Customer Reviews for

The Talisman Ring

Average Rating 4.5
( 40 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(26)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 41 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted May 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Great Romance/Mystery Hybrid

    This is one of the few Heyer novels I managed to skip over when I bought the rest of her works. Don't ask me why I skipped it, I don't know. I do things that surprise me at times.

    I really loved this novel. It had it all...comedy, mystery and romance. It was as perfect as perfect can get without becoming obnoxious. The characters were awesome. I especially loved Sir Tristram Shield and Miss Sarah Thane. I had such a crush on Tristram. Tristram was so much smarter than everyone else. He was always at least ten steps ahead of all the other characters. If I was Eustacie, I would have married him in a split second. I also really liked Sarah. She was so smart. She had her head firmly on her shoulders. I really love strong, intelligent female characters. The dialogue was sharp and witty. Without giving anything away, the proposal scene at the end was hilarious. This was a great hybrid... regency romance mixed with mystery mixed with comedy. I found that those three elements really worked together well.

    I did find, however, that the story got a bit weak at times. Not often but enough that I noticed it and only for a chapter or two. I found that this generally happened when Ludovic and Eustacie were the main focus. I couldn't stand Eustacie. She was so flighty and insipid. Definitely not my sort of character. I didn't like Ludovic either but I didn't want to bash my head into a wall when he was around. This couple did not have the charm or grace that Tristram and Sarah had.

    The Talisman Ring would be a great for a Heyer fan that has already exhausted the other Heyer Regency romances and is looking for something a bit different. This might not be the best intro to Heyer but for a veteran, it's a great read.

    Sourcebooks also does a great job of re-issuing these Heyer books. The cover design is really pretty and reflects the novel perfectly.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    One of my favorites!

    This is one of my favorite books, not just by Georgette Heyer, but altogether. I love the sense of fun that romps through the book, the characters that jump off the page, the clever plot. This is not just another romance; there's intrigue and mystery. But it's the characters that make this a must-read; no confusing Estacia and Sarah for the mindless damsels found in many other books. This book doesn't miss a step. I've read it again and again and highly recommend it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2000

    A must for regency lovers

    I had to buy this reissue when I heard how much praise has been given to Heyer - now I know why. This book is her best, the witty dialogue and wonderful characters really jump out and have the most wonderful chemistry going on. I've read nearly all of her books now and this one is my favorite for it's well spun romance and the added mystery that her others didn't have. Well worth the investment!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Classic Heyer--don't miss!

    I've recently discovered Georgette Heyer--I have no idea why I didn't find her earlier, when I absolutely devoured anything remotely Austen-like, but I'm glad I found her now! The Talisman Ring is a thoroughly delightful story in her classic style. It has mystery, romance, and absolutely wonderful characterization. I don't know how she did it, but all of Heyer's books that I have read have totally unique characters in them; not a single cookie cutter in the bunch. Sir Tristram Shield and Miss Sarah Thane have become two of my all-time favorite fictional characters. Their chemistry and clever repartee is brilliant! I especially loved how Sarah deals with the often overly dramatic and always French younger heroine, Eustacie. Although the novel initially starts off slow, once the plot gets going you won't want to put it down. I'll definitely be adding this to my "must reread again, and often" list.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2014

    Highly entertaining.

    I have always enjoyed Georgette Heyer romance novels. Her books are always fun to read. They are always full of dashing heroes, wicked villains and smart, resourceful women and the humor is clever. Her books always cheer me up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2013

    Nate

    Laughes

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2013

    Allana

    Ish kissed! Yay!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2013

    Evie

    I gtgtb Love ya sis peace nate

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2013

    Priest

    "Celebration time!" The priest disappears, and a slow song comes on, signifying the first dance for the newlyweds. Everyodne buzzes with excitement.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2013

    Heyer Does it again

    I am an avid fan of Georgette Heyer. This book delivers everything you expect in her work. Great reading

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2013

    Witty fun!

    One of my favorite heyers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 4, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    I have this author in my personal library.

    One of my favorite authors, I've been reading and re-reading her Regency romances since high school 35 years ago. My older sister read this book first and said "you have to read this!" I've been hooked since then.

    I admit I'm old fashioned. I enjoy reading a ROMANCE novel, not a few pages of instructions on sexual technique. Romance is about love, not lust, and respect. And I REALLY don't care about anyone else's sex life!)

    The characters are enjoyable, the plot is classic. One heroine is fiesty and dramatic, the other practicle with a sense of humour. The wronged hero, and his exasperated cousin - and which character is really the bad guy? The difference in reading a book in my teens, and now in my 50's is with which character do I sympathize more!

    A different time, place and culture lets me suspend judgement on their behaviour. (When reading the "modern" romances in my teens, I realize quite a few were actually in mentally abusive relationships (he starts out hating her and behaving badly and ends up "loving" her - yeah, right..., and now they're more about the sex than the relationship.)

    This is a book to enjoy, not dissect. Enough suspense for a good time, but not too much, so you can put it down and get some sleep. I read it again and again, when I feel like smiling, and want the sense of satisfaction of a happy ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Yeah! Georgette Heyer's Books are available again, and "The Talisman Ring" is one of my top handful of favorites. The writing is clever, the vocabulary is vast and the characters tread that delicious edge between realistic and outrageous.

    It is too bad that the categories to rate the book do not include "humorous" because that is the characteristic of the book that I love most. This is romantic comedy set in Sussex, England at the time of the revolution in France. The two romantic pairs are different in age and temperament, which leads to a great deal of amusing dialogue.

    Our younger heroine, Eustacie de Vauban, longs for adventures, and finds one when she runs away from the engagement arranged by her recently deceased grandfather to Sir Tristram Shield, whom she deems to be without romance or sensibility. Captured by a set of smugglers, she learns that their leader is her cousin Ludovic Lavenham, who has been in hiding after being accused of murdering a man some years before. When he is wounded, they go to hide in the inn where the brandy was to be delivered.

    There we meet my favorite fictional heroine, Sarah Thane, who appears to enter into all of Eustacie's feelings, and in fact becomes her chaperone during the adventure. She is able to sense the humor underneath Sir Tristram's sober manner, and pulls him in with delightful teasing remarks and her intellegent approach to life. Lots of fun side characters and events as they search for the real murderer and Ludovic's missing talisman ring.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2009

    Fun and engaging

    A witty period piece, ideal for a rainy afternoon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 41 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3