman is a top favorite of all the books I've read and not just my favorite Stephen King book. If you like to be transported by fiction - this is the book for you! I have read this book three times over several years and I just bought it for my Nook so I can read it again and keep it pristine. It has everything; good versus evil, wide-eyed wonder and wide-eyed terror and the characters are amazing and truely unforgetable. I am envious of the people who have just started reading it. You will be amazed!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 17, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Unimaginably Satisfying

    That is what I felt upon concluding this book. I ended up picking this up looking for a werewolf book. It has werewolves but it's not a werewolf story. It is a pure, unadulterated, unashamed fantasy novel. It is the best because it's not about what happens but absolutely about the journey that gets us there. You have so many emotions that you experience throughout this book that there's a part of you that doesn't want it to end. The last 150 pages I could barely put it down. It gives you every feeling you should experience while reading a truly great novel. I can't wait for my children to be old enough to read it and understand it. If you are a fan or the genre or want to try out just one fantasy novel, this is it. Loved it!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 24, 2008

    Excellent!

    Hands down this is my favorite in my Stephen King collection! I am on my second copy and about to order a new one since the cover and pages are coming loose from being read so many times!! It is especially good if you can follow it up with Black House. Get it, read it, love it!!!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2012

    Wonderful!

    It starts out slow but if you can make it through the 1st 2 chps you wont be sorry! I wish they would make a movie. Wonderful story about death, friendship, faith and growing up with a King twist.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2012

    The Reason I Became A King Fan

    Unimaginable imagination and wonder... perfect ending!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    My favorite King book !

    I've read most if Stephen King's books, but this is the only one i've read several times.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 18, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    My favorite Stephen King book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2010

    One of my all time favorites...

    I have read a lot of books and this is one that I come back to repeatedly over the years. It is truly one of my all time favorite stories... I revisit it in my mind because it is so great...

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2006

    Unbelievalbe!

    I loved this book from beginning to end. It was a pretty quick read also. I had to re-read the climax because I read it so fast the first time I was basically skipping whole sentences. I was just too excited to slow myself down. I just started reading Black House today, and I must say that I hope Richard makes an appearance. His character was pretty annoying at first, and I wanted to slap him myself, but by the end I really like him.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This is my favorite book of all time. It is a coming of age, dra

    This is my favorite book of all time. It is a coming of age, drama filled, suspense laden trip through the United States with the hero Jack at the realm. I have re read this book once a year since it has been released and discover new things all of the time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    You

    Get the free sample and this guy is weird.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2012

    One of my all-time favorite books!

    King and Straub hit a homerun with this book. It is one of my favorites and I have read it many times. I love the grittiness and ugliness of what happens to Jack as he travels back and forth between this world and The Territories, and I love the character, Wolf.
    The beginning of the book is a little slow but it contains crucial information to how the story unfolds. Stick it out, it is definitely worth reading.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2012

    NMV

    This is by far the best of Kings work. A must have this will be my third time reading. An enjoyable journey into another dimension. Hope i didnot give anything away. Enjoyable i must say.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2012

    Loved it.

    Amazing story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2012

    Couldnt put it down

    This was an awesome book from start to finish. Its really long but you get so lost in it you barely notice. I learned my new favorite word from this book: Axiomatic. Although some words and sayings can become repetitive it all adds to the character of the tale.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2014

    Highly recommend!!

    I have read this book many times and remains one of my favorite, The story keeps you from not wanting to put the book down, I had to have it for my nook so this must be my 4th or 5th re read of this book that's how much I love it!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2014

    Loved this book!

    I truly loved this book and Black House. Great story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2014

    Not my favorite

    I've read a lot of stephen king books. This one, though, I just could not get into. Its kind of hard to follow. It talks a lot about random stuff that probably has meaning later in the book but it makes the book drag on.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 401 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 21