BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Talismans of Shannara (Heritage of Shannara Series #4)

Average Rating 4.5
( 61 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(37)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 63 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2011

    Lots of typos

    Enjoyed the story, but the typos were excessive. Half the time Coll's name was spelled Coil, which became increasingly annoying as the story progressed. This is a book from a well known author. I'm disapointed so little attention was given to proof-reading it.

    Jaed

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2010

    Light reading

    Having read a few fantasy books in my day, I found this one very similar to most of the others. It was good enough for me not to get bored with it but not good enough for me to rave in a review about it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The Talismans of Shannara, the Heritage of Shannara series, Book 4

    Coming soon.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2008

    Words cannot describe this!

    This book was a great conclusion to the Heritage of Shannara series. It had me laughing, crying, excited, and devestated! Everything you could feel came out when I read this novel! I will not give away what happens, but I love what happens with Par and Coll! Also, I am so happy that Matty and Morgan met! They are a great couple! This was a really good book, and if you are reading the series, I suggest this one! Also, if you are new to it, I suggest the first books of the series and to continue on! I cannot choose which Terry Brooks' book I love best! They are all fantastic!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2006

    I wish there was a 10-star rating !!! ^-^ ^-^ ^-^

    I absolutely love these books!!! I can't get enough of them!! Every time I finish the Shannara books that I have, I speed through my other books just so that I can re-read the Shannara novels. If you are a Shannara fan, or just a fan of fantasy books, then I would highly recommend this book, and all the other books in this series. (In order: The Scions of Shannara, The Druid of Shannara, The Elf Queen of Shannara, and this book The Talismans of Shannara)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2004

    Terry Brooks has not let me down yet!

    This book is the last installment of the Heritage of Shannara series. If you have read the previous books, this is a MUST. After all the losses that the characters endure, one is never sure what is going to happen next...But readers won't be disappointed! This book is what ties it all together, and I can't wait to start the next series by Terry Brooks!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2004

    Simply awesome!

    Great read, great book, perfect finale to the series. Has dozens of twists and endings. This is off topic, but for those other 'genius' reviewers who spoiled this books surprises by revealing important plot twists, WHY?!! This book's twists were blown for me even before I read it. Thanks a lot. Oh back to the back. Ending is perfect in my opinion, and overall grade is 95/100

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2003

    dang

    this book was simply amazing. i practically gasped at the surprises around every page, and the ending, it may be one of those classic happy endings, but i started to wonder what will happen after. but anyways, back to the story: the part when it turns out that it is Coll who is supposed to use the sword of shannara simply shocked me. but still, coll has top do something, right? well, even though he had no trace of elf on him, he was able to use it. i mean how? Terry Brooks simply uses the element of surprise effectively and kept me hooked. now thats an amazing book, eh?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2003

    The Best from Brooks

    This is the best book Terry Brooks has ever written, including his newest release Jarka Ruus:High Druid of Shannara. The antagonist, Rimmer Dall, is one of the most wickedly evil and uniquely complex people I have ever read about. And the awesome powers that each talisman held were creative and completely intriguing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2003

    review for the talismans

    A really great read; great way to end it all up, and still keeps you on the edge of your seat with mind boggleing twists and turns

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2002

    WONDERFUL , SPECTACULAR !!!!!! Id give it 10 stars. Terry Brooks is the BEST.

    Terry Brooks is one of the BEST authors I have ever read. He is like Tolkien but more intense. He always does the unexpected. His stories have everything. War, death, romance, etc... In this book you finally know what happens with the Ohmsfords. Walker Boh- the last druid, Wren- Elf Queen, Par and Coll- ??? His books always keep you wanting more..... I WANT MORE. I read all his books in 3 months. Thats how good he is. Lets see thats like 10 books. Read ALL his books. They are THE BEST.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2002

    excellent

    I read this book before the preceding three and thought it was just amazing. The action starts from the first chapter and keeps you enthralled until the end page. I am now going to read the previous books to see how they all arrived at this end. The whole Shannara series are excellent.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2000

    A griping sequel to the shannara series

    This book was one of the best in the series I have read alot of books but this one was great not just the book but the whole series was outstanding.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2000

    Excellent!

    This book was one of the best that I have read by Terry Brooks.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 1999

    Shannara RULES

    There haven't been many series I have read which gripped me the way the Shannara series did.I have read the entire series twice.Thank you Terry Brooks.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 63 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4